We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't know where to look!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centro Storico

Centro Storico
Rome, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 754 Activities in Rome
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Neighborhoods
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This section of Rome is filled with a tangle of narrow streets, which offers some of the finest examples of Roman classical and Baroque architecture and style.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You won't know where to look!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had no idea what we'd stumble across in between the 'main,' attractions in rome and in all honesty I was completely amazed, I honestly didn't know where to look. My partner and I, kept nudging each other at the sites of different buildings, just viewing the architecture is a surreal experience.

Luckily for us it was rather quiet around the centro storico we went so I really would recommend going early in the morning, as it is on its way to the colosseum and other busy attractions!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    265
    36
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

All the way down from the Colosseum to the piazza Vittorio Emmanuelle is just astonishing. The ancient forum, then across into the old town once you get past via Nazionale. Just a myriad of little winding streets with an eclectic mix of cafes and ice cream shops, and anything else which you'd expect to find in a cliche of Rome. But this is the real deal, and when you find a small cafe full of locals, you know you're onto a gem

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Wander, Get Lost, Enjoy; Repeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of Rome's greatest treats is its ambiance. Sure, there are noisy scooters, crowded streets, and the ever-present fear of petty theft, but that's all part of the experience. (Well, I hope the petty theft part isn't part of your experience.) Wander the narrow streets, duck into a few churches where you can marvel at the art and rest your feet, enjoy the piazzas and their fountains, eat at a sidewalk cafe, and enjoy the experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“outdoor museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an absolutely amazing place.Orient yourself with the river and you won't get lost.Everything is old and important.Stop someplace any have a drink and slowly take in the sites.Keep your purses close to your body and try to be aware of people behind you as pickpockets are around.Don't let the pickpockets ruin your visit just be aware.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The whole centre is an endless museum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

You feel the history in every single place of Rome and you are astonished! Most of the places are ever so romantic but also are great inspirations of art. Otalina culture is ever so unique and it has been kept untouched in the historical centre. Food ouaou so yummy. Dont miss the gelato "Amarena" flavor.....it deserves the extra calories. It is the perfact balance of taste and excercise since you feel like you want to walk everywhere!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Storico also viewed

 

Been to Centro Storico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centro Storico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.