We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Then there is the bad review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Scaletta degli Artisti

La Scaletta degli Artisti
Via di Santa Maria dell'Anima, 56, Rome, Italy
+39 06 6880 1872
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,558 of 8,707 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Then there is the bad review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have read the reviews after we ate here and they all sound so good. Well here is mine. We came upon this restaurant after walking all about and it is in a side ally off the Piazza Navona. My husband and I were thirsty and hungry and we saw this cute place with the trip advisor emblem so we thought we would stop for lunch. The place is of course on a busy alley street if you eat outside you will ingest some fumes as you are on the road which is very busy. Did not seem that way before we chose it. Car fumes aside it had fresh roses on the table and red and white checked tablecloths. So we sat down and well it was not very good we ordered a caprese salad that it never came ,a margarita pizza and my husband lasagna . The salad again never came , we ordered still water and got fizzy , the lasagna was cold , even though their sign says nothing frozen. The waitress had to come back to reheat it and she looked like this was an everyday thing. No apology. The service was not the greatest but I will say the pizza was good. We ordered two house wines red and white and this was the first time I was not impressed with a white house wine in 3 weeks I have been here. There was construction across the street and inside the place and it turned out not to be the quaint quiet side street experience I wanted . I could have gotten good pizza a thousand other places. And cold food and forgetting the order , no excuse for that. So reviews are good but I can not in any honesty give this a good review. It did have wi fi and a clean bathroom . I will not go back , last time we at in Piazza Navona itself and it was much more pleasant . Especially without the traffic wheezing by.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    80
    37
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a street away from where my husband and I stayed for a week. We found it on the first night we were in Rome. I had risotto with prawns that was delicious. My husband had linguine with clams and he loved his dish. They have wifi and we needed it because our apartment didn't have any. We sat inside and had cappuccino and espresso after dinner (we ate dinner outside) and used the wifi for awhile. We ended up coming back here for dessert, wine, and coffees 2 more times during our week in Rome so we could use the wifi. We came back later at night and sat inside every night at the table in the corner by the door. They were very gracious and accommodating every night we were there. We asked about how to get a taxi to the airport and they offered to call and arrange a taxi for us (we ended up figuring it out on our own). We said if we lived near there this would be a place we would frequent a lot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but very nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This restaurant is located in a quiet street running parallel to Piazza Navona. The owner and staff are very pleasant and work hard to make guests feel at home. The daily specials are extremely good value; but if you ignore these and order from the main menu then you may find you pay quite a lot fo money. However, I;d say that anything you pick would be very good. I had a caprese salad of buffalo mozzarella and ripe tomatoes; then salmon fillet, pan-fried, and wilted spinach. Really good. Worth visiting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“You better like the setting, you'll be here a long time..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We ate here last night night following some good reviews on Tripadvisor, and sure enough, the food was lovely. We had the mixed starter for two, linguine with clams and lemon, and osso bucco for main. All lovely dishes, well prepared and great flavour.

The service though was so slow it was well beyond a joke. Our cold starter - 40 mins. Our pasta, we only got it 15 mins after the waiter said to us "you've had your pasta haven't you?" Main courses arrived close to 11pm when we arrived at 8:15pm. They must have felt that it was too late to offer anything else, as we weren't offered desert or coffee.

Looking around the restaurant, many people who arrived around the same time had equally frustrating wait times, though people that arrived after us, seemed to have caught up, so maybe the chef popped out for a beer somewhere else shortly after we arrived...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Walking around the Piazza Navona area, we came upon this charming restaurant & happily found that it was the best food of all that we enjoyed in Rome or Florence. We sat outside by candlelight & had an adorable waitress named Christina who couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We loved the incredible tomato soup - both in taste and presentation. Specials were excellent & everything they served us was so fresh! If it had not been our last nite in Rome we would have definitely returned to try some other entrees. Don't miss this restaurant. Quality is outstanding!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scaletta degli Artisti also viewed

 

Been to La Scaletta degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scaletta degli Artisti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.