We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i LOVE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colosseum

Colosseum
Piazza del Colosseo, 00184 Rome, Italy
(+39) 06 480201
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$66*
and up
Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum...
Ranked #12 of 687 Attractions in Rome
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Cultural
Activities: Walking, Viewing wildlife, Group tours/walking tour, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Perhaps the best-preserved of the monuments of ancient Rome, this huge marble structure was built to hold more than 50,000 spectators to witness bloody contests of might and the slaughter of wild beasts.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“i LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

i always loved the Romans and the Gladiators so it was a wonderful experience to be there and take the tour

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21,107
    6,389
    1,407
    214
    89
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The history talks to you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

You are walking though the history and you have feelings that the spirit of the buttle is still here

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The Origin of the Idea of Free Bread & Circus to the Masses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was my 4th visit in 34 years and a lot of work was done to make it more comprehensible to the visitor. Now you can almost understand the immensity of it and from it you begin to grasp the pull reality shows have on us... Roman Emperors understood that well, a tool used to mute discord and muffle opposition, perfect diversion tool...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get the audio guide-it's worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent 3 hours amazed. I am a disabled traveler...there is an elevator and handicapped accessible restrooms...who knew? Pleasantly surprised. Also, no charge for wheelchair visitors and those pushing them...no charge for the audio tour either.
Fantastic photo ops from the upper floor. An absolute must see...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Jumped the queue with a guided tour !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We didnt feel comfortable taking a tour from the touts outside so decided to stand in line and wait to go in on our own. The queue seemed to be moving quite quickly but as we approached the gate we could see the queue stretched further than we had already been outside. Heart sinking moment! Just then a Colosseum employee walked up the line calling for anyone wanting a guided tour in english, we were able to skip the main queue scoot to a much smaller one inside and buy a ticket for the guided tour of the Colosseum and Roman Forum plus the Palatino (although we didnt go to the last one) . The Colosseum tour was interesting but busy and the use of personal microphones with a guide although a good idea- in practice made it harder to hear or understand the guide. However with the queue jumping the 21 euro price tag was worth it and outside tours were asking 25 euros just for the Colosseum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colosseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.