We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under visited gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano

Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano
Via Labicana 95, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)
+39 06 774 0021
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano like an insider
Skip the Line
$68*
and up
Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small...
Ranked #15 of 1,437 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Constructed between 1110 and 1130, this church of San Clemente is not one, but three churches built one above the other, with ruins dating from the earliest Christian times.
Ashland, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“under visited gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

recommended by an art history professor friend. The three levels are astounding, especially the lowest one. A wonderful way to see the levels of Rome over the centuries.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,753
    527
    70
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful old Church, excavation underneath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am so glad we stopped in this Church. It was beautiful with very old mosaics and paintings. Includes excavated ruins underneath the church which were closed by the time we got there. We were blessed to attend Mass at this Church.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is an amazing little church, tucked down a side street in an untouristy part of Rome. The basilica itself is beautiful enough, but go through a door, pay five Euros, go down the steps and you're in a fourth century version and then keep going down and you're in a Roman Street. It's all a bit bizarre. My daughter (regular readers of my reviews will notice she's a bit of a wuss) was terrified, started screaming and ended up burying her head in my shoulder as I carted her round (she's 8 so it wasn't easy). But don't let her put you off. It's a fascinating place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The oldest part of this church dates back to the 2nd Century BC. Do go down to the deepest excavated level covering a susprisingly vast area to see 1st Century AD buildings. Beautiful 12th Century Apse mosaic showing the tree of life in the church.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get a tour from a religious person”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

One of the nuns where we stayed at il Rosario gave us a tour of this church and it was the best tour we did while in the city. She knew many inside stories from her own experiences.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.