We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mom & pop bistro....reasonably priced too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Santi

Ristorante Pizzeria Santi
Via Daniele Manin, 55/57, 00184 Rome, Italy
064820651
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,378 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful mom & pop bistro....reasonably priced too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were greeted at the entrance by a very sweet grandma. Somehow her presence was very comforting, like we were entering the dining room of someones private residence.

The menu is varied, with many choices. I had a plate of steak and potatoes (only $9 euros) and my wife ordered a bowl of homemade vegetable soup ($4 euros) and a combination pizza ($6 euros).

We ended up sharing our plates family style, and "granny" was very helpful with her service (although she needed to bring a younger person --probably the granddaughter-- so we could explain about "medio crudo/sangue" ---as she did not understand the concept of Medium Rare.

Despite the language barrier, we had one of the most pleasant meals of our trip and it cost us only $22 euros (includes tax) for Lunch.

My wife said "This is the best steak I have ever tasted at the price" and I fully agree. The meat tasted like it had just been sliced off the cow.

The soup was outstanding, like something my Jewish grandma used to make!

However, the pizza was probably more in the 3.5 star range. It was better than most pizza in the United States, but on the mediocre range for Italy. Its still worth the money.

Close to Termini station and both Metro lines.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    21
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderfull meal in this small but cousy restaurant. We waited 20 min for a table but it was fine. We will return to taste som of the other good dishes before we return to the cold

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, homemade food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We found this restaurant the last day in Rome, and wish we had noticed it before. Low prices, very good food and the sweetest family who gave us the best service of our visit in Rome. We'll definetily be back the next time we're here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great value comfort food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This restaurant is in an area full of similar-looking restaurants - we chose it initially simply because it looked busy, with Italians eating there as well as foreign tourists. We tried the fixed 3 course menu and the pizza, and were happy with everything we were served - simple, homecooked-style dishes, generous portions, and not-bad house wine. We therefore returned twicce more during our week's stay in the neighbourhood, and although we sampled a nulber of other similarly priced restaurants nearby, this remained our favourite. It is clearly a family-run business and the third time we went there we were welcomed as regulars!
Excellent value for money and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An economic restaurant option in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This restaurant provides tasty, homely style food, which is excellent value. There are a range of pasta dishes alongside pizza, meats and many other traditional foods. The house wine is excellent. On one of my three visits there, I had a pasta dish, dessert and a glass of house wine for dinner at just 15 euros. There is a fixed menu available for lunch, which provides an even cheaper alternative. It can get crowded so be prepared to wait or go early.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Santi also viewed

 
Rome, Lazio
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Santi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.