We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A casa di Mei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A casa di Mei to your Saves list
A casa di Mei
Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 55 | Scala A interno 1, Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,239 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived late in Rome and they waited for us. It is very near the train station although we had difficulty finding it. The place was inside an old building together with other establishments. It has an old, huge, heavy wooden door and you need to go up the 2nd floor to find it. The room was ok for me and my mom. We have 1 queen-sized bed, a television, a small cabinet with good internet access. It was so cold at that time but since it is already spring their heater is not working anymore. Nobody was available at the office after they have oriented us of the place so our 1st night was terrible but then we asked the owner the following day during breakfast about it and he just provided us with thick blankets for the night. Breakfast was just bread (croissant) jam and a choice of coffee or fruit juice, not the typical rice meal that we have in Philippines but was fine with me because I do not eat much at breakfast. They were very kind and accommodating. They provided us with a map as well. We have our own bathroom but it was an external one so we need to go out our room and walk by the dining area if we want to use it. They provided us a set of old looking keys which at first were difficult to use for the doors (main door, our room, bathroom). If you are looking for classy place to stay well this is not for you but if you are on a tight budget and just wanted a place to sleep in then this place is just fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked a room for two person and the location was very good the room was clean and the owner was very kind he help us with our luggage! Good price very quiet place the only poor thing is the breakfast...but next time I will visit Rome I'll be back in a Casa Di Mei for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This accommodation will satisfy your basic needs for cheap, clean and good location during your stay in Rome. Service is very good. B&B has no 24h reception desk so be sure to mention your arrival time to owners when booking so they can wait for you. B&B is settled on the 1st floor of an old building, renovated and spotless clean. Room has hairdryer and small TV (cable, but mostly Italian channels). Although location looks a bit obscure (homeless people wandering around, graffiti on walls, and the neighborhood is obviously inhabited with immigrants) it is safe, especially the accommodation.
Santa Maria Maggiore and Termini Stations are very close (5 minutes walk), Coloseum is 15 minutes walk, while San Giovanni in Laterano is also very close (10 minutes just walk down Via Emanuelle Filiberto and you will be there shortly).

Metro station (Vittorio Emanuelle, red line, Linea A) is just few steps away and you can use it to visit, for example, Vatican or Piazza di Spagna.

Breakfast is included in price, although it is basic and sweet (packed croissants and toast, coffee/tea, jam/butter/honey). There is one bakery nearby and few in Via Emanuelle Filiberto. There are no nice restaurants around but you will not have problem with this while in Rome, restaurants/pizzerias are almost everywhere.

To get to the accommodation from Leonardo Da Vinci/Fiumicino Airport the quickest way is to use Leonardo Express Train (to Termini Station) and than use metro Linea A - one station to Vittorio Emanuelle. To exit station closest to the B&B take direction right and keep right until you get out.

Room Tip: TIP for payment: Bring cash with you when you pay. Although it says you can pay with CC it is imposs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is incredibly good value, and has great service. The rooms are surprisingly large and have nice furnishings, but they don't block out noise particularly well (in case you are a light sleeper).

The location does feel a bit dodgy but it is a very easy walk to center and to all the places you'd want to see, and they do their very best with security. Breakfast is pretty minimal but again, super value for money.

The best part about A Casa di Mei is the service, as the owner is really helpful and friendly. Overall, it was a great place to stay at a bargain price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked a room for two people (my mother and I), but they provided a very small room with only one small bed. The neighborhood was bad, and I am very dubious about the security of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were really surprised by this place. Big room, super clean and super friendly owner! The building looks a bit run down outside, but the inside is really nice. Breakfast is simple, but good. We paid only 31 euros for one night including everything. This is a real bargain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We rented a room in this B&B for $46 Euro/night, which is incredibly cheap and was a fantastic deal for the room that we got (Room #5, I think it was)! The price alone, and the fact that we felt safe and secure leaving our belongings in a room for such a good price, earn this B&B 3 stars right off the bat. The 4th star comes, but with some caveats.

Finding it - The B&B is about 100 steps from the Vittorio Emanuele II metro stop on the red line. When you come up the stairs, walk with the buildings on your left and the piazza on your right. The B&B is a very thick, strong heavy door about 2 blocks up. It's on the 2nd floor, up either a claustrophobic elevator or an easy set of stairs.

Check-in - You MUST check in before 1pm. You will probably get an email warning you of this, but this email will come several days before your check-in, not when you make your reservation. The keys that you will need to get to your room (3 - one ultra-modern for the outside door, 1 crazy skeleton-key to get into the b&b door from the hallway, and 1 standard key door to get into your room) must be picked up from the office during their office hours - which apparently end at 1pm.

Also - plan to pay with cash. We booked the room via hotels.com and gave our credit card information. We noticed a sign saying the credit card machine was broken, and sure enough, we had to pay for our room with cash. This review is for a stay in November 2012, so the machine may get fixed at some point.

Room: Huge. absolutely huge. no carpeting. Window opens to a dark courtyard with a splendind view of the . . . elevator shaft. Heat and a/c worked fine. Towels, sheets, bed - all acceptable. Was very pleased with the room considering the price paid.

Location: Hmm. Think Times Square midway in its transition from "most dangerous tourist place ever" to "Disney Central". There are people sleeping on the sidewalks within a block of the B&B. We did see a fight break out on the block of the b&b, as well as a crazy guy screaming at full volume to himself. But I never felt in danger myself. Take it for what its worth. If you want serenity, don't book this place. If you want a good price and a good value and appreciate sticking a toe or even an entire foot into the 'wild side' - then check it out.

Food: I only drank a cafe latte in the morning, and didn't eat breakfast. The cafe latte was really coffee with some milk in it. I am suspicious that breakfast consisted entirely of pre-packaged pastries, but I cannot state that with certainty as I did not eat there.

Staff: Very friendly, very helpful. Aside from the 'gotchas' of "you must pay cash for your room" and "make sure you don't even think of checking in after 1pm" - everything was great.

Overall: If you want a nice bed and breakfast that won't break your budget, this is your place. If you want luxury and an upper-crust locale, then keep looking. The room here was 1.5 times larger than our room in the hotel that cost 4x as much (River Palace - also reviewed).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A casa di Mei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A casa di Mei

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 55 | Scala A interno 1, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,239 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A casa di Mei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A casa di Mei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.