We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Britannia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Britannia to your Saves list
Hotel Britannia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 night stay here last week. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice though we booked one with a balcony and this was a waste of money because there was no view. The room itself was very clean and the bathroom was modern. Breakfast was wonderful with many choices. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    261
    46
    23
    14
See reviews for
161
450
19
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, June 8-12. We had reserved a room with a balcony which was an excellent choice. The rooms are small but the balcony doubled the living space. Our room was on the top floor and had been recently renovated. The bathroom was small but with all modern amenities. The entire staff were very nice. The breakfast was also very good and offered a wide variety of options.
The location is ideal and we did almost everything by foot. The subway is a close 5 minute walk if needed. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Top floor with the balcony. The rooms have been renovated recently and the balcony adds to the livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear darthmom2,
we are happy you enjoyed so much and thank you for sharing your impressions with more travellers. you had a beautiful terrace, all our rooms are nice and comfortable but superior rooms with private balcony are ideal to enjoy the sweet west wind on summer evenings while drinking ice beverages from free minibar..
Please, come back..

Thank you.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was marked from the outset by the friendly and exceptionally helpful welcome we were given. This hotel is a welcome break away from the many corporate faceless hotels you could chose from, it was perfectly Italian, quiet and friendly. The room was excellent with all the small details, that make the difference, taken care of. Breakfast was great too! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jill H,
We love what you write about the "corporate faceless hotels" and the different welcome you felt when entering the Britannia..
Sometimes our Guests write sentences that couldn't say better what we try to do.
We will be happy to welcome you back.

Thank you.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solnechnogorsk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Britannia is a lovely hotel and the front desk staff was very friendly and attentive. Room was beautiful and very clean with lots of light. Breakfast is included in the price and is good. The location is great for getting on and off major throughways without being right next to all the noise. Will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel defines itself as "boutique hotel." This is a "nice" word not to say small hotel with poor service, rooms are very small and not luxurious, not comfortable, poor service and not very nice people.
We booked superior room and asked for a balcony. They took on the porch addition of 200 euros for 5 nights. When we arrived we saw a very very small room in unacceptable way and we could not move in the room. We asked to move to another room. We were put in a room without a balcony, ground floor with a window to the parking lot of the hotel. We asked for a reduction in price because of the changing- room and then the hotel manager decided to reduce only 50 euros for it no balcony. The addition was 200 euros - the reduction - 50 euros. Hotel manager just rude behavior bordering a real fraud. You should not get close to this hotel. There is no better word to say on this "hotel" - the opposite.
Pictures do not reflect the real situation. You should not fall into the trap.

BEWARE !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Direttore at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
jacob g,
on your arrival you had exactly what you booked, a superior room with terrace at Hotel Britannia: you entered your room and suddenly reacted with great annoyance asking for a different one. We advised you we were fully booked and that one only change was possible and you would have lost your terrace in that change but you chose to move and we moved you to a superior room but without terrace. In the next FIVE days we looked after you -as we do with all our Guests- and you looked quiet, you smiled and used to answer your were fine when approached every day.
Upon your check-out, when receiving your bill, we saw a sudden and unexpected about-face and we realised it was due to your request to obtain a discount of €285 (you calculated on your own): maybe this would have made your stay "acceptable"? Why? During your stay you never objected to anything but, curious, you demanded a reduction threatening us to edit a very bad review on Tripadvisor: we did not accept your ransom because any reduction was definitively unmotivated and you wrote your very bad feedback..
Britannia' s quality is proved by hundreds of previous reviews, allowing us to be proud of the service we offer, of what we do.
Your negative feedback clearly shows your poor gesture leading only to saving money: if you are a conscious and skilled traveller (as you defined yourself in our last debate) you should take care of what hotel you are booking and, anyway, if you realize you are in the wrong hotel, you can pay what due and you are free to go. You chose to stay..
We are really sorry.. we wouldn't be happy to welcome again such an artful person.
Luigino Rossi, Manager at Hotel Britannia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited the Britannia at the beginning of June. This property is comfortable and well appointed. We were greeted by a young lady by the name of Simone and quickly escorted to our room. The room is spaciousand well appointed, bathroom updated, the breakfast was plentiful and had all the options you would expect. Simone was very knoweldgeable and willing to provide assistance when asked. All the staff we met were very friendly and always smiling. Great way to start your day or say good night. You could walk from the train station, however we took a cab. The price varied from 20Eu to 8 Eu depending if we had our luggage. It is easy to rent a car at the train station if you are interested. We also hired Limo In Rome for a day tour. This was the best decision. We wanted to see as much as possible in a day but at our pace. Our driver picked us up at the hotel at 9am and returned us at 6pm. We missed nothing and thoroughly enjoyed the knowledge of our driver Steven.
I would definitely recommend the Britannia Hotel to anyone looking for a warm welcoming, comfortable hotel with fabulous staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kim L,
We are proud of your feedback and happy you had such a beautiful time in Rome. Thank you for taking the time to write and for appreciating.
It would be great to see you back.

Best and warm regards,
Simona Rongione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You won't regret staying here - it's not cheap but then you get what you pay for, right? (And as I always say to justify travel expenses - how often are you here?) It's close to the train station and yet also within easy walking distance to many of the famous sites - the Colosseum, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. The staff are exceptional, the breakfasts are first rate. We splurged a bit for a room with a terrace and had a couple of wonderful picnic dinners. We had a bit of a misunderstanding about one of their services and they were very prompt in addressing it. It's just so obvious that they care about their business - happy customers will return and even better, will recommend them. And that is what I am doing now. I would not hesitate to stay here if I return to Rome some day.

Room Tip: At the right time of year, a room with a terrace is great. Justify the expense by having a picnic di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you, Dear CinderelleElkay.
It's true, happy customers come back but taking care of them is not exactly our business.. it is our way.
Thank you again, we'll be happy to welcome you back and to welcome friends or relatives coming on your recommendation.
Best regards.

Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannia

Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Britannia 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, Hotel Britannia welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area.Friendly and caring Staff, cozy and quiet ambience, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Britannia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.