We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pantheon

Pantheon
Piazza della Rotonda, 00186 Rome, Italy
0039 06 68300230
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$294*
and up
Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including...
Ranked #11 of 687 Attractions in Rome
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dedicated to the seven planetary divinities and featuring an interior of gorgeous marble, the Pantheon is one of the most impressive monuments of Augustan Rome.
Austin,tx
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a rite of passage in Rome. It is such a masterpiece of construction. Dome is larger (not higher) than St Peters. However it Washington built 1500 years earlier! Been to Rome four times, always go to Pantheon to wonder at its magnificence.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,748
    4,426
    910
    80
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just stayed in one of the Coffe Shops infront of the Pantheon enjoyed my dinner and the wonderful atmosphere there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Oldest Standing and Functioning Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Does not look like much from the outside, though the piazza with the same name is a lovely place to visit and enjoy, but Quite a marvel of architecture & design on the inside, unmatched by modern architecture, especially judging the fact that it is an earthquake prone area and the type of old materials used. It is a functioning church, so be mindful when you talk or take pictures inside. Raphael's tomb is there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourock
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Although this is a breathtaking building when you first come upon it, in my ignorance I was in no hurry to enter this place until one day we had spare time and decided a look inside. To think that we might have missed the interior makes me shudder. It must not be missed! My wife and I were overwhelmed by beauty within. A wonderful place to rest and wonder.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

When I walked into the Pantheon the sheer scale of the dome took my breath away although it was hard to get a decent photo of the dome from inside because of the size, so if you can obtain a postcard also. There is no cost to visit the Pantheon although there were quite a few people. Beautiful architecture in side though. Well worth a visit if you are into history. Outside there was a man dressed as a gladiator & you could get your photo taken with him. Not sure what he was charging for this but maybe beware

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantheon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.