We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the 4* Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci to your Saves list
NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Gracchi, 324, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Leonardo Da Vinci) (Prati)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #412 of 1,274 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the 4* Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went for the superior room in this hotel which was good but a bit small. Bed was comfortable, room clean, adequate toiletries provided, no kettle in room.
Breakfast is self service which seems to also include cleaning and clearing the tables yourself! The restaurant size for this hotel is far to small to accommodate the amount of guests it holds, also insufficient staff on duty to cope with the demand. The breakfast is average with hot drinks coming from very slow machines!!
Beware of the the sign "€10 for late check out - you choose the time" - what this actually means is €10 an hour past checkout time!!!!
Location is spot on, right between the Vatican and the main sights of Rome - all are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed while on a work trip to Rome. Modern hotel, great buffet breakfast. About 12 -15 minutes walk to the Vatican and 10 minutes from Piazza del Popolo in the other direction. Paid a little extra for a "superior" double room but it was smaller than I expected. Wifi in rooms got a little ropey when put under pressure at busy times.

Stayed here in 2005 with a number of work colleagues and a major issue arose with the hotel. Things have changed greatly for the better since then and staff were very helpful. Very good location for Vatican and museums and Piazza Navona is just across the river in the other direction. One of Rome's large shopping streets is nearby.

Good for business trip and they seem to offer good deals at various times.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keenerDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice rooms, not so comfortable mattress. You can walk to the Vatican and Treve Fountain and two blocks away from a train station. Best breakfast buffet we had during our two weeks around Italy. The WiFi connection was terrible. Taxi service was prompt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenofBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from 28th Feb to 3rd March 2013. I have to say that we we're very disapointed with the hotel. It claims to be a 4 star hotel but it fell far short of what I'd expect from a 4 star hotel or what I've experienced at other 4 star hotels. This was barley a 3 star I'd say.

So what was wrong? Well to start with the room we stayed in was basic beyond belief. We went for a mid priced room and it was small, very small with little room around the bed to move. The carpets were worn down to the point that you could have seen the underlay had there been any, in fact the carpets were hard and straight on the boards which it was worn through to in places. There was a wardrobe with a rail but only one shelf in a different until that was 30 cm wide, no draws at all, not enouth for a couple to use for a long weekend. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, this is something even the cheapest of hotels offer. The materess was very uncomfortable with two awful pillows that felt like it was just balls of cotton wool in side the pillow case. The room in general was worn in every way.

The room service was only open for short periods each day and the people who answered the phone was just plain rude. We called down for an ice bucket and were told we'd have to go to the kitchen ourselves to get it! The choice was also very limited and expensive. The maids did a very poor job of cleaning the rooms and didn't replace the shower gel once it was empty.

Plus points for the hotel? Well its location is good for walking to most of the attactions in central Rome, oh and they did offer free WiFi, but it didn't work at all on Friday night or Saturday morning, the time when we needed it the most.

To sum up the NH Leonardo da Vinci hotel in Rome I'd say that this may once have been a hotel that managed to attain 4 stars but that was a long time ago and they make no effort to act in a 4 star way.

I'm not sure how it compares to other hotels in Rome but I'd never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeSunnyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This does not feel like a four-star hotel. The staff (except Alberto and Maria) are not very nice. The staff does not answer the front desk phone during the night which bothers me if there were an emergency. This hotel does not have a concierge and you would expect one. The rooms are a motel six type room-too hot or too cold and there is not a shower door on the tub. The elevators are incredibly small and take a while to come to the floor in the busy hours. The price is very cheap for Rome however so one must decide on what is important to you-price, location, service, and style-you can't have it all here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italiangirl129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull.UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here on business/pleasure November 2012, so this hotel was choosen by the company. I had read reviews on Tripadvisor about upgrading on check in but as this wasn't offered I decided to go with what I was given, which was a room on the second floor with balcony overlooking a school courtyard, the room was spacious with separate lounge area with TV,good size bathroom and bedroom so a pleasant surprise. The breakfast buffet is a fairly good affair with all the usual suspects plus chilled Prosecco! Turn left out of the hotel and at the top of the street is the Via de Corsa with lots of low to mid range boutiques and shops, turn right and follow the road up to the Castel De Sant'Angelo. another 5 minutes gets you to St Peter's Square. So a great location for visiting the Vatican area but there was not a great deal of choice for bars/restaurants in the immediate vicinity for the evenings so we did venture further afield to Trastevere at night.I have visited Rome several times from cruise holidays but this was my first stay and now I know that I can walk for miles and explore in the day time but prefer restaurants and bars close at hand for the evening so my next visit will definately be based in Trastevere, an old area with cobbled lanes,hardly any traffic,loads of nightlife and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creditgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had never been to Rome and wanted somewhere that was close to all major attractions, whilst not being in too much of a noisy area. This Hotel could not have been better. We were able to walk to all of the key attractions with ease. Including the Spanish Steps, trevi fountain, Pantheon, collesum and The Vatican. The room was great and had a small balcony off it. The bufffet breakfast had a wide variety and was of excellent quality. What really makes this hotel stand out is its staff. They were always so happy to help and belive me we asked a lot of questions. They helped us plan trips and even made bookings at restaurants and a spa for us. I cant recommend this hotel enough and next time we go to Rome, this is where we shall stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
NH Roma Midas
#503 of 1,274 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#383 of 1,274 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#269 of 1,274 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Prati
Visconti Palace
Visconti Palace
#174 of 1,274 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci

Address: Via dei Gracchi, 324, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Leonardo Da Vinci)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rome
#175 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#282 Family Hotel in Rome
#286 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci hotel is located in a quiet and elegant residential area in Rome, very close to the Vatican City and the magnificent Castel Sant’ Angelo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Roma Leonardo da Vinci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Leonardo Da Vinci
Jolly Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing