We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm staff and super hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Britannia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Britannia to your Saves list
Hotel Britannia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #93 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Lovely warm staff and super hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had HEARED tons of negative things about Rome, and how we had to be careful of the people there etc but all the staff at hotel Britannia managed to change our pre conceived notions. They were warm, friendly and completely honest with us. They went over and above their call of duty suggesting really good places to eat, what to do for the rest of out trip to Italy and they even helped us get last minute bookings for a Segway tour we loved. They immediately understood our likes, dislikes and helped us choose the right places for us to visit. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good and no matter how late or how early you visit the reception you will always be treated with a warm friendly smile and great service. We loved all the staff they make you feel comfortable and safe. We were on our honeymoon and they made our stay really memorable. Mr Rossi and his team run a fantastic, warm and genuinely friendly hotel. I would definitely return and stay at this hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    246
    45
    22
    14
See reviews for
148
418
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was our third stay at the Hotel Britannia in Rome. The rooms are small but well appointed, the breakfast is the best in town, and the staff is absolutely fantastic! Also, we scheduled a private tour of the Forum directly through the Hotel and were extremely pleased with our guide, Fabio, and the price charged. We will be back!

Room Tip: My favorite room are the Superior Rooms with a Terrace. Just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booking a room in Rome can be intimidating. There is no shortage of choices but sorting through the options can be time consuming and comparisons unreliable. Let me help.
We are experienced travelers; in fact, my wife owned a travel agency for years. Within reason, we can afford to stay where we choose but we recognize and appreciate good value. We will stay at the Britannia again and recommend it to our friends.
There is no hotel in Rome that is close to everything you want to see. The Britannia is comfortable walking distance to many sights and a short, inexpensive cab or metro ride to others. The hotel is one block off a main artery on a quiet side street. There are a number of good dining options within an easy walk.
With the assistance of GPS, driving into Rome is not the life threatening experience it once seemed to be, but parking is a challenge. THEY HAVE PARKING, a few feet from the front door! It is limited but, we arranged for it at the time of our reservation, and there was no additional charge, which represented a substantial savings compared to many other accommodations.
Our room was a little on the small side but designed with careful attention to functionality and very well finished in a traditional style in keeping with the history of the building as a small palace.
The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. If you have researched tour bookings and attraction tickets on line, you are probably bewildered by the assortment of options and claims. Not to worry, the concierge, Simona, will sort it all out and make sure you get the best combination of cost and benefit.
Breakfast is included. It is beautifully presented, fresh and offers a wide variety of choices. The mini bar in your room has a selection of complimentary beverages and there is a small but well stocked bar just off the lobby.
The price we paid for our stay at the Britannia was surprisingly competitive, especially in view of the complimentary features and excellent service and, as I said, we appreciate good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Britannia for a few nights - it was a great base for or stay in Rome and I'd recommend it for anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel that offers friendly service, a good breakfast and a good location.

Service - I found the service excellent. Very friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble.

Location - We easily walked to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. We walked back from the Colosseum - but since we'd been walking all day it felt like a longer walk. There's a Metro stop a 2 minute walk from the hotel so getting to places further afield such as Vatican City was still straight forward and we didn't use taxis. Using Trip Advisor we found good restaurants local to the hotel to eat at each evening.

Breakfast - Fresh, tasty, lots of choice. Good breakfast!

Rooms - Typical of European hotel rooms - ours wasn't the biggest, the bed wasn't the most comfortable - but it was perfectly adequate, it was clean and we slept well. The complementary mini-bar was a nice touch. We didn't go to Rome to spend time in our hotel room.

Overall we were really happy with the hotel - I'd recommend it to friends (and have already) and would certainly choose to stay here again on a return visit to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife, 5 month old daughter and I stayed here on our weekend in Rome. We got in very late - about 11pm, and were met on the curb by the Valet, who helped us carry in our things even though he was done working and was heading home. They had our room ready, as well as a baby cot for our daughter so we were able to get settled right away. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable, but the whole hotel has the elegant feel to it so I think its the look they are going for. Continental breakfast was quite good, all of the servers and staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. It is in a great location - within 5 min walk to the metro and 15-20 min walk to other main tourist destinations. We would be happy to stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Sean B,
Hotel Britannia is a small Family House hosting with quality and we are proud we are chosen by couples, single travellers or families: everyone is welcome in a warm and elegant ambiance, where each Guest if part of the Family and whatever we can do to help, to assist, to advice we do, even if we took off our uniforms already. Thank you for appreciating.
Thank you also for praising the comfort in our rooms, the Hotel is between classic and liberty style, this could make it look "old" to some but it is not and many rooms have been renovated recently, all rooms offer modern outfitting, our breakfast if very rich and high in quality and quantity, it represents the perfect meal to start our Guests' long days to discover the beauty of Rome, right outside our door.
If you ever come to Rome again, please allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back and please contact us for direct booking at the best rates.
Warm regards,
Simona Rongione - Guest Relations, Hotel Britannia - Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best hotel in Rome.
Great beeakfast, great staff, room really captures the essence of Rome.
We had a lovely two nights here.
A great way to finish our 10 day trip.
We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much, yael r.
We are a small Family hotel in a central position offering quiet situation and the beauties of Rome outside the door. Inside, an intimate atmosphere boosted by the Staff devotion, the elegant decors in our rooms, top services, amenities, rich gourmet breakfast.
We thank you for rewarding Hotel Britannia: to you and to anybody coming after your recommendations, we suggest to browse our website to find the best rates or contact us directly to detect them together.
With our Warmest Regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care.
Hotel Britannia Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

When looking for a hotel, I always value 4 things : a good breakfast, a spacious room with a good bed, no nonsense service and a good location for whatever the reason is I'm staying there. This scores good to very good on 3 of these criteria.
The breakfast is not as in the big hotel groups but is definitely above average according to Italian standards. Warm stuff : eggs, bacon and tomatoes. There is fresh fruit and a reasonable choice of meat (salami, ham, chicken, ...). Different sorts of bread, (Industriol) yoghurt, different kinds of cereals and some rolls for the sweet tooth.
The room I got (106) was rather small but the bed was comfortable. From the map of the rooms, I deducted that most of the other rooms are somewhat larger so maybe check if yoy have the xx6 (I assume the layout is similar at the other levels) room and change if you have the option.
The service was very friendly and most, including the content of the mini-bar is complementary. Also the reservation experience (through booking.com) was impeccable. The hotel responded privately with some extra information and taxi service from the airport (50 EUR or 70 when in the evening - this is the standard fee).
Location is convenient. Within walking distance of the Trevi Fountain, Piazza navona, Colloseum, .. We even walked up to the Vatican.
If you are looking for a restaurant in the neighbourhood, I can recommend Moma (see one of my other reviews here).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Marc V,
We wish to thank you for taking the time to write your very good feedback and for rewarding our strong points, breakfast above the average with very fresh food (bread also, it comes from a local bakery every day), Guest-Oriented service and very comfortable rooms.
Hotel Britannia is a small Famliry reality in an old small palace turned into Hotel, so what you see today is the result of a reconversion architecture, offering the advantage of very individual, peculiar areas: we acknowledge our rooms are not big (ranging anyway from regular classic rooms to larger superior witho or without terrace up to our Junior Suite) but welcome you in a finely decorated ambiance, clean, fully equipped -as you confirm, thank you- and each of them comes complete with a comfortable bathroom.
We think that a Guest is Guest from the moment he contacts us for the first time of for any questions after booking and before his arrival, so we are happy ro help with any requests and the private airport pick-up and/or transfer back to the airport are a 24 hours available option.
the rest lays outside the door: the beauties of Rome at your fingertips.
Thank you for using your feedback to help more travellers with sugestions.
In the event you ever come to Rome again please contact us for direct booking under special conditions or browse our website searching the best available offers.
Best regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care - Hotel Britannia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannia

Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Britannia 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, Hotel Britannia welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area.Friendly and caring Staff, cozy and quiet ambience, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Britannia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.