We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming, affordable base for visiting Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napoleon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Napoleon Hotel to your Saves list
Napoleon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II - 105, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rothesay, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A welcoming, affordable base for visiting Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Upon arrival after an overseas flight we were met by a driver from the hotel. Hiring a van to get to and from the airport was more affordable than our family of five taking the train and much easier when exhausted! We were welcomed to the hotel by the very friendly front desk staff and able to move our bags into one of our two rooms. My biggest disappointment was not having the adjoining rooms we had been promised. The triple room for the kids was ample in space but the double was rather small, with a particularly small shower, an old fashioned hair dryer and very firm beds. We were able to sit comfortably in the large lounge area of the hotel, which also included a computer with free WiFi. Breakfast was provided and was excellent, offering lots of variety. The staff was very helpful providing us with local restaurant recommendations,as well as directions to an incredible gelato place. While the hotel was not quite in the centre of things, we easily walked everywhere, including the Vatican. There is a subway station very close to the hotel if needed.
I would definitely recommend this hotel - there is so much to see and do in Rome that you spend very little time in your hotel room. We felt safe, welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    658
    168
    37
    20
See reviews for
508
880
112
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corsham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We could hardly fault this hotel. We stayed for 4 nights a mixture of business and pleasure and were very glad we chose it with the help ot Trip Advisor.
The wine evening on Friday is a generous touch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

ok hotel -- cute room -- bed absolutely awful -- 4 star?? don't understand the rating system -- better deals are out there...convenient to train station..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoleonRoma, Manager at Napoleon Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
In your short review I understand that you appreciated many aspects of the hotel Napoleon, but not the bed. I wonder if you asked our staff for a better solution. We do not have any track of complaint about beds in the last months, therefore I must suppose you did not. It is really a pity. In very short time we could change your mattress, and pillows, adding another one to make it softer, or, in case, change your room. As expert traveler, I think you should consider that, if so many Guests define the hotel Napoleon as “Excellent” and “Very good” beds cannot be so uncomfortable as you have found yours! However I would be delighted to welcome you again at the hotel Napoleon, and I am more than confident that we could offer you the most comfortable bed . Kind regards
Roberto Cioce
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Recently stayed at the Hotel Napoleon. Hotel lived up to its rating. hotel location was ok, with colosseum being close by. Not that much around hotel in terms of restaurants and bars but the metro is right outside so it didn't really matter. overall was very pleased with hotel staff and hotel itself. breakfast was very good. Would definitely recommend staying and its location is perfect with a metro stop literally outside. definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed 3 nights and loved the hotel. It's a 5min walk from Termini Station or 1 min by Metro. A metro station is right outside the hotel so perfect for getting around. The staff were incredibly helpful and nice. On our 2nd day a rail strike changed our plans but the conceirge was only glad to help with planning our routes. The rooms and bathrooms were clean tidy and spacious enough for a short stay. Linen and towels changed daily and usually done when we were at breakfast. The breakfast itself is excellent with a fine selection of foods.
The only downside from us was that it is a no cash hotel and any bar food or drinks are put on the bill. That's only a minor thing.
Over all, we would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We are juste coming back from a week at Napoleon.

The hotel is well located 10minutes walk from the colosseum. The metro station is front of the hotel. Metro tickets are cheap. 1 euro for 75minutes 4euros for a day or 16 euros for a week.

The hotel is verry clean, people are so nice. they will do every thing they can to please you. You can reserve trip to naples and pompei with them. We did this and pompei is a place to see! You have wifi in the room and a computer you can use near the bar.

The breakfest is really good and you have lots of things to eat. try the capuccino they are really good!

The only negative thing we have to talk about is the wall are thin. So if you have noisy people beside your room it can be a problem. we call the reception and they did what they could to help us. So if you want good sleep bring earplugs. I have to say that we were at the first floor, above the kitchen. Maybe if you are on higher floor it wont be a problem.
Overall we had a pretty good stay!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last May. The location is very good, There is a metro station right
outside. Breakfast was also very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We had 2 rooms. One was very good but the other was small and right next to the elevator.
It was very noisy.
Overall it was a great experience in Rome, but try to avoid rooms next to the elevator.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Napoleon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon Hotel

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II - 105, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#47 Family Hotel in Rome
#79 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#155 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napoleon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Napoleon is a family run 4 star hotel in Rome centre.Charming and very quiet, the hotel is ideal for both family holidays and business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Napoleon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napoleon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.