We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh exception among restaurants in Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi-Res Restaurant

Hi-Res Restaurant
Via della Fontanella 15 | (ingresso Hotel Valadier), 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
+39 06 3212905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #675 of 8,552 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $67 - $107
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
1 review
“Fresh exception among restaurants in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect italian service at its best, esp. Giovanni made our evening unforgetable. Very nice and modern athmosphere with excellent 007-music:) Some more consistency with the food would be needed though. Danish beef great, but lobster pasta was average. Dessert excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hi-Res Restaurant, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for your great review, we are happy that our services have met your needs.
On behalf of our entire Restaurant team we thank you for your kind comments and for your suggestions about our dishes and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at the Hi-Res again!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    84
    21
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“High atmosphere, mid food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked a table in the restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel. The place is at great location, it is next to Piazza de Poppolo, on the roof of a hotel, wth nice view. Hipe atmosphere, with lamps that change color, good music from Lana del Rey to Beatles by a young DJ. As a contrast, a kind, old gentleman is at our service the whole evening. The food is nicely presented, but the quality not conistent. My langoustine tartare and danish beef was magnificent, but the salmon tartare is forgettable and the duck breast is overcooked. Still, this is not the biggest opportunity area of the place, more like the service approach. 1)We have ordered an expensive, old wine, but the sommelier was not able to remove the cork at once - in great restaurants they offer you another bottle (for this price), here they refuse and offer to decant it (in the end it wasn't needed, he managed to take it out without ruining the wine).2) The duck breast was too dry and we mentioned when they asked how is the food. But instead of apologizing, they tried to convince us, that it is not dry, and medium cooked as requested. Come on!
Overall, still good experience, but don't think that we return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hi-Res Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hi-Res restaurant and for your review. We truly appreciate that you enjoyed our location, with the aid of our breathtaking view, we aim to create an unique and exciting atmosphere!
We do appreciate your constructive comments on our standards and service and we are sorry that your dinner did not live up to your expectations.
We regret for having missed the opportunity to impress you with our specialities and we hope to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location and view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having been recommended by our hotel, we decided to try the Hi Res. First impressions were good as the rooftop space was nice and modern....that's as good as it got!!

The experience wasn't horrible, but a little on the expensive side. It took 15 minutes for someone to take our order and after 2 requests for the wine list we eventually got one.

We ordered starters and mains and when the food came it was ok but certainly not what we expected based on the price of the food. We ordered a shrimp app that cost €20 and it was terrible. We had to ask for our bill 2 times and when it came is was incorrect with drinks on it that we hadn't had. We spent €200 that night and left hungry and confused. Great looking modern restaurant with great views and terrible over priced food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hi-Res Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for your positive comments about our location and we regret the negative about the service. Our objective is meet the tastes of our customers in the selection of the dishes that we offer in the menu although we know that being able to suit all tastes is almost impossible, but we try anyway to get as close as possible to satisfy everyone. From this our prerogative consequent choice of high quality ingredients and a qualified staff that they also go together with the location to form a specific category of prices on our menu.
We will be happy to have you again as our guest to make them feel that perhaps our other specialties could meet in a more positive his taste.
Cordially
Marco Alessi
Hi-Res Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in a Super Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to me by The Hotel River Palace as THE best place to celebrate my daughter's 21st Birthday. It was very important to me that I got this just right and thanks to my hotel I did. Having said that I nearly changed my mind after reading some of the negative reviews on Tripadvisor, but, like most astute reviewers, I read in between the lines and decided to lean towards the comments of the happier customers on this occasion. My comments are echoed by the rest of my party of six:
The location, inbetween the Spanish Steps and Piazza del Popolo was ideal for us and to watch the daytime turn to night over the rooftops of Rome was very special. Tables are located on a high rooftop terrace and set in a contemporary brightly decorated area with lovely 'mood lighting'. Despite the comments of some reviewers we found that the background music added to experience - it was varied and at just the right volume and not at all imposing. We loved being able to stand at the edge of the terrace for a few minutes and take in the views in between courses, but whereas you might need to lean over to take in the view of the street the surrounding characterful buildings are always in view from your terrace table wherever you sit. We requested a table on the edge when we placed our email booking in advance and got exactly what we were promised.
The food and service just couldn't have been any better. Service was immediate and we were seated barely minutes before our first drinks arrived. The free appetiser really set the scene though. It was something we would all have paid good money for and it set the bar for the rest of the meal. We chose a broad variety of starters mains and desserts and they all scored 10 out of 10. My sliced beef dish was amongst the best I have ever been served. The pace of service for food and drinks was timed to perfection throughout. Whilst this was not a cheap night out - I do not expect to get a great meal with such good service and in such a fantastic setting for next to nothing - it cost us an average of around 75 euro's per head. Some of us missed either a starter or dessert but this also included numerous drinks (beer and wine) and a tip. It represented fair value to me.
The high quality of the food and great location made this a memorable night out for everyone, but most importantly for my daughter who was even presented with a small complimentary birthday cake (with one large candle) at the end of the meal accompanied by the traditional rendition of 'happy birthday' by everyone in the restaurant. Even the cake tasted excellent!
The only very small negative comment I could make, and this is more for the benefit of the restaurant manager when he or she checks the latest reviews, was the fact that once we had paid and given the customary tip (which in our case was quite a generous one) we appeared to be totally ignored by the staff who had previously been so pleasant and attentive.
However, that said, this was still a super dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hi-Res Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Customer
We are grateful for his review in which perfectly captures the primary aim of all our staff: "Make every evening spent here with us a Special Evening".
Cordially
Marco Alessi
Hi-Res Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“TRULY SPECIAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This restaurant provided me with the best dining experience of my life. We visited in a group of 6, celebrating my girlfriends 21st birthday and the restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel. The rooftop restaurant is quite simply stunning! If you are celebrating a special occasion in Rome, then you cannot bypass this restaurant. The staff were very welcoming and very well organised. We were sat down and waited on immediately, once we had our drinks we were brought a beautiful complimentary appetiser. The food is very well presented and is of excellent quality. My seared scallops starter was to die for and my beautifully cooked lamb main fell off the bone with the most incredible hint of mint in every mouthful. I opted against a dessert as i was plenty full enough after 2 courses, but when the desserts came for the other members of our group, WOW! They looked and tasted fantastic. We were very well looked after throughout the meal. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. One minor criticism - once we had paid our bill and got up to leave, not one member of staff acknowledged us to say goodbye. There are a lot of people that would find this quite rude, but i would like to think that this was because they were very busy and regard it as one minor blip on what was otherwise a perfect night. Thank you Hi-res!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hi-Res Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Customer
We are very happy that you had a memorable evening in our restaurant for the birthday of your girlfriend.
The words you spent on our food is an incentive and convince us more and more that the constant search for new products of high quality, traditional and not traditional combinations is the right way to go to be able to satisfy an increasingly demanding culinary profile .
We will be happy to host it again the next time will be in rome
Cordially
Marco Alessi
Hi-Res Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi-Res Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hi-Res Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi-Res Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.