We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Excursions in Italy

Shore Excursions in Italy
Via della Balduina, 224, 00136 Rome, Italy
+39 3408446292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 593 Tours & Activities in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Limousine Company operating in Italy since 1998. We do guided Tours from all the Italian Ports, provided by multilingual drivers driving Mercedes A/C Vehicles.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We purchased a tour of Rome from Shore Excursions because they advertised small group - under 30 people. We were to visit Coliseum and the Vatican. It went wrong from the beginning: our group was over 30 people, we were put on a wrong bus. They made us change buses, and we lost an hour of our time. When in Rome we had to rush, we didn't get much time for lunch. We didn't get into St. Peters Basilica as it was closed and Shore Excursion ddidn't provide a replacement tour. We could go to the Vatican Museum or another place, but instead we had to wait for the bus to take us back to the port.
After we got back I contacted Shore Excursions but they refused to give me a courtesy of a credit siting that thre was nothing wrong with our tour.
I do not recommend buying excursions from this company as they are liars and do not provide good customer service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreexcursions, Owner at Shore Excursions in Italy, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We want to tell that we do not have this client booked with us and you verify with her to see that she made a mistake posting this in our forum. She wanted to say this regarding another company. Please check it out and remove it, thanks.
Carlo Ciardi
Owner of Shore Excursions in Italy.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    8
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A vacation we will never forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned from our Italy cruise yesterday. We did a cruise through NCL that was 7 nights. It took us to Naples, Rome, and Florence/Pisa and Italy. When we booked our cruise I decided to look into a private tour for each different port. I chose italyshoreexcursions.net to book through for the private tour. I am so pleased with the three day tour we took with them. The first day Rafael and Umberto were waiting for us with 2 Mercedes mini vans which were brand new and equipped with central air in both. Both drivers took us to Pompeii, Sorrento, and Pasitano. During our first day we were able to see Pompeii, drive right along the Almalfi coast looking at breathtaking views. We also visited in town where we had free time to shop, have lemon chello, and visit the beach. While on the Almalfi Coast they had made reservations at a restaurant where we ate authentic Italian food and drank the most amazing Italian wine. Our lunch view was absolutely amazing because it overlooked the water and land of the Almalfi Coast. Our day was supposed to end at 5 however; our drivers were so kind to allow us to make an extra stop at a pizza place in Naples that is voted the number one pizza in the world. Both drivers throughout the tour were so knowledgeable and provided us with so much information on each place we stopped.
Our second day we visited Rome. Maurizo and Maurice were waiting for us once again with 2 Mercedes mini vans which were brand new and equipped with central air in both. They had pre-reserved all our tickets for the day which included entrance into the Vatican, and Colloseum. We were allotted so much time at each place to ensure we were able to see everything that was in our itinerary. In Rome our drivers stopped at various famous monuments and buildings. We were allowed time to stop at the Trevi Fountain to make our wish and throw our coins in the fountain. Our drivers also took us to a restaurant for lunch where we had antipasto, pizza, and various pasta dishes. Since the restaurant did not speak very good English, our drivers stayed right with us to help translate for us. Our drivers knew exactly how much time we needed at each place and would give us an exact time to meet back to ensure we had enough time to see everything. Also, the drivers provided us with an international phone to use and gave us their phone numbers so at any point if we became lost or need anything we could call them and they would be right there to help. To conclude our day in Rome they took us to a famous Gelato place where we were able to taste the various types of gelatos. All in all our day in Rome was fabulous because of our 2 drivers. Without we would not have been able to see half of what we saw in the short amount of time we were there. They truly made our experience in Rome absolutely unforgettable.
Our third and final day in Italy was spent in Pisa/Florence. Laura and Francisco were waiting for us once again with 2 Mercedes mini vans which were brand new and equipped with central air in both. Since they were unable to reserve tickets to climb the leaning tower they picked us up extra early at the ship to avoid us waiting in a long line for tickets. We arrived at the leaning tower at around 8:30 a.m and had tickets to climb it at 8:45 a.m. Both drivers provided us with so much information about the tower and different places we saw on the way to the tower. While in Pisa we were allotted time to shop around and visit different bakeries. Since no bags or purses are allowed up the tower Laura offered to hold and watch our bags while we looked. That was extremely nice of her considering there was no space for your belongings to be locked up. She showed us right there that she truly cared about the people who were on her tour and was willing to do anything to make them happy. After Pisa we headed up into the countryside in Florence. Both drivers would stop at various spots for us to take pictures and explain the history behind the place. They also took us to this market place where we could taste the most amazing Italian wine, olive oil, and bread. The cost to do this wine tasting was free and we were able to drink as much as we wanted. The prices in the store were very reasonable and the family who owned it were so nice and accommodating. After our countryside visit we headed into city part of Florence. We were given time to overlook the bell tower, see the Statue of David, and cross over a famous bridge. They also made reservations at this restaurant for us to eat authentic Tuscany food, and enjoy shopping at different leather stores.
All in all italyshoreexcursions.net made our trip to Italy one that we will never forget! Thanks to them we were able to see what we wanted and more in Italy. They made our visit so enjoyable that we plan on possibly revisiting Italy next summer. Every driver we had was so professional, and knowledgeable about everything! They truly made us all feel so comfortable and made us feel so welcomed. When I first went to book with them I was nervous about booking with a company outside of NCL, however now I would totally recommend anyone to trust their gut and just book it. Our tour with italyshoreexcursions.net was 100 times better than tours offered through NCL. We were able to plan out what we wanted to do and got to see more since we toured with only our family which was a party of 11. I cannot thank all our drivers enough for everything. We are so thankful for what we were able to see and the relationships we were able to make with them. We look forward to returning to Italy and booking another tour with them!

Sara, Rhode Island

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Vaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had booked three excursions through the internet, working with Monica, who was so helpful. We were greeted in Rome at the airport by Federico, we called him Fed, and he also picked up us up the following morning at our hotel (there were 5 of us family members) and we took the "underground tour." He was such a wonderful tour guide, and was so accomodating to us, with all the questions we had in driving around Rome. At the end of our trip, we asked for recommendations for dinner, and we went to two of the restaurants he suggested---Fabulous!!!
Our next excursion was with Laura, who picked us up at the Livorno port, for a day trip to Pisa and Florence. I can not express to you how much fun we had that day and the beauty of the Tuscan region, and her insight into the history of Florence. We even stopped at an olive oil store and had samples and and made some purchases.
Our final excursion was with Michele, in the Naples port, who took us to Pompei, Sorrento, and Pasatono...With the road conditions not so good, he knew exactly the route to take and also told us so much about the Almalfi coast, and it was such a beautiful, pleasant day.
We can not say enough about this company and the people that work for you.
An excellent way to see alot in Italy!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Shore Excursions Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a day trip to Pisa and Florence 28th May via Monica (shoreexcursionsitaly.net)
What a fantastic experience, we were met by Lisa our English speaking driver at our cruise ship on schedule. We were really well looked after, taken to the main tourist areas both in Pisa and Florence. Lisa acted a tour guide when required, other times we were left to our own devices.
This was well worth the money, much more economical than the ships tours and it was just us and Lisa.
Thanks to everyone involved for giving us such a great day and wow what brilliant places Pisa and Florence are, can't wait to return

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow! Great way to see Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from our cruise. So glad I book with this company. Monica was wonderful to deal with before our trip. I don,t think Monica ever sleeps. she helped so much with all the planning, so our friends could have a trip of a lifetime. i was responsible for my friends and wanted to make this the best vacation of their lives, and I am so happy to say it was a great success. Without this company it would not have been the same. As I have over 50cruises and never booked my own tours before, I'll never go back to the ships tours. We saw so much more its hard to believe. We had Ricardo in florence, Salvatore, Carlo, and Luigi in Rome. All were wonderful guides, and excellent drivers. They made our stay magical. We all felt so special. They arranged for us to climb Pisa, see david, private guide for the Vatican. My friends felt guilty avoiding all the lines. Not me I felt special! Thank you for the bottom of my heart for All the wonderful memories!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Excursions in Italy also viewed

 

Been to Shore Excursions in Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Excursions in Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.