We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The force is strong with this one :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colosseum

Colosseum
Piazza del Colosseo, 00184 Rome, Italy
(+39) 06 480201
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$65*
and up
Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum...
Ranked #12 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Cultural
Activities: Walking, Viewing wildlife, Group tours/walking tour, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Perhaps the best-preserved of the monuments of ancient Rome, this huge marble structure was built to hold more than 50,000 spectators to witness bloody contests of might and the slaughter of wild beasts.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The force is strong with this one :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I mean, we all saw movies with gladiators and lions..This historic attraction also speaks a story. Must see, and please have in mind that ticket for Colosseum is also used for several other places...Only problem by my opinion that it did not work after dark, and I have feeling that with those light its pretty impressive inside.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21,168
    6,402
    1,411
    215
    89
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Take the behind the scenes tour and you will not be disappointed, I promise! Being able to go under the floor to see where the animals and Gladiators prepared for their exhibitions was amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I first visited the colosseum whilst on a day trip to Rome during a holiday to Tuscany in 2000. I remember being impressed then, and was certainly not disappointed when I returned in November 2012. The colosseum is a must see attraction in Rome. Although much of it has been destroyed over the centuries, it remains one of the most impressive structures I have ever seen. It is easy to imagine what it was like at the height of its splendor.

I imagine it is very crowded and hot in summer, but in November it was a nice temperature and although busy, not overwhelming so. There are boards and display cabinets inside which give useful information about the history of the colosseum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Theatre of”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Huge! Allow a couple of hours to look around. You can visit the first two levels of the colosseum on your own - for the other levels you need to follow the tour. There is also a good book shop and small museum. There are long queues but if like us you buy a Roma Pass which gives you entry to two sites then you can jump the queue and use a different turnstile on the left. Entry to the colloseum also includes the Palantine Hill and the Roman Forum so you need to allow the best part of a day. Recommend taking a picnic and eating it on the Palantine Hill which is much quieter.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The attraction you just have to visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Think of Rome and you picture the Colosseum, so it's really the 'must do' attraction. On our first day in Rome we took the bus tour and then picked out the sites we wanted to visit. Driving over the Tiber Bridge, you see the Colosseum rising up before you and all the visions you eve had of Rome just flood into your mind. We had a guided tour around the building and it's well worth paying the extra 5 euros. Do buy a combination ticket for the Palatine Hill - you then don't have to queue to get in to that site. Beware of the 'skip the line' ticket salespeople - we arrived reasonably early in the morning and the queue really wasn't that long. To stand looking into the arena is something else. The guide gives you the true history of the place and not the Hollywood version, but it doesn't lose any of its impact. The Colosseum or the Flavian Amphitheatre, as it is really called, is a must on your visit to Rome.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colosseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.