We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocrity in a Nice Neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Leonardo da Vinci

Save Saved
You added NH Leonardo da Vinci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
NH Leonardo da Vinci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Gracchi 324, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #646 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mediocrity in a Nice Neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This does not feel like a four-star hotel. The staff (except Alberto and Maria) are not very nice. The staff does not answer the front desk phone during the night which bothers me if there were an emergency. This hotel does not have a concierge and you would expect one. The rooms are a motel six type room-too hot or too cold and there is not a shower door on the tub. The elevators are incredibly small and take a while to come to the floor in the busy hours. The price is very cheap for Rome however so one must decide on what is important to you-price, location, service, and style-you can't have it all here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    233
    177
    72
    42
See reviews for
63
179
31
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull.UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here on business/pleasure November 2012, so this hotel was choosen by the company. I had read reviews on Tripadvisor about upgrading on check in but as this wasn't offered I decided to go with what I was given, which was a room on the second floor with balcony overlooking a school courtyard, the room was spacious with separate lounge area with TV,good size bathroom and bedroom so a pleasant surprise. The breakfast buffet is a fairly good affair with all the usual suspects plus chilled Prosecco! Turn left out of the hotel and at the top of the street is the Via de Corsa with lots of low to mid range boutiques and shops, turn right and follow the road up to the Castel De Sant'Angelo. another 5 minutes gets you to St Peter's Square. So a great location for visiting the Vatican area but there was not a great deal of choice for bars/restaurants in the immediate vicinity for the evenings so we did venture further afield to Trastevere at night.I have visited Rome several times from cruise holidays but this was my first stay and now I know that I can walk for miles and explore in the day time but prefer restaurants and bars close at hand for the evening so my next visit will definately be based in Trastevere, an old area with cobbled lanes,hardly any traffic,loads of nightlife and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had never been to Rome and wanted somewhere that was close to all major attractions, whilst not being in too much of a noisy area. This Hotel could not have been better. We were able to walk to all of the key attractions with ease. Including the Spanish Steps, trevi fountain, Pantheon, collesum and The Vatican. The room was great and had a small balcony off it. The bufffet breakfast had a wide variety and was of excellent quality. What really makes this hotel stand out is its staff. They were always so happy to help and belive me we asked a lot of questions. They helped us plan trips and even made bookings at restaurants and a spa for us. I cant recommend this hotel enough and next time we go to Rome, this is where we shall stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convinient, you have access to almost everything in Rome by foot, the breakfast was very good and the the staff always refilled the bar when needed. Wi-fi free, but you had to get a password which expires every 24h. Reception staff was not very helpful, rooms were very small and old fashioned, air condition was too noisy but in general the room was very clean and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is in a decent location, with good continental breakfast & bar with late hours. Unfortunately, staff is limited and with a group of over 8 blocked rooms, there are a variation of stories indicating poor service, housekeeping and overall experience.

Pros: Stellar location. Hot and cold breakfast. A variation of eggs, cold cuts & cheeses is constantly replenished and the juices (over 5) offer guests a variety of beverages. Crossoints, breads and cheeses line the buffet style eating and the coffee maker allows guest a personalized drink menu from espresso to hot chocolate to macchiato. It's buffet style so don't expect superb blends. Free wifi. Clean lobby. Educated staff.

Cons: Limited room service hours. You can easially be charged for wifi if you don't properly log in via their daily passwords which are renewed everyday yet link to your credit card info/guest info. ***HOUSEKEEPING WILL CLEAN YOUR ROOM EVEN IF YOU LEAVE A DO NOT DISTRUB SIGN***. (This happened daily even after multiple notifications to the front desk). Front desk staff is always minimal leaving it difficult to communicate with them during check in (early AM) & check out (lunchtime) times.

We came here with a large group of people (8 rooms) and multiple items are missing. Although miniscule (perfume, airplane pillow, shoeboxes, etc.) it is an indicator of troubled housekeeping. Call it stealing, misplacing or lack of supervision - but it is not okay to permit such behavior. Front desk was unable to resolve the issues saying "we do not have your items in Lost & Found".

Overall, this is a great hotel for college students or backpacking individuals on a budget however keep in mind that there are serious issues. If you intend to go shopping, be aware of the housekeeping issues. I highly recommend the safe for personal cash, credit cards, etc - but be conscious of your larger, big ticket items.

Disappointed but okay for the price if you are here for a long period of time. Wishing I still had my airplane pillow.

Serious bummer but more bummed on the principal of it being gone then the actual value of it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had to organize the coming of 20 persons. The booking office executive made us trouble few days before the arrival of all the guests. She was horrible at phone. Then, arriving at the hotel reception, the staff was unwelcoming, unhelpful and unorganized. Fortunately I arrived before guests. They wanted to make some people pay for the services we had already pre-paid. They were aggressive with the guests and some of them had to negociate to enter the dining room!!
The dinner organisazed there was extermely expensive compared to the service we received and the quality of the meal! 39€ per person for eating uncooked pasta, few vegetables with cold meat and a dessert without taste! 35€ for the dinner buffet the other nights was also too much.
The rooms: old TV from the 90s, uncomfortable bed and pillows, no bottle of water in the room and a heating which make noise all night long (had to put it off in the night and the wake_up was cold!).
Only positive: breakfast + quite good localisation

Room Tip: Hotel to avoid regarding the cost/quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Poor dirty noisy room. They advertise free Wi-Fi all over the hotel but charged me for each connection. Refused to take it off my bill. Said I had to ask at check in for Wi-FI. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Leonardo da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Leonardo da Vinci

Also Known As:
Nh Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Rome
Nh Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Leonardo Da Vinci
Jolly Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci
Address: Via dei Gracchi 324, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#246 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#357 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Leonardo da Vinci 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Leonardo da Vinci hotel is located in a quiet and elegant residential area in Rome, very close to the Vatican City and the magnificent Castel Sant’ Angelo. The hotel’s setting in the exclusive Prati district offers an ideal location to experience the extraordinary beauty of Rome. The hotel is within walking distance of fabulous landmarks such as Piazza del Popolo and Piazza di Spagna (Trinità dei Monti). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your NH Leonardo da Vinci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Leonardo da Vinci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.