We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will use Marcelo s house again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline) to your Saves list
Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline)
Via Aurelia, 218, 00168 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,794 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
leicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We will use Marcelo s house again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Fanstastic service, clean, convenient for the metro, vatican and central rome. Good bars and resturants all locally and shops for any supplies.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
30
30
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nanuet
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Domus Aurelia is the best for cleanliness, budget price , extremely helpful staff and lovely surroundings. The capuccino and cornetto served every morning was delicious. We looked forward to starting our day with our breakfast. This place is economical and well organized. If you are looking for a no frills place this is the hotel to stay at. Plus, it's a compliment to The Urseline Sisters who run this place. There's a chapel upstairs.The people (staff) are extremely lovely. There was never a problem. Hotel is near the Vatican. Basic acommodations at a reasonable price. I know because I did a thorough research for myself and my daughter. We wanted a safe, clean and economical place to stay while touring Rome and neighboring towns. Go to Domus Aurelia. They are very welcoming!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have terraces. Any room would suffice. It's clean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location in Vatican City, across the street from the major bus stop. You WILL NEED to ask for a fan even in early October. There is no air-conditioning. The rooms are sparse, but hey, you are not in Rome to stay in a room are you?

Room Tip: I don't know about all the rooms, but mine had no air-conditioning & I had to get a fan. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rive-sud Mtl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We spent 3 days in Rome at this very nice place. You may say it is only 2 stars: but the other 3 are usually because it has a TV, a swimming pool, a spa, a gym and all tose things you never use anyway.
This Hotel is located is a quiet and safe residential area. You can take a bus infront of the Hotel and you can go anywhere between the Vatican and the Victor Emmanuel monument. The bus travels on a street that is a few steps from Place Savona, Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps. So you can visit the most important places for a travel cost of a few Euros a day. We met people that were robbed right in front of their hotel in middle of Rome. The neighborhood where the Hotel is very quiet because it is residential. There is a little store a few minutes away where you can buy Bus tickers, water and sundries. The cost of this hotel is around a 100$ a day. It has a bar, nice external terrace, a TV room and you can get a croissant in the morning. The Vatican is 10 minutes away downhill.
Our room had two beds, private bathroom and a nice balcony.

Room Tip: Clean, safe and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Staff very friendly. Omwned by a religeous order and frequented by seminarians and religeous groups. Front rooms very noisy and they are the only ones with air conditioning. If you are on a budget this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel in summer 2007. It was across the road from a busstop so access to the centre of Rome was easy. Two doors down was a shop to buy bus tickets, stamps and snacks. We ate at a discounted Hotel next door, and one nighttook a bus three stops down the road to an outdoor restaurant for families.The rooms were very clean and quiet. the service was friendly and helpful, with internet access if required and a phone for necessary local calls. The breaksfast available to buy was simple but exactly what we needed with very friendly service. The Hotel patrons were lovely people. Many of our New Zealand friends have stayed here. The price is excellent and we felt safe in the area. We walked to the Vatican, about 15 minutes away. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendly service, excellent prive
  • Disliked — Not a great choice of eating places near
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Clean double for 70 Euro, 10-15 minute walk to the vatican

Room has no TV or Phone.
Breakfast is not included.

Friendly Staff.

Room includes a bathroom with shower

The hotel is located on a street that allows you to walk to the vatican in 10-15 minutes. ( I would guess a taxi ride could be done in under 5 minutes) Bus stops are available , but we walked everywhere.

A subway stop is located just a couple of blocks north of the vatican, and is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. This same area has grocery stores, shops etc... Taxi to the main Train Station was under 20 Euro.

Breakfast is available for a small charge. A small sandwich shop is about 1 minute walk. I suggest you do not go the the Hotel recommended diner next door, 15 euro per person, fixed menu, poor food quality.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Just the basics
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline)

Address: Via Aurelia, 218, 00168 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,794 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline) Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Aurelia (Suore Orsoline), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.