We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napoleon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Napoleon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napoleon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II - 105, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Full of Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a wonderful Hotel, very friendly, comfortable, and although the family is joining me the first two nights I am spending alone, this is absolutely no problem help getting a taxi, help with dinner, help with my non cooperative cell phone, nothing is too much trouble. reservation, the breakfast was good with a big choice, the bar is friendly and reasonably priced and my room is very comfortable with excellent WiFi I would stay here again in a nano second, I read somewhere on TA that someone found the area unsafe, well I walked alone tonight 3 blocks for dinner, upon returning I walked into the park and watched a free concert, earlier I had used the red line tube to return from my day out, I did not feel threatened at all at any point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    996
    606
    158
    37
    18
See reviews for
439
778
99
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel arranged for someone to pick up us up at the airport, once at the hotel the manager gave us a map highlighting the hop on hop off routes and all the points of interest. The rooms were clean, quiet, and a good size. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again - lots of places to eat around the hotel and a great Chinese Restaurant just a couple of doors down from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel overall was nice, quiet, very clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was surprised by the size of the room as it was quite large by European standards, although it was a triple. It is very convenient to transportation although not convenient to many of the sites. There is a Metro station literally in front of the Hotel that is very easy to catch for the Vatican. Termini Station is a few blocks and there are trains and buses available there. The buses were the easiest to get to the sites we wanted to see, but they were extremely crowded. We would have preferred to walk and sometimes did, but the distances can be deceiving. My only complaint with the hotel is that the air conditioning is weak and at times the room was uncomfortable. Our trip was in October and weather was very pleasant. I would imagine it would be unbearable in the summer months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoleonRoma, Direttore generale at Napoleon Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Napoleon. Regarding the air conditioning, I have to give you and to our readers a simple explication. As you say, temperature during your stay was pleasant. In fact, checking the weather website, you can see that the average temperature of the day was 20° C ( 68°F). Considering that at the night time temperature was lower, our air-conditioning could not work, or work at the minimum power, because it is set to work only if the temperature is higher than 18°C.
On the other hand, if you read some reviews of the last August, when Rome was really hot, many of them mention the good quality of the air-conditioning, as one of the best aspects of our facilities.
I hope you would give us the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future, and if you wish to plan an holiday on summer, you can be confident that you will enjoy a nice temperature in your room even in the hottest nights.
With my kindest regards
Roberto Cioce
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been to this hotel twice on our visits to Rome (a young couple and a mature couple). It is worth paying a little bit more and get a perfect stay.

Service is fantastic, from front staff to cafe and cleaning staff.

Fantastic power shower, central heating, cleanliness, sleep quality, breakfast.

Undergound station is 30 seconds away, Santa Maria Maggiore 5 minutes walk. It is a popular area of Rome, not so touristy, you can feel the real people and dine along with locals.

We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful lobby but the beds and pillows were hard. Thankfully, we only stayed one night in this room. It is in a great location next to metro stop. It was centrally located and nice but the lobby is way nicer than the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoleonRoma, Direttore generale at Napoleon Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
First I wish to thank you for your appreciation. Regarding the mattress and pillows, as I explained in some previous responses, we offer to our Guests, further than a choice of additional pillows, also the possibility of modifying the softness of the mattress. Few minutes for the pillows, something more for the mattress and we are able, and happy, to satisfy our Guests’ requirements . We want to offer the best quality of sleep to our Guests, but we understand that it is a matter of preferences, therefore we have organized this service as we want that 100 % of our Guests can enjoy a really good sleep in our rooms. We inform our Guests about this service also on the welcome card that we deliver on the check-in. Of course, for particular requirements, an advanced communication is greatly appreciated. I wish to take this opportunity to remind to all our readers that the hotel Napoleon is not only a family run hotel, but that we share the real pleasure of the hospitality with all our attentive staff, and everyone is happy to do his best efforts to welcome our Guests’ request, for your sleep as well as for all the other services. Thank you again, looking forward to welcome you again in the near future,
kind regards
Roberto Cioce
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Cozy, very well run and friendly hotel .... walking distance to the Colosseum and other sites.
The staff was exteremely helpful and willing to go the extra mile. The resturant and bar were very nice with good selection of wine, liquor and food. The accomodations were small by US standards but very comfortable - didn't stay in room more than to sleep. We would go back and stay there anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely family run hotel on a main road, which can be very handy as you can get easily lost in the small roads. Is very hard to find street signs in Rome too.

Beautiful hotel, breakfast was included and was sufficient. Coffee was great. Rooms were clean, reasonable sized and hotel does have an elevator. Service was good.

Metro station just outside the door. There are eating places nearby for dinner. Close to the colosseum so you can walk there but you would probably have to catch a cab or public transport to get to other sites. If you want, you can walk to the other places like the Vatican (as I had done but I got lost had to take a detour a few times - got back eventually )

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napoleon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon Hotel

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II - 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#92 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napoleon Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Napoleon is a family run 4 star hotel in Rome centre.Charming and very quiet, the hotel is ideal for both family holidays and business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Napoleon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napoleon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.