We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tiramisu i ever had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scaletta degli Artisti

La Scaletta degli Artisti
Via di Santa Maria dell'Anima, 56, Rome, Italy
+39 06 6880 1872
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,646 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
1 review
“The best tiramisu i ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This cute place is near to the piazza Navona, we had here diner on the birthday of oure friend. And it was perfect, even the waiters maked something special for him and even singed for him at the table side!
We felt verry welcome here and spend 5 hours in the restaurant.
After advice of one of the waiters ( he even didnt worked there ) to take the tiramisu, we all did this. It was really the best tiramu i ever had!! We wanted to come back the next days, but we were delayed en had to move on to the airport. But the next time rome, we will come back! See ya next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    80
    37
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid Piazza Navona - Come here instead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I typically don't write restaurant reviews - but I have to say - this place is amazing.

The restaurant is located one small street away from Piazza Navona - away for tourists and crowds. We met the owner Monday night, and he explained his menu and the freshness of his food. While we weren't hungry at the time, we took his business card and said we would be back Tuesday night.

We went tuesday... and wednesday.. and thursday.

The bruschetta appetizer is amazing, as are their pizzas. But their real specialties are the items the owner buys at the market - veal shanks, lobsters, meats. Every day we went, we tried something new - big portions, friendly wait staff, and a great non-touristy atmosphere. In addition - the food is fresh - never frozen. All too often you'll see restaurants serving pre-made pasta meals that are heated up in the microwave - Not here at La Scaletta!

I would highly recommend this place, you will not be disappointed.

Unrelated side note - the waiters are hot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After dinner one night (at another restaurant) we were walking along and were invited into this restaurant by its owner Joe. He was friendly and very passionate about the quality of his food and establishment. We sat at the bar and had a bottle of wine. He gave us a free dessert since we had already eaten and it was so good we came back for dinner the next night! The staff always has a smile on their face and the food is very good. I probably had the best lasagna of the trip there (tried 3-4 other restaurants from Venice to Rome). Highly recommend if you are staying in the Piazza Navona area. The view isn't as good as on the Piazza, but the prices are better because of that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Food and service very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We ate here several times. The food was always fresh and the service was good. The owner served us the times we were there and he was very concerned that we made the right choices. My only complaint was the last time we allowed him to choose the food and wine for us and it was more expensive than we had planned. If you go here be sure to ask about prices to avoid any unexpected charges. This is a good location if you want to eat early (before 19:00) and you don't or did not make reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, welcoming service. Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We could not fault the service. The staff were charming and funny, and very friendly and accommodating. We met the chef, and the owner looked after us well, as did the waitstaff. Accessing free wifi was no problem, and the food was absolutely fantastic. The porcini mushroom and beef were exceptional. Very very very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scaletta degli Artisti also viewed

 

Been to La Scaletta degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scaletta degli Artisti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.