We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior, Rome to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We came on a conference and were upgraded to a room with a balcony after the first room faced a building and I was not so happy. Really appreciated them doing this. The hotel is lovely, the breakfast was great. Location is close to Spanish steps and Borghese gardens which both were wonderful places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback!

We are so happy that you loved the accommodation. Your comfort and satisfaction is very important for us and your appreciation is very rewarding for all the staff here at The Westin Excelsior Rome!

Hope to welcome you again on you next trip to Rome.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    387
    242
    97
    41
See reviews for
326
522
40
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati,OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been to Rome on several occasions with my job but this is the first time staying here for this family vacation. We loved this hotel. It is in a great location- within walking distance to The Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, and the Capuchin Crypt. Short walk to the metro. The rooms are furnished beautifully. Would have been perfect if it had a coffee/tea pot and a bedside clock. Even without those two things we were very happy with our room. Great restaurants all around the hotel and excellent recommendations from the concierge(one was very nice others ok). Front desk staff wonderful and very helpful. Beautiful property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our hotel and his location. We greatly appreciated every single comment we receive from our valuable guest and please, rest assured that your concerns have been addressed to the involved staff.

Concerning the coffee/tea making facilities, allow us to inform you that, being our property an historical building, the actual electrical wiring would not able to safely sustain also this kind of devices in all our rooms. A renovation plan however, is already in place and the electrical wiring will be updated accordingly.

We kindly invite you to check our website from where you can select a very competitive offers & promotions all over the year. Please feel free to contact the executive office should you wish to reconsider staying with us, we will be more than pleased to personalize your requests and handle your reservation directly.

We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit.
With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very spacious room and bathrooms which makes it live up to a five star standard. Excellent location too, in a classy area, away from touristy areas but yet within walking distance to major attractions. Good variety of breakfast options which caters to international travelers and families. However, with a five star price tag, the hotel could do better with small touches such as coffee/tea making facilities in the room and/or a good supply of mineral water in the room. Concierge is okay and does the job but lacks warmth. At this price range, we would consider other alternatives in our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our hotel and his location. We greatly appreciated every single comment we receive from our valuable guest and please, rest assured that your concerns have been addressed to the involved staff.

Concerning the coffee/tea making facilities, allow us to inform you that, being our property an historical building, the actual electrical wiring would not able to safely sustain also this kind of devices in all our rooms. A renovation plan however, is already in place and the electrical wiring will be updated accordingly.

We kindly invite you to check our website from where you can select a very competitive offers & promotions all over the year. Please feel free to contact the executive office should you wish to reconsider staying with us, we will be more than pleased to personalize your requests and handle your reservation directly.

We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit.
With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Rome and did not know what location would be best for our stay. This turned out to be a great location. Close to the metro, great shopping and numerous restaurants, this hotel is situated perfectly and right next to the US Embassy...a bonus. The service was fantastic. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Excelsior Rome!

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staff was very helpful, accommodating and friendly. We really enjoyed this hotel - and Rome is fantastic for a city to go explore. Very good time here. Location in Via Vittoria Veneto is awesome, clean, upscale, and just a few blocks out of the busiest parts of Rome. Hotel is within walking distance of the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain. We ate at the Cafe Veneto right across the street almost every night - go there and ask for Felice. Tell him the folks from Denver recommended you eat there. ;-) Visit the Borghese park to the North - easy walk and nice area to get away from the crowds for a stroll. The museum there is the best as well...easy walking distance back to the hotel. If ever back in Rome (and we will be because we tossed the coins in the Trevi fountain), we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review!

We are so happy to learn that you have appreciated the strategic location of our hotel and that your stay with us was pleasant end enjoyable.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of your return visit very soon and on this occasion we will be honored to invite you to explore the flavors of our finest Italian cuisine!

Arrivederci a presto!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We where checked in immediately and provided some toiletry essentials as British Airways took it upon themselves to lose some of our luggage. Turned up 2 days later thankfully. We stayed in a SPG preferred guest suite and it was spacious and very well appointed with a massive balcony at the rear of the building that still provided a great view. Breakfast at Doney was plentiful and and the gym had the latest in equipment which was great. We are here on the cusp of the high season so it was not too busy at all, with the service being quick and friendly throughout our stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback!

We were so happy to have you as our guest at The Westin Excelsior Rome and truly look forward to have again the pleasure of your return visit very soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a family holiday in March. We were upgraded to a suite (Amex Fine Hotels behefit) which was quite large and accomodating. The hotel and rooms were opulent, albeit a bit tired. The hotel staff was nice and the buffet breakfast included with the room was fantastic.

We choose the hotel because of the location and the indoor pool. The indoor pool was disappointing...was way to cold to enjoy a relaxing swim. When we asked about the temperature we were told that it was to regulation...however, was way too cold to use.

All in all, I think that we would likely try another hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for having chosen to stay at the Westin Excelsior Rome.

We really appreciate your feedback and the nice comments towards our service and accommodation.

However, we sincerely regret to learn that we were unable to entirely meet your expectations with the temperature of our indoor swimming pool. Indeed, the temperature level respect the parameters allowed by the local legislation which are 27 -29 degrees.

We hope that this issue did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the Hotel.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your return visit.

With our best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rome
#130 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#160 Business Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#239 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior, Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.