We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lancelot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancelot
Via Capo d'Africa 47, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #33 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our family group of 9 stayed here in October. 2012. The location is perfect. We were able to walk to the most important ancient sites and churches. The hotel had made arrangements for us to be met at the airport and our van and driver were at the gate when we arrived. The hotel staff is so very friendly and will help however they can. We had 2 evening meals at the hotel. The food was very good, and so much fun to visit with the other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    294
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
306
367
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Centrally situated, this small hotel offers many advantages for the travellers. Central Rome, which is a big area, can be accessed on foot, bike or using public transport. Many tourists attractions are a block away, great little restaurants, cafes, pizzeria, ice-cream shops etc., and also very important, there is a parking nearby. I visited with clients of mine, a family of 4 on 1st of November for two nights, after being let down by a previous hotel booking. The staff of Lancelot hotel was very friendly and accommodating, it was a near miracle to find a hotel n Central Rome for the Halloween time of the year. Rooms and bathrooms - very clean, beds - very comfortable, breakfast in the hotel is outstanding, and the hotel offers a 3 course meal in the evening for only Euro 25 per person. The only slight downside is the street noise, but that can not be avoided if you want to be a 100m from the Coliseum. The receptions offers handy maps with little symbols of the attractions in Central Rome, so it is impossible to get lost. We had very, very good experience, and now Hotel Lancelot is the one I will be using for my guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Greeted with a bottle of wine (it was my Birthday) this hotel was a great choice. Our room had an attractive private terrace which was a great place to unwind after a busy day sightseeing and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner each night - the food was delicious and the conversation with the other guests was really interesting. Thanks to Mrs. Khan and the rest of the staff for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recommended to us, and we will to anyone else going to Rome. Lovely helpful staff , nothing too much trouble. Even co-ordinated folk for taxi sharing. The dinners were a delight, twice with the owners ( The Khan family ) sharing a table with us, providing a rich fund of stories about Rome and indeed their own story. Breakfast enough to last anyone till the evening, but one has to rest somewhere during the middle of the day so their restaurant recommendations were welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Behind a wrought iron gate on the Cap d'Africa,we found this hotel very welcoming and comfortable. They provided excellent tourist service calling cabs, making restaurant reservations, giving advice for tourist attractions and arranging a car to take us to our ship in Civitavecchia. Their communal tables are pleasant at breakfast, but a really special experience is their dinner which is not only delicious but a fun way to meet other guests and share ideas about the city. The night we ate there, one of the diners was celebrating her birthday and they brought a special dessert for her with candles complete with a music box version of "Happy Birthday." Our balcony and view of the Colosseum were added benefits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Very convenient location, excellent staff and service, good breakfasts and enjoyable optional dinners. The hotel is spotless. The rooms are small compared to North American Hotels, but one expects that in Europe. We would certainly reccommend the LANCELOT to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very friendly an helpful staff, more thn adequate continental breakast, launddry services available, shower and some tubs, Mrs, Kahn was marvelously helpful. Walk to restaurants andshops and colosseum. Very nice bar and gdreat bartender. Clean with really comfortable beds.

Room Tip: you have to request either a tub or a shower. an if you need to leave early for a flight, will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lancelot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.