We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, spacious place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Excelsior, Rome to your Saves list
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
AIX EN PROVENCE, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great location, spacious place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very close walking distance to Plaza de Spagna and Fontana di Trevi. great shopping streets nearby and many delicious eating places. Very spacious rooms, very clean with many details you can expect in a 5-stard hotel, good breakfast. I did not try the spa but it looked nice,although very expensive. Amenities are not of high quality except for soap (body lotion is poor and irritating, shower gel is not great neither, bring your own). loved the little chocolate on my pillow at night.
Wi-Fi is 5€ a day!! should be free in such a place. TV channels are basic and movies are charged.
Concierge service is polite and helpful and they speak many foreign languages very well.
Food is fresh and exquisite.
Mini-bar is extremely expensive: 6€ for a small bottle of still water.
meetings and business facilities are of high standard.

Room Tip: ask for 5th or 6th floor to avoid street noise and night club nearby, plus you will have a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We keep into serious consideration all the comments we receive from our guests as they represents a precious pieces of information which helps us to monitor and improve the service offered.
We really hope to have again the pleasure of your return visit.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    416
    259
    101
    43
See reviews for
344
550
45
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I normally try to find more unique places to stay when leaving the country, but had a great corporate discount at the Westin that was hard to pass up. Frankly, given the diversions in this city you're really not spending much time at the hotel (hopefully), so this is a great option and you know exactly what you're getting from a Westin.

The location was terrific, just a short walk from the Spanish Steps and many of the required stops in Rome. The room was larger and more comfortable than many I've found in Europe. Staff was very accomodating and quick to offer help with anything we needed. Concierge needed a little prodding for a unique restaurant recommendation, but we finally found one we were impossibly pleased with after a couple so-so experiences.

Overall a very nice experience in a magical city. Would be perfectly happy staying again if I'm back in Rome, though I might look for a smaller, locally owned place with a little more character.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!
We will be more than pleased to welcome you back in the future. If you travel plans will bring you again to the Eternal City please feel free to contact the executive office directly to handle your reservation and extend our best care and attention,

Best Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

First, let me start off with the rooms -- we booked two "grand luxe" rooms since they were the only ones that had the option for connecting them. Traveling with two kids (9 and 12) we thought having some extra space would be good. Little did we know -- the rooms were ridiculously large! The kids room had 2 queen/double beds, a huge bathroom, and a small balcony. Our room had a king, fireplace, and was easily 20x30, with a sitting area, and small balcony. The best part -- there was an extra sitting room forming the "connection", which had couches, TV, and a small table for 4. Unfortunately, this led the kids to beg for room service every day (denied). The hotel itself is in the "grand tradition" with sweeping hallways, and opulently decorated public spaces. Fortunately, there were back elevators to sneak down to the spa/pool/gym area. Unfortunately, the pool area was not that well maintained, the kids of course enjoyed it regardless. The adults key complaint was the temperature -- it varied wildly from day to day from absolutely freezing, to pleasantly warm. The staff saw no issue with this, but more later.

The location of the Westin is nice -- we enjoy walking, and after a day or so to orient ourselves, would take a cab to the farthest point we were traveling to, and walk back taking in the sights. From the Vatican, it was about a 30-45 minute walk, 15-20 minutes to the Colloseum area, and less than 10 minutes to the spanish steps and shopping district. There were many excellent restaurants within a couple of blocks of the hotel that were very reasonable. For a casual kid-friendly authentic italian environment, we liked La Bruschetta.

Service at the Westin was erratic. Checking into/out of the hotel was flawless -- the folks behind the counter were very nice, and helpful. The Bellhop gave the cab we were getting into the wrong destination on two separate occasions, fortunately, the cabbie and I were able to reconcile before we got there. The concierge staff generally did their best to ignore us, and proved unhelpful on the two occasions we sought their services.

Our room rate included breakfast, however, this was the biggest disappointment of the stay. The "breakfast" was a lukewarm buffet in one of their conference rooms. And by lukewarm, I mean the hot stuff was warm, the cold stuff was warm, and the coffee was warm. The waitstaff came by one time during the hour we were there, and we had to hunt down our own coffee service. Speaking of which -- how is it possible to have a hotel in Italy where there is no place to get a cup of coffee in the morning??? Fortunately, many good places were available in a short walk.

Bottom line -- if you can get a good deal, or use starwood points, you will get huge rooms in a good location.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms include a small sitting room (Grand Luxe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted to learn that you and your family appreciated the spaciousness of our rooms and the comfortable position of the hotel.
At the same time we wish to apologize for your disappointment about our breakfast service and the wrong attitude of our concierge.
Please rest assured that your concerns have been shared with the executive team in order to take corrective actions.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us; we sincerely hope to have you and your family back soon to The Westin Excelsior Rome!
Arrivederci!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about booking this hotel given the mixed reviews, and its low ranking on Tripadvisor. But it was the only hotel in our short list that was available throughout our 4-day stay in Rome and which did not apply crazy mark-up on New Year's eve. So we went ahead anyway and were glad we did so. Every single member of the hotel staff that we had interacted with, from reception, concierge, room service, bellhop to chambermaid was courteous, professional and efficient.

We had asked for an early check in when making reservation but were still pleasantly surprised that we could do so at 9am. We were offered a better room had we chosen to wait a few hours but decided against it as we badly needed a rest after a 16-hour flight. Well, even the "lesser room" turned out to be gorgeous. While it had no views to speak of (which was to be expected), It was extremely spacious and our son absolutely loved the decor.

Located in a very nice neighbourhood, we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days. There was only one disappointment, and a major one - Doney Restaurant - I will put out a separate review on this, but suffice to say that the food was terrible and incredibly salty. This was kind of surprising, as we had room service for dinner and it tasted all right.

I will stay at the hotel when I next visit Rome, but will definitely give its dreaded restaurant a miss .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us at The Westin Excelsior Rome, and that we were able to overcome your expectations.
Although we are really sorry and desire to apologize for the dissatisfaction you expressed about our restaurant.
Thank you once again for sharing your comments which are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future.
We hope to have you and your family back soon to provide a most enjoyable stay.
A presto!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed three nights in westin exelsior Rome. Upon arrival, the hotel had noted we were on honeymoon and gave us an upgrade! In our room, we found fresh flowers, champagne and strawberries. Maria, on the front desk, is an absolute delight. In fact all the staff were very pleasant. The room was big, beautiful and spacious and the bed super comfortable. Every night, we received a turn down service.and the attention to detail at westin exelsiorn is commended. I would definitely recommend the hotel for anybody wanting a little luxury in a great location, known as via venuto - one of Rome's most elegant streets. A wonderful end to our European honeymoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely comments! We are delighted to learn that we were able to make even more special your honeymoon! Our aim is to build special memories for our guests, and your appreciation gives us a great sense of accomplishment.

We would be more than pleased to welcome you back to celebrate your first anniversary!

Arrivederci!
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked this through a share points scheme. Was very impressed on arrival, it is a beautiful place inside and out and situated in a good location near many lovely restaurants and most places of interest. The decor in the rooms was luxurious, the one complaint would be that some of the older furniture seemed a bit knocked about.

The service was generally good and at night remarkably quiet considering the central location. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which are greatly appreciated!

We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The concierge was courteous and friendly, offering some upgrade alternatives for signing up with the hotel affiliates. Clean, spacious, well-stocked bathroom. Nightly turndown with excellent chocolates. Staff was polite; service was efficient. It's nice to know that the Westin brand is always dependable.

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2011.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review! We are always glad to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to have again the pleasure of your return visit on your next trip to Rome!

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#137 Business Hotel in Rome
#145 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#208 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#226 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior, Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.