We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mclaren, 2 mature adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Britannia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Britannia to your Saves list
Hotel Britannia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #93 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mclaren, 2 mature adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Firstly I must comment on the very accommodating, efficient, helpful, happy staff, they all went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. We were greeted every morning with smiles.
The hotel itself is small and elegant with an amazing breakfast. Hotel close to colosseum, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, only about a 20min walk and just a local 10min bus ride to the Vatican. Shopping at end of street in via nationale with loads of moderately priced restaurants.. If I had to be picky I'd suggest an investment in some soft downy pillows, other than that , room was elegant, very clean and comfy. We will definitely recommend to our friends and hope it will be enjoyed by rhem as much by us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    246
    45
    22
    14
See reviews for
148
418
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent 4 nights 10/11-10/15 at the hotel. Our arrival was amazing, this has to have been the friendliest reception I have ever received at a hotel in a large city. Marco welcomed us with a big smile and Simona provided refreshment and orientation to the city. Mario worked in the evenings (we called him Pope Mario) since he seemed to know everything about Rome. The rooms were clean and our bathroom was new. AC worked flawlessly (actually at times a little too cold) and the housekeeping was top notch. The breakfast was excellent and the value was incredible. I would/will stay here when next in Rome. This was a real find and we are so very pleased we sayed at this conveniently located hotel. Always felt safe and welcome. The free beverages in the mini fridge were a welcome touch, but my absolute favorite is the rubber duck which is one of my prized souvenirs from Rome - he is in my shower at home and he reminds me of the wonderful experience at Hotel Britannia. The real distinguishing factor here was the incredible hospitality exhibited by all staff members - it appeared natural and not the result of some recent training program.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bobotash,
we had so much fun in reading your feedback about Pope Mario (yes, he knows everything..) and thank you for rewarding the whole Staff. We really appreciate your impression about our way felt as natural and not a fake..
We will be happy to welcome you back, thank you from us all.. also from the small Brit ducklet..
Best regards.

Simona Rongione
Hospitality Service Manager, Hotel Britannia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent weeks of endless searching to find a hotel in Rome that we thought would satisfy our needs for a four night stay following a cruise to the Holy Land. We were all set with a reservation at a hotel recommended by Rick Steves when we had a change of mind following a casual conversation at work with someone that has extended family near Rome and who was very familiar with the city. We were told that Hotel Britannia was the hotel they chose for any company that comes to visit from America. We changed our reservation immediately.

How fortunate it turned out to be! From the moment we stepped inside, we saw a clean, well cared for boutique hotel. The check in was flawless thanks to Marco and Simona. Marcos was welcoming and comical while Simona greeted us with drinks and local tips on where to eat and tour the city. Both individuals were professional and very accommodating, speaking perfect English.

We arrived around 10AM and had to wait an hour for our room but that was not a problem as it gave us time to do a quick exploration of the surrounding area. Location! Location! Location!
The hotel is a very short half block to a major street full of shopping, banks and restaurants. The bus stops (1.5 euro per ride or day pass for 6 euros purchased at news stand at top of street) are plentiful and the Metro stop was just a few hundred yards away. Termini was a 5 minute walk.

Our room was clean and spacious from previous European experiences. The bathroom (Room 306) was only six months old and had comfortable, clean features. The shower was wonderful but just the tiniest adjustment of the handle proved the difference between very hot and very cold water. We got much better adjusting the temperature when using the alternative hand wand.

The evening clerk Mario gave wonderful dinner restaurant suggestions for which we dubbed him, Pope Mario. The breakfasts served were feasts! Breads, cereals, meats, fruit, juices, eggs, yogurts and much more. What a treat and an excellent way to start your day as a busy tourist!

I can honestly say that the Hotel Britannia exceeded our expectations and I would not hesitate for one second to visit them again. The staff made the difference. Customer service was better than most five star hotels. Thank you Marco, Mario, Simona and the bellman Lee for an extraordinary stay in Rome.

One last thing, if desired, paying your hotel in cash will save you 10%....it sure helped our travel budget.

Room Tip: all rooms seems nice but with a very small elevator (max 2 people) the third floor in the back was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were tired when we got there and Simona (the hospitality service manager) ushered us into the lounge for cappuccino and brought us a map with a route so we could tour for the afternoon. The following day she sketched out an interesting day (on the map) and arranged fro a tour guide the the third day - all of which allowed us to see a great deal in a very short time. Mario, the night manager, gave us fabulous recommendations for restaurants within walking distance and told us to say "Mario sent us". As a result we got excellent service and had great meals and complimentary liqueurs. Breakfasts were fabulous (diverse hot food and lovely breads and pastries along with typical continental breakfast and fantastic coffee! The room was very small but beds comfortable and well appointed. Location was perfect - walking distance from many points of interest and on a main bus line. - Would highly recommend to adults who wanted access to the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liepaja, Latvia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My daughter and I spent five wonderful days in Rome end of September. Hotel Britannia has a great atmosphere. We chose the hotel based on booking reviews and were right. I have visited Rome three times and the Hotel Britannia was the best hotel I have ever stayed. Hotel is ideally located - close to Termini station and within walking distance of the major sights in Rome. Staff were very professional and responsive. Room was always cleaned and up to standarts. We were well greeted and looked after. Breakfast was fantastic - all fresh and very tasty. Air conditioner worked well, as a bonus was a free minibar. We left Rome in a great mood, mostly thanks to Hotel Britannia. We are planning to return to Rome at Christmas time and, if it will be possible, we will stay at Hotel Britannia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In September, my husband and I and another couple had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful, small hotel in Rome. It was such a pleasant experience in all aspects. Our room was a splurge because I believe it was one of their best. It had a sitting room and a patio, a lovely bathroom with big tub, and was very quiet (room403). Our friends had a regular room and it was very comfortable. There was a delicious breakfast to get us going every morning, with many selections of food. The location is so convenient (walking distance) to many of the major tourist sites in Rome. You just need a map and you are good to go. I have to say that the best part of this wonderful hotel is their staff. Simona Rongione was a wealth of information and always greeted us with a smile and kind word. She was so helpful with any questions that we had, even to getting a pesky computer to work!! I had a friend when I left Rome! I will always recommend the Britannia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We picked Hotel Britannia based on other travellers reviews. At first we were a bit concerned when our taxi driver from the airport didn't know where the hotel was, but our concerns were quickly set aside when we walked into the lobby. The pleasant greetings we received from the Gentlemen by the door gave us both the impression that we were going to enjoy our stay at the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located (once you get a grasp of where you are) when it came to visiting the local attractions and sights, as everything is within walking distance. The room decor was charming and the room itself was very clean. Breakfast was the highlight of the mornings, not because the selection was outstanding, could actually be a little wider, but it was the staff that made it worth it all, especially the younger (probably mid twenties) waiter. We did have one incident, that we both laugh about now, where one of the staff members walked into the room while we were getting ready for our day, I think he was more embarrassed than we were. Overall we recommend the hotel as a nice place to stay if you are doing a few days in room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannia

Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Britannia 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, Hotel Britannia welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area.Friendly and caring Staff, cozy and quiet ambience, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Britannia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.