We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lux Appartamenti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lux Appartamenti to your Saves list
Lux Appartamenti
Via Casilina 3U, 00182 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Adelaide
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nicely appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this apartment for the self catering features and indeed, the kitchen is very well equipped. However, you need to be aware that this is a total holiday home booking so nothing is provided apart from linen and towels. There is a dishwasher but no dishwasher capsules; there is a washing machine but no washing powder; there are no tea towels etc. The wi-fi is good although it drops out if not used for a little while. Personally, we feel that people would be happy to pay a touch extra for a few of the conveniences - a small package of dishwasher/washing blocks etc. The basic design is terrific though - the bathroom large and the whole apartment allows for entertaining guests.

Room Tip: Not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Recently spent 8 night in the Lux apartments in Rome (Oct.9 - 18) and i can't say enough positive things about it.
From our arrival at FCO airport, with our pre-arranged limo driver awaiting our arrival, he wisked us off to the apartment in a new Mercedes Benz sedan!
The greeting at the apartment primarily by Gulia was very informative and welcoming.
She spent the time going over maps, things to see, explaination on how to use applliances etc.
She also advised us of good restaurants nearby and how to obtain our Metro pass for the week.
Overall, our flat (13) was exactly what we wanted. It viewed the back of the property with nice plants and greenery. It was quiet as well. The motorized window shades help reduce the street noise as well as darkening the room!
Some reviewers were a bit put off by the distance from the city center but I timed it and from the time we stepped onto the sidewalk, walked to the Manzoni Metro station, rode the train to the Spanish Steps, 21 minutes total of time elapsed.
Actually, it was nice not being in the city center as it is crowded and loud!
We also too a train from Termini to Santa Marinella and spent a day in the small seaside town capped off with a nice meal. Two tickets return were just over 18 Euros TOTAL. Train runs twice an hour.
In closing, thanks to the Lux staff for a great vacation rental. I received everything I expected to and would not hesitate recommending this place to friends or family.

Room Tip: Room 13 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We've stayed with Lux 4 nights at the end of October this year. The location may seem a little "off" on the map however the apposite has been proven with a bus stop 20 meters from the entrance, a tram stop at 100 meters and a subway 10minutes away by foot you will be at city center in no-time.
There are also restaurants, shops and bars near the appartment.
The 4 nights we stayed were really good, comfort, privacy, value for money and a friendly and helpful staff really made this stay an excellent one.
The "basilica san giovanni" is near the subway stop, we bought a "Omnia pass" here which made it possible to travel with every sort of public transport, a hop-on and hop-off bus that passes all the major must see locations and gives you acces to the vatican with guide that passes all the lines for 3 full days.

from our point of view this facility is just outside of city centre but puts you in the heart of the action since everything is available just around the corner.

Regards,

Linda and Gijs.

Room Tip: Rooms at near the reception have a better WiFi connection, this can come in handy if you want to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2014. Apartment was well appointed with kitchen, dining table and large living area. There was two sofa beds there for the kids and we stayed in the bedroom. We were at the back of the building so it was quiet and dark with the roller shutters. WiFi did work for us. Had to ask for a toaster but otherwise it all works when you are there. You cant put the dishwasher or washing machine on and leave the apartment. The apartment is located a fair way out of the city centre. We did catch the bus and tram but as others have said they were very crowded. No nice restaurants nearby and the supermarkets were not the best. Staff were great and very helpful. Shower is tiny and was the worse thing about our stay. The hotel organised a car for the airport and it was great. Instructions to get the apartment were excellent and very useful. Over all we enjoyed out stay and it was value for money but we would stay closer into the heart of the city if we didnt need an apartment.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We traveled to Rome in September 2014. The booking was easy, They only take partial payment while booking, the rest is to be paid on arrival in Rome as cash.

Pros :
Spacious clean apartment with fully equipped kitchen
Comfortable queen size bed and ample furniture in the living room.
Washer dryer and safe in the apartment.
Location a bit away from city center but easily accessible to Rome termini via bus 105 with bus stop located just beside the apartment. Friendly staff

Things to be aware of :
The shower is really tiny, a person more than 200 lbs will not fit.
We had no wi-fi due to faulty router, make sure internet work at check in or change the room.
our wi-fi was never fixed during the stay.
There is a 20 euro additional charge for check in on Sunday.
Only a couple restaurants in the vicinity.
area gets deserted after 9 pm but still safe.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The apartment was good, spacious and clean. Receptionist was helpful, however the Lux is situated a fair way out of town. Yes, it's only a bus or tram ride into the city, but usually they are so packed it makes for a very uncomfortable trip, especially at night.
Wifi was weak, actually had to go outside the room to get a signal. Next time I would stay closer to city.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Great apartment style hotel.Clean,modern close to the city but the best part is Maria and her staff. Very helpful and knowledgeable .We were stuck in another country due to airplane problems and Maria was so helpful and supportive while we tried to get to Rome

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lux Appartamenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Appartamenti

Address: Via Casilina 3U, 00182 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux Appartamenti is a first class property, centrally located in Rome, just steps from Porta Maggiore, not far from Termini Station, in an area full of shops, bars and restaurants. Many public transport links nearby (bus, trams, subway) allow easy access to Rome's tourist attractions. Lux Apartments is the perfect solution for long term business trips or tourist city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lux Appartamenti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Appartamenti Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lux Appartamenti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.