We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old basilica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano

Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano
Via Labicana 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 774 0021
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 720 attractions in Rome
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Constructed between 1110 and 1130, this church of San Clemente is not one, but three churches built one above the other, with ruins dating from the earliest Christian times.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely old basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went here as my husband teaches in a school of the same name in Australia. We also wanted to collect some postcards which there were large amounts of in the church.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,314
    366
    58
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful to travel through Rome's history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Church has multiple layers as you visit the Modern, Renaissance, Medieval, Neolithic right down to the Mithraic temple below the Crypt. Probably the single most interesting Church outside of the Vatican/St. Peter's...also great location near Colloseum...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great value, a basilica with a real difference.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

By the time we came to visit the Basilica di San Clements we had been to a few churches/basilicas and while they were all beautiful we thought this might be a bit of the same old thing. We were wrong. Not only is the basilica itself beautiful but when you go downstairs you get to walk through, literally, layers of history. Definitely pay the few euros to go down stairs it's so much bigger than you expect and really interesting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church with facinating underground excavation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were taken to this church and from the outside it just looked like yet another church in a city filled with beautiful churches. However, there is a simplicity to this church that gives it a different feel entirely. This difference is made more apparent when you enter the excavated area beneath the existing structure.
It seems this church...as is most of Rome, is built on previous structures. Beneath this church is the remains of another church and beneath that, a Roman block of houses including prayer rooms to another religion (Mithraic) entirely. The Roman block burned at some point, so the church was built on top of it and the present structure built up on top of that!
As you walk some 80-100 feet under present Rome on an ancient street you find yourself at one point hearing water and have the chance to look down and into one of the original and still working Roman aquaducts.
HIghly recommend taking this trip "behind the scenes" of Rome. It was facinating. For more of the same, try the Case Romane Del Celio beneath the Chiase Giovanni e Paolo...the Church of John and Paul which is nearby.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANARK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Holiday Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were amazed at the beauty in this church
We went down to the lower part of the church to view the old facilities it contained ans loved every part of it

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano to your Saves list