We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pantheon

Pantheon
Piazza della Rotonda, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
0039 06 68300230
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$41*
and up
Classical Rome City Tour
Ranked #2 of 1,486 things to do in Rome
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dedicated to the seven planetary divinities and featuring an interior of gorgeous marble, the Pantheon is one of the most impressive monuments of Augustan Rome.
Austin,tx
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a rite of passage in Rome. It is such a masterpiece of construction. Dome is larger (not higher) than St Peters. However it Washington built 1500 years earlier! Been to Rome four times, always go to Pantheon to wonder at its magnificence.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,976
    5,135
    1,012
    90
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Oldest Standing and Functioning Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Does not look like much from the outside, though the piazza with the same name is a lovely place to visit and enjoy, but Quite a marvel of architecture & design on the inside, unmatched by modern architecture, especially judging the fact that it is an earthquake prone area and the type of old materials used. It is a functioning church, so be mindful when you talk or take pictures inside. Raphael's tomb is there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourock
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Although this is a breathtaking building when you first come upon it, in my ignorance I was in no hurry to enter this place until one day we had spare time and decided a look inside. To think that we might have missed the interior makes me shudder. It must not be missed! My wife and I were overwhelmed by beauty within. A wonderful place to rest and wonder.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

When I walked into the Pantheon the sheer scale of the dome took my breath away although it was hard to get a decent photo of the dome from inside because of the size, so if you can obtain a postcard also. There is no cost to visit the Pantheon although there were quite a few people. Beautiful architecture in side though. Well worth a visit if you are into history. Outside there was a man dressed as a gladiator & you could get your photo taken with him. Not sure what he was charging for this but maybe beware

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Attraction on a Rainy day in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Incredible architecture; there are holes in the marble so the rain or melting snow falling through the open dome can drain away. Awe-inspiring structure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantheon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.