Tricky one this and it's not an easy place to review because there are some good points but also some real drawbacks to a stay at the Suite della Vite Guest House.
On the plus side: the location is fantastic is you want to be in the heart of town, in the middle of the primo shopping area, a couple of minutes from the Spanish Steps, walking distance from a whole host of tourist attractions and with some pretty top notch restaurants on your door step.
Another plus if you are arriving in, or leaving, Rome by train and don't want to take the metro then the taxi fare is only 10€. This was great for us as we were laden down with luggage to see us through our Italian tour.
My final big plus would be the very friendly staff in Mario's restaurant next door which is where you will check in & take your breakfast from 9.30 each morning (you can get coffee and pastries brought to your room if you need an earlier start). The breakfast itself only warrants an ok. If you want something cooked you can have an omelette, which was very tasty with prosciutto and mozerrellla but not something you would want every morning, or scrambled eggs if you ask (no menu or help yourself buffet here). Otherwise it's yoghurt, bread, jam, cake and possibly some cheese - plentiful, but would have been good to have cereals and some fruit. Nice coffee and freshly-squeezed orange juice though.
The room itself should have been a real plus point as it was pretty big with a nice sofa, a narrow lounge area, a big bathroom, and the all-important plentiful storage space. What let it down was the fact was that it had seen better days and there was a general lack of attention to detail. I'm not saying that it was in anyway shabby but just that it was "tired" and a bit dated. For example the shower door needed a bit of technique and coaxing to close properly (&still leaked a bit) and the heated towel rail was stuck on full blast for the five days we were there ( not good with an average daytime temp of around 38 degrees!). Not wishing to labour the point but other examples would be the lack of a full length mirror (in glamorous Rome!!), dirty net curtains and linen that had seen better days.
Not the fault of apartments but they could be quite noisy. We were situated at the back of the building away from the road (we'd requested a quiet room) but we had a lively family who had an apartment that backed onto ours and with all windows open because of the heat they could be easily heard when they got chatty at the weekend. At the moment there is also building work taking place next door which starts around 8.30 which will make sure you are up in time for breakfast.
I guess your opinion of this place would depend on your expectations of what you will be getting for nearly 250€ per night (price depending on the size of room etc). If you are looking for somewhere stylish & chic, kept in good condition with some nice design and service touches then you will be somewhat disappointed. For me personally it was a bit of a let down and I will be staying elsewhere next time we are in Rome.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
August 1, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
thank you for your review about our property.
We are glad you enjoyed our location which you describe just perfectly.
Above all we appreaciate your feelings about our staff. We are focused on making a difference on the way we take personal care of our guests.
We are surprised to read just now that you expected more from the way your room was appointed.
We apologize for the challenges that somehow influenced your experience with us. Had you expressed your opinion during your stay, we would have taken immediate action to improve it. Suite della Vite Guest House has been operating for more than 2 years now and we have received enthusiastic reviews so far.
Feel free to contact us for your next trip to Rome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.