We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lancelot to your Saves list
Hotel Lancelot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

In planning our trip to Italy, I wanted to select a hotel near an easily-recognizable landmark, so that we could easily find our way back "home" at the end of the day. It's tough to find a more easily-recognizable landmark than the Colosseum, which is only a few blocks away from the Lancelot. As the Colosseum is directly across from a metro stop, this was an easy transfer from the main train terminal in Rome.

The Lancelot is located along a quiet side street a few blocks southeast of the Colosseum, in a gated and secure lot. The hotel is clean and well-maintained, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast consists of coffee, juice, bread, fruit, pastries and meat. There is a decent Irish pub located on the same street (a nice change of pace from the usual Italian food and wine), and the best restaurant we visited in Italy (i Clementini) is located just a couple streets away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    349
    66
    10
    3
See reviews for
392
467
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our family group of 9 stayed here in October. 2012. The location is perfect. We were able to walk to the most important ancient sites and churches. The hotel had made arrangements for us to be met at the airport and our van and driver were at the gate when we arrived. The hotel staff is so very friendly and will help however they can. We had 2 evening meals at the hotel. The food was very good, and so much fun to visit with the other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Centrally situated, this small hotel offers many advantages for the travellers. Central Rome, which is a big area, can be accessed on foot, bike or using public transport. Many tourists attractions are a block away, great little restaurants, cafes, pizzeria, ice-cream shops etc., and also very important, there is a parking nearby. I visited with clients of mine, a family of 4 on 1st of November for two nights, after being let down by a previous hotel booking. The staff of Lancelot hotel was very friendly and accommodating, it was a near miracle to find a hotel n Central Rome for the Halloween time of the year. Rooms and bathrooms - very clean, beds - very comfortable, breakfast in the hotel is outstanding, and the hotel offers a 3 course meal in the evening for only Euro 25 per person. The only slight downside is the street noise, but that can not be avoided if you want to be a 100m from the Coliseum. The receptions offers handy maps with little symbols of the attractions in Central Rome, so it is impossible to get lost. We had very, very good experience, and now Hotel Lancelot is the one I will be using for my guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Greeted with a bottle of wine (it was my Birthday) this hotel was a great choice. Our room had an attractive private terrace which was a great place to unwind after a busy day sightseeing and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner each night - the food was delicious and the conversation with the other guests was really interesting. Thanks to Mrs. Khan and the rest of the staff for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recommended to us, and we will to anyone else going to Rome. Lovely helpful staff , nothing too much trouble. Even co-ordinated folk for taxi sharing. The dinners were a delight, twice with the owners ( The Khan family ) sharing a table with us, providing a rich fund of stories about Rome and indeed their own story. Breakfast enough to last anyone till the evening, but one has to rest somewhere during the middle of the day so their restaurant recommendations were welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Behind a wrought iron gate on the Cap d'Africa,we found this hotel very welcoming and comfortable. They provided excellent tourist service calling cabs, making restaurant reservations, giving advice for tourist attractions and arranging a car to take us to our ship in Civitavecchia. Their communal tables are pleasant at breakfast, but a really special experience is their dinner which is not only delicious but a fun way to meet other guests and share ideas about the city. The night we ate there, one of the diners was celebrating her birthday and they brought a special dessert for her with candles complete with a music box version of "Happy Birthday." Our balcony and view of the Colosseum were added benefits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Very convenient location, excellent staff and service, good breakfasts and enjoyable optional dinners. The hotel is spotless. The rooms are small compared to North American Hotels, but one expects that in Europe. We would certainly reccommend the LANCELOT to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#217 of 1,269 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#16 of 1,269 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#78 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hearth Hotel
#48 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dharma
Hotel Dharma
#30 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#76 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rome
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#51 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lancelot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.