We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locarno Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Locarno Rome to your Saves list
Hotel Locarno Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Penna, 22, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #518 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location but outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I didn't hate my stay at Hotel Locarno but I didn't love it either. The hotel lobby/building/bar/eating area are lovely - old world charm feel with all the touches. The staff were nice but not overly friendly. The breakfast was really nice - lots of options and good service. Eating in the courtyard was a treat that made the stay better.

My issue was with the rooms - they are very outdated and very small. There was barely any light in the room which made it very difficult to do anything. The bed felt like a university room bed - not all that comfortable. The TV was extremely outdated - not that I watched any. There was no place to put my luggage so I resorted to balancing my carry-on on a chair. The side table was old and worn as were the fixtures in the room.

The bathroom was very outdated and in need of some TLC. The tap leaked the entire time I was there - there was just no way to stop it. The shower was very small and turning around or moving around was a challenge. While it wasn't a huge issue - I did notice a lot of ants about the room and I don't think it was bc the rooms were dirty.

One of my biggest issues was the noise level - if you are a light sleeper I'd reconsider or ask for a room that doesn't face the street as mine did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    206
    83
    79
    57
See reviews for
87
212
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in March. The hotel is a short walk from the Vatican and convenient for some of the other major attractions, Piazza Novena, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon etc. The room we stayed in was quite small and dark with the bathroom being compact -but as we were out most of the time we did not mind. All areas of the hotel were spotlesssly clean. Breakfast was delicious with a plentiful selection of food on offer. Afternoon tea was a revelation and the hotel has a wide choice of teas on offer, including their own blend. Every member of staff we came into contact with was unfailingly polite and friendly and knew their jobs very well. We would certainly consider staying here again if we ever return to Rome

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay here. Great bar, and good location to visit the most of Rome's attractions. Hotel is situated on a quiet street, but with several good restaurants in the neighborhood. Very reasonable prices for the location....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Locarno for a week. The location off the Popolo is excellent. The prices are quite reasonable.The rooms are uneven in quality so ask to see a few before you check in. We ended up with a very nice room,The breakfast which is included is good enough with a nice variety of offerings. It is served inside and out in a courtyard, These same rooms turn into a lively bar frequented by elegant Romans in the evening so it makes for great people watching.

Room Tip: we had room 403, very nice, large, two windows with soundproof glass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is on a quiet side street and we stayed on the building across the main hotel. It was charming to stay in the restored old mansion, for we had read some reviews that the main buildign was noisy at night. We just had to cross the street to go have breakfast and enjoy our evening cocktails with the city folks coming there after work.
The patio was so charming with an old fountain, in the evenings they had electric heaters to warm the guests.
The hotel personnel was more than happy to guide us to where to go and see. This hotel will be on my list next time we go to Rome because we walked everywhere, even to the Vatican.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We only popped in for an afternoon drink in their courtyard bar, but it was an excellent experience. Lovely covered outdoor terrace bar with patio heaters and a really cool vibe to it.

The staff were friendly and if we're back in Rome then we would definitely check out staying here as the hotel looked amazing and in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite charming. The garden area is lovely and the breakfast buffet was decent. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but not claustrophobic. The bathroom, however, is another story.. The shower is literally about four square feet. I had no room to bend down and shave my legs or to bend down for the soap (there is no shelf). There is no room to get out of the way of the water to lather up. To get in, you have to turn your body sideways. I dreaded taking a shower every morning. Other than that, the stay was acceptable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Locarno Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locarno Rome

Address: Via della Penna, 22, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locarno Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel back in time to the 1920s!Near the splendid Piazza del Popolo, at the very heart of Rome, is a romantic and intimate guesthouse sought by actors, directors, writers, producers and musicians. Its two buildings are adjoined by an open garden where in spring and summer guests can take their breakfast and lunch or just an excellent aperitif. Enjoy relax and atmosphere in our bedrooms and suites strictly antique but also featuring modern facilities.Hotel Locarno: we’ll make you feel welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Locarno Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locarno Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Locarno Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.