We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Food, Humorous Wait Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of i Fratelli

i Fratelli
Via degli Umbri, 14, 00185 Rome, Italy (Tiburtino)
+39-06-4469856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #798 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tiburtino
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food, Humorous Wait Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Found this place on Tripadvisor's City app, within walking distance of our hotel by the Piazza Portamaggiore (in Tiburtina)---about a 25 minute walk. The neighborhood is a bit out of the way, and having to walk under the train tracks (through tunnels both ways) is sketchy at night, but there were always plenty of people out. We had a large group and did not worry, but I wouldn't walk alone.

We had had several good pizzas by the time we came. Most of us ordered pasta. The portions were very large (several people did not finish) and everything was delicious. For appetizers we had fried calamari (perfect), steamed mussels (fresh), and bruschetta (so so---balsamic vinegar and olive oil were just okay). Many of the pasta dishes had freshly made noodles. The pasta with clams was voted the best of all. The grilled octopus dish was very salty and a little greasy. The one person who ordered a pizza loved it as well--- wood fired pizza, chewy and flavorful, perfectly done.

The waiters were very patient with us, especially with the kids. They filled our water promptly on asking. We were seated in the basement where there was air-conditioning. We came at 7 PM and left around 9 PM; it looked like the place was getting busy by that time. Mostly locals, very few tourists. Many other restaurants were busy in the neighborhood as well; the competition and the out-of-way location means it must be good to survive. It is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    184
    40
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Where the Italians go to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went to visit Rome for a weekend expecting to be trapped in tourist restaurants with average food, but fortunately my friend from Rome introduced us one night to this unbelievable restaurant, the Pizza was the best I ever had and I cant wait to go back for more. My lasting memories of Rome are the Collusium and this restaurant. I knew I was in a good place when everyone around us were speaking Italian. Highly Recommended!!. Enjoy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect pizza, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found this place on Tripadvisor, when looking for restaurants within walking distance of our hotel in San Lorenzo (not the most attractive part of town but full of good, normal people), and decided it was worth a punt. We were very glad we did. The staff were supremely friendly and very helpful, in spite of our poor Italian and meagre budget. As for the food, we heartily enjoyed a deliciously authentic dinner of bruschetta, pizza and torte, all of which we shared with a drink for less than €20 (it being a local restaurant, rather than a tourist-trap, there was no cover charge).

In short, so delighted were we with our experience that we visited again the following evening (our last in Rome) and were welcomed back like long-lost friends. I would recommend this excellent establishment a hundred times over, and so too, I warrant, would all the local patrons who frequent it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The seafood was burned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The seafood mix was burned, and the personell was moving us from one table to another to fit more visitors.

No good food, no good service,
Not recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Steak made to perfection! Full of locals so it must be good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We found this restaurant on our last night and wished we had found it sooner. It looked quiet upon entry but we were taken to be seated out the back and it was chocca's with locals feasting on what was beautiful food. There was no attempt to add "extra's" which is a common trap for tourists in Italy and the service was exceptional. I had what may have been the best steak of my Italian experience, cooked rare, topped with peppers and parmesan and it was done to perfection. Not a drop of blood and pink throughout to give a soft almost buttery texture. The pizza menu is huge with something for everyone and a great wine list.
The food was extremely good value for money and we will return again. Great outdoor seating if you get a nice night. A step out of the main district you will find restaurants around San Lorenzo much more enjoyable, better service and better value for money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed i Fratelli also viewed

 

Been to i Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage i Fratelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.