We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see off the beaten path, just near the Colosseum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano

Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano
Via Labicana 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 774 0021
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 722 attractions in Rome
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Constructed between 1110 and 1130, this church of San Clemente is not one, but three churches built one above the other, with ruins dating from the earliest Christian times.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must-see off the beaten path, just near the Colosseum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A church built on top of a church built on top of a church built on top of a roman house. Amazing to walk down the four stories through the ancient times.
This was a great find.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,315
    366
    58
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mystery, Beauty and History Underground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've been to this lovely Church behind the Colosseum, with it's beautiful mosaics before, but did not appreciate it's true import until we took a tour from Through Eternity Tours. Gabriel was our wonderful guide through the amazing maze of history. The memories are very much with me still as I google for more information. Feast for thought.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a beautiful 12th century church,very well restored,but with something extra. Underneath are ruins of an earlier church and also ruins of a 2nd century temple to a Persian bull god. wonderful atmosphere as you walk through the digginds for a small fee.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is situated just after the Colesseum. It is so beautiful and you must visit the 2floors under the basilica . It is fascinating and weel worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Lots of crowds and awe inspiring. Went to Rome to see the sites and wouldnt have missed this one. We took in as part of an organised tour which we did to avoid the queus

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano to your Saves list