We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Church, worth the drive, wonderful relics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbazia di San Paolo Fuori Le Mura

Abbazia di San Paolo Fuori Le Mura
Via Ostiense,186, 00146 Rome, Italy (Ostiense)
+39 06 454 35 574
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$110*
and up
Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day
Ranked #6 of 1,490 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Begun in 1859 under the name of "Grace Church," this church has been designated as a National Monument by the Italian Government due to its artistic and aesthetic value.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church, worth the drive, wonderful relics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We found this church when we were travelling back from seeing the Catacombs of St. Calixtus. I am so glad we visited this Church as it was beautiful and contains the chains St. Paul wore in Rome before he was martyred.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,928
    441
    71
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worth to take a visit while you are in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The place is outside center, but it is easy reachable by underground (1,5 EUR one way). The basilica has the same beauty and greatness as Basilica di San Pietro in Vatican and it is very little people who is visiting this place. So you could spend whole hours to look around, see sculptures and frescas and not be disturbed by other tourists. Place is amazing also for pilgrimage, because Basilica is made over remains of Saint Paul. Specially worth to take walk in beautiful garden of basilica.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A gem not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Having a single day in Rome and having seen all the typical sites before, I decided to see if could visit all four major basilicas in one day. I bought a metro day pass...highly recommended...and set out to St. Paul's as it is furthest off the beaten path. Incredible! It was easy to get to...minutes from Termini station...and I think there were eight people in the entire place! This is the site in 1958 Pope John announced the Second Vatican Council to an expecting group of cardinals. It contains the remains of St. Paul...including the chains that supposedly bound him while in captivity. It is the second largest church in Rome and the gardens and courtyards are a beautiful as the church itself! While an old site, historically where St. Paul was buried after execution (hence outside the ancient walls), the ancient church burned down in the 1800's, the reconstruction was beautifully done. I can only speak for early December but while all the rest of the basilicas were packed, St. Paul's was an oasis of calm and peacefulness. I highly recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is one of the least visited church's because it is "outside" the walls of Rome. If you can get there you will be very happy for the visit. Lots of history here so read about it before you go. Part of the "Plenary Indulgence".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing in Biblical Proportion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Was founded by Emperor Constantine over the burial place of St.Paul. Its is a place of beauty and so much history.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbazia di San Paolo Fuori Le Mura also viewed

 

Been to Abbazia di San Paolo Fuori Le Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbazia di San Paolo Fuori Le Mura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.