We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Nova Domus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Nova Domus to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Nova Domus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Savonarola 38, 00195 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #994 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Old hotel. Fits in well with other archeological buildings in Rome. Plumbing was very bad. Had a cold shower on one afternoon. Air conditioning didn't work. Way overdue for a renovation. Comfortable otherwise. Breakfast was included in our deal. The buffet is nicely arranged with a porch to sit upon for those preferring to eat outside. Wifi was free and staff were very helpful and pleasant. When you look at the hotel website you wonder if the pictures are from the same building. Located close to the Vatican Museum but a 20 minute walk from the nearest train station.

Room Tip: Check the rooms plumbing and air conditioning first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    115
    111
    95
    98
See reviews for
105
129
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for a night. Booked in advance. We were early checking in so they stored our luggage for us. The front desk agent was concerned about us getting a taxi so early (5am) for our early flight the next day so she arranged a private car for about the price of a taxi. We really appreciated her putting our mind at ease about that. The bartender was super friendly. The room we stayed in was nothing special, but hey...you're in Rome. If you're hanging out in a hotel room, you're doing something wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Love the warmth of staff. Renovation underway but amazing how staff at front office, maintenance and even kitchen makes effort to pay attention to little details such as dairy allergy, troubleshooting air conditioning and reservations overbooked. Thank you Paula, Stefania, Alessandro, the other front office staff as well as housekeeping, restaurant & kitchen staff. Definitely will stay here. Sometimes it simply isn't the decor which matters. It's the people ;o)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed there the first week of June. As you can expect from most of this area hotels, it is not a modern one. Friendly staff. Free wi-fi at the lobby. Clean sheets and bathroom, cannot say the same of the carpet. Not the best bed, but after a full day walking in Rome, you will sleep all night. You can walk to the Vatican (20 minutes) but at night will recommend take a taxi if you are alone. For dinner, go other place, please! For breakfast, ok. No working air conditioning because it was not summer time, that’s normal in Italy. Near there is a used-books store and we found a couple of books for 1 euro each with beautiful 8x10 old pictures of Italy, better that paying more at gift shops. A pharmacy and restaurants are also near. I have not been in other hotels of the area, so it is difficult to compare. I think is a good option if the price is right, but if you can pay more, try another hotel. Recommendation for your trip: if you have a tendency to nasal allergies and sinus, get your pills and take one each day just in case.

Room Tip: Stayed at the 2nd floor facing the back of the hotel. Was not so quiet but were able to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

incredible single room with balcony on top floor.
great service from reception
Friendly staff
Comfortable room with wardrobe full of extra blankets
Plenty of hot water for baths and showers
Plenty of plug sockets
nice desk to write letters and work on
cleaners remade my room daily
Breakfast was brilliant daily... Get there early to grab seat by window

sadly wireless was temperamental in foyer and up in my room.. You need to re- login 20 times a day...

And sadly my toilet bowel would not stop filling with water hours after it had been flushed... I called reception daily to sort it out... but it would malfunction after one flysh again ( but i wasnt about to give up a great room over a toilet!)

The map provided by hotel was excellent and the hotel can print any document for you free of charge

They even give you the option of having breakfast buffet served to your room if you request it in advance

Its a great hotel, in a fantastic location

I will definitely come back here

Take the negative reviews with a pinch of salt. The hotel is not old. Its not cold. And all the lifts worked fine.

Be aware that rome has a city tax when you vacate your room.. Mine cost 9 euros when i stayed for 4 days.

This was an incredible pilgrimage to rome
And i am gratefully to have booked my flights and hotels via british airways website.

I cant wait to come and stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be renamed the Nova Nogo.....totally disgraceful hotel....our room was a pigsty ...the Tv,airconditioning and the toilet didn't work....the staff were just as negative....I left a jacket in the hotel but was told it wasn't in the room...even tho I rng less than an hour after leaving to go to another hotel after refusing to stay there.....NEVER...and I mean NEVER stay there....it's about time hotel guests were treated as guests not an imposition ......enough said

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you don't mind a crappy location, filthy rooms, and sleeping on a cot from the 1950's, then this is your perfect hotel in Rome!
There are no shower curtains, towels designed for undersized midgets and the view of the garbage storage area is exquisite. Whomever rated this place as 4 stars needs to be taken to the Mussolini Museum and shown a similar fate as Il Duce!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Nova Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Nova Domus

Address: Via G. Savonarola 38, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#310 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Nova Domus 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Nova Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rome
Quality Inn Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Nova Domus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.