We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pantheon

Pantheon
Piazza della Rotonda, 00186 Rome, Italy
0039 06 68300230
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #10 of 725 attractions in Rome
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dedicated to the seven planetary divinities and featuring an interior of gorgeous marble, the Pantheon is one of the most impressive monuments of Augustan Rome.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Whatever people say that there is no "must see" in Rome, Pantheon is one of those places. Just to inform you that I am not one of those people "big fan of art". But Pantheon is very old, and within its walls it holds, like most of ancient buildings in Rome, a story that you should read.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,135
    3,611
    751
    61
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senoia, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The heart of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was totally unprepared for the Pantheon. It was jaw-dropping to walk into a building so old, with so much history.
Make sure to walk over to the Tomb of Victor Emmanuel, first king of Italy.
Read up before you sign the book - loyalists want the Savoie family to return to Italy to rule, but I did not sign because the current heir said that maybe Hitler was right.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing to see a nearly 2000 year old site in such great shape!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Felt like I was transported back to ancient rome and unlike other places this one is open late! Def a must visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

should definitely include this in one's trip to Rome. Leaves one wondering how they could have constructed something of such gigantic proportions back in the day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellford, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a magnificient site, right in downtown Rome, with modern buildings all around! We got there at about 6:30pm in the evening in November (it was already dark) but the building was still open. I believe it closes around 7:30pm. This made a nice evening visit.You can see everything in 30 minutes, or an hour if you meander a bit. This is a free site...no charge to go in and walk around, so definitely go take a look. I want to point out that this is a short walk to Hadrian's Temple, which was also nice to see at night (and at no point did we feel unsafe in these areas at night).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantheon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pantheon to your Saves list