We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon to your Saves list
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Location, Location and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Perhaps the amenities such as quality of soap, shampoo, etc. could be better. Its bathrooms should have real glasses, not plastic, but it’s hard to find a four star hotel in Rome at a better location and price. I tried, but was not able to.
This 15th century hotel has unquestionably best location in Rome. The best place to stay is not around Fontana the Trevi, or the Spanish Steps, it’s Piazza Della Rotunda (this hotel’s location). The piazza is picturesque, beautifully designed and of course is dominated by Pantheon – the most preserved and influential building in ancient Rome.
Not many people know that the Egyptian obelisk on top of the fountain in the center of the square was a gift from Ramses II. This means that it dates back to the days of Moses and the Exodus.
My favorite is suit 110. Its windows are overlooking the part of the piazza where all the artists perform.

Room Tip: Suit 110 is excellent for no more then 2 people. For a larger family ask for the suite in the annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    157
    39
    24
    18
See reviews for
123
203
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on 5 occasions. When I arrive it is like coming home. The location is perfect - right by the Pantheon in the Piazza del Rotunda which is centrally located and within walking distance to most attractions. The rooms are lovely and clean and there is a charming breakfast area. The staff is friendly and helpful and always eager to answer questions or help in any way they can. I cannot wait to return to beautiful Roma and this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Singers perform in the Piaza Pantheon to enthrall those with rooms which overlook the square. The hotel is a little pricey otherwise for the accommodations but a great deal for this experience

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the Pantheon view. It is a magical experience at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in the annex building in apartment 501 with our children (8 and 11) last week and thought it was a good hotel. The carpets could use an update but the apartment itself was pretty comfortable and the view was amazing. It would be nice to have the free wifi in the room instead of the lobby but that was a minor inconvenience. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed in a room in a separate building on the last floor, right in front of the Pantheon. The view was breathtaking! Moreover, the entrance to the building was also for the people who live on lower floors, so when opening the big, heavy door and taking the little, airless lift to the 5th floor, I really felt like a local, living in my own apartment. The room was not high-class, but it had a terrace and a great atmosphere. The location could not be better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd time staying here and I just love it! It feels so authentically Rome! I've stayed in some of the finest hotels in the city but much prefer the intimacy and location of this hotel ! It may not be as fancy or modern as others, but to open my window each morning to the pantheon - makes me feel like I live in Rome! Both times we stayed in their separate building (once on 2nd floor room 107 and once on 5th floor that had 2 terraces!!) and it really felt like we had our own apartment. Breakfast was lovely, the staff works very hard for us. I will always stay here when we come to Rome!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed with my two children & mum in a suite overlooking the piazza - amazing view with two windows. Sound proof shutters. A great character hotel that is well maintained with great staff. Beautiful & inviting breakfast room/ courtyard. Loved the location & great variety of shops, cafes and all the sights of Rome within walking distance. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a Pantheon view room - you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#148 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Pantheon Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.