We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in Love with la Bella Roma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Save Saved
You added The Westin Excelsior, Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Hawkhurst
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fell in Love with la Bella Roma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights meeting up with our son, daughter-in-law and grand-daughter with adjoing rooms. It's a reaaly fine hotel, very grand and in a great location for shopping, Spanish Steps, Pantheon and Fontana de Trevi, if you don't mind walking. Staff were very pleasant from waiters up to management. Nearby you can find any amount of super bars and restaurants. Our rooms were huge and we all fell in love with Rome. This was a special treat and it is a mite expensive for us, but I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a positive feedback!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us at the Westin Excelsior Rome. Your comments were shared with the entire team and represent for us a great sense of accomplishment!
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Rome.
Arrivederci
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    312
    203
    81
    31
See reviews for
273
417
34
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed one night in November at this charming hotel. The location is great, near Villa Borghese and a few minutes walk from the Spanish Steps.

I checked in around 10 am on a Sunday and they had a room ready for me. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. As a Starwood platinum, I was upgraded to a very large room with a balcony overlooking Via Venetto.

The hotel is very old and looks it. In some ways, the age imparts some charm, in others, it looks outdated. The bathroom was nice and very clean. The shower was great.

Overall this is a very nice hotel. Starwood ranks it the same as the St. Regis, which is not accurate. While it is nice, the St. Regis is considerably nicer in terms of amenities, furnishings, bedding and ambiance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Westin Excelsior Rome.
It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the charm and atmosphere of both properties.
We work extremely hard to give a high-quality and professional service to all our guests and we are encouraged by your kind comments.
We look forward to welcome you on your next trip to Rome!
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The rooms are huge... compared to any other hotel i got in Italy or even other parts of europe. It is clean and well maintained, given the fact that this is a huge hotels with so many rooms to maintain. The gym is great too...

Its a 10-15min walk to the famous spanish steps.... There is a chinese restaurant nearby if you have a sudden crave, if not just round the corner, there are a few restaurants that are considered quite decent.
The breakfast in the hotel is quite ok... just that the food variety is the same everyday.... and imagine i have it for 9 days.... it is just too much... the service is generally ok... just nothing very outstanding nor bad. The lounge serve great drinks and also great nuts!! i still missing the salted nuts.... yummy...

The tv is totally not working.... called a couple times for the technician to fix and no one came up.... i got to the point i totally forget about it...

The bed is really as promised! Heavenly and comfortable... the pillow needs to upgrade to comparable quality though...

However the laundry service was really bad, first of all, the charges is not low to start of with... then, my jeans and a jacket came back wet not on one occasion but 3!.... in a plastic cover.... simple logic will tell u, no wet clothes in plastic... let alone its laundry service... to think that over the 9 days stay... i spent 400 euro on laundry service to get this kind of quality.... but just due to no choice.... i still have to send it in for wash and press....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience.
We are glad that you appreciated the spaciousness and the comfort of our rooms, and the tremendous location of our property. Thank you also for mentioning the excellent lounge bar.
At the same time it saddens us to read that you faced some inconveniences with our laundry service. Considering the length of your stay, we would have welcomed the opportunity to meet you in order to find a personalized and more convenient service.
Please accept our apologies and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at The Westin Excelsior Rome.
Warm regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A truly terrible stay , we were obliged to stay here for 5 nights because of conference attendance . Hard to know where to start but here's a good spot - this is not a clean hotel . At this price point & a completely undeserved 5-Star rating , guests have a right to expect at the very least, a clean hotel . This place isn't. General spaces , rooms , hallways all give an impression of poor cleaning habits . There were mosquitoes in my room & I didn't even open the windows. Air conditioning vents are filthy and we had to ask for the filters in our air unit to be replaced (they were filthy when they were changed). Mould grows happily inside the shower stalls .
What else ? Try the most arrogant, unhelpful and downright insolent Concierge desk I have ever seen . Generally clueless and unhelpful about sights and restaurant recommendations , they distilled their pearls of wisdom with disdain and reluctance. Public spaces look terribly tired, rooms are dingy (I saw 6 other rooms during my stay), service levels are poor. The staff generally stand around waiting for tips for performing even the most basic functions (for which they are presumably paid). A complete AVOID as far as we are concerned , almost any 3 star hotel in Rome would beat the pants off of this overblown & pretentious place. Stay away if you have the choice (we didn't)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are extremely sorry for not being able to entirely meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.
Your comments have been taken in serious consideration and properly addressed to the involved department. We take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standard of service and we sincerely regret that on this occasion you have experienced a different perception.
We hope your will give us another opportunity to improve your first impression on our services.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went on a 3 night stay (November 2012) with 5 other relatives, and we all agreed that customer service did not exist at this hotel. Staff do not even acknowledge you upon arrival and expect to wait for them if they are chatting amongst themselves. Although very grand and spacious, the rooms are quite dowdy and need modernising. When having breakfast the service of the waiters was even worse. We would not return to this hotel as unfortunately the staff let it down. Also, expect to pay a fortune when ordering from the room service menu (burger, pizza, fries & 2 x soft drinks 80 euros!!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post our review. We are very sorry that you left our property disappointed; please rest assured that your feedback and constructive criticism have been taken into consideration and properly addressed.
Despite your disappointment, we truly hope to have again the pleasure of your visit.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is in a delightful period property with all mod cons, an excellent staff, and good restaurant catering. It is 10 minutes' walk from the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. We stayed on a combination of business and leisure. We were well satisfied on all counts and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a street-side room but the soundproofing made the outlook irrelevant. The Via Veneto is, of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you appreciated our location, restaurant and service. We work extremely hard to give a high-quality and professional service to all our guests.
We look forward to have you again as our guest at The Westin Excelsior Rome on your next trip to the Eternal City.
Warmest Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Westin Excelsior in Rome. If you are tired of so-called "Boutique Hotels" and are looking for a classic, elegant hotel they way they used to be (think Cary Grant meeting his leading lady in the lobby, for example), then you will love this hotel. The Westin is located on one of the most famous streets in Rome, la Via Veneto. It goes without saying that the neighborhood is very safe and elegant. The staff was very professional and attend to your every need. I have read some reviews that critique the staff as being aloof, arrogant, inattentive, etc. I did not find this problem at all. I think these critiques are based on misinterpretations of Italian culture.

I thought my double beds room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was also very clean with both a stand-up glass shower and bathtub, plenty of towels, thick bathrobes, a comfortable slippers. A minor complaint was that the flatscreen TV was somewhat on the small side given the large size of my room, but who wants to stay inside and watch TV when Rome is outside your door anyway?

I did not eat at the hotel because when I visit Rome, I visit my regular places for meals (I won't tell you where they are because then I'll never get a table!!!). Taxis are conveniently located outside, and business center is conveniently located in the first floor for printing boarding passes or other documents. I was satisfied using the free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The lobby is beautiful and a lovely place to people watch while you surf the internet.

Overall this is a superior hotel. Grazie Westin per tre giorni di eleganza. A Presto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Excelsior, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Excelsior, Rome, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your comments are immensely appreciated and your description has definitively captured the allure of the Westin Excelsior Rome which represents itself a landmark in the city.

We hope to see you in the near future for another memorable experience!

A presto,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Excelsior, Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior, Rome

Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel
The Westin Excelsior, Rome Hotel Rome
Westin Rome
Westin Excelsior Hotel
Rome Westin
Excelsior Rome
Address: 125, Via Vittorio Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#125 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#126 Business Hotel in Rome
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior, Rome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful and invigorating stay awaits you in one of our 281 rooms and 35 suites, few steps from Rome center and facing Via Veneto, hearth of DolceVita.Our rooms will welcome you with maximum comfort and technology and are equipped with the revitalizing Westin Heavenly Bed ®, high-speed Internet connection (surcharge), LCD flat screen televisions, pay-per-view movies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Westin Excelsior, Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Excelsior, Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.