We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free Hassler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hassler to your Saves list
Hotel Hassler
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Trinita dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hassle free Hassler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The service is second to none.. The concierge are extremely helpful in every way, to booking great restaurants, organizing guided tours, etc. The rooms are clean, well appointed and the service staff are excellent. The location is great, you walk out of the Hotel down the Spanish steps and you are in the centre of Rome for all your shopping and eating needs. Old charm with oustanding service. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
“Hassle free Hassler”





Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for your lovely note of appreciation.

I am happy that you found everything to your satisfaction. My aim, in the hotel business, is to allow my guests to experience a unique and enjoyable break and make them feel “home away from home” – and with your lovely comments, I pride myself in being able to say that sometimes I manage to accomplish the goals that I fixed for myself. Your lovely words of appraisal were also passed on to the staff.

I look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to return.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    84
    38
    19
    17
See reviews for
103
266
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
western cape
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Hassler Hotel, near the Spanish steps is a well known 5 star world class hotel in a location that is difficult to beat. We found it a little difficult to find as we could not drive up the Spanish steps, but following the cobbled streets was worth the effort. The public rooms are very elegant and the staff charming. The bar man remembers you name and the roof terrace dining is second to none in Rome with amazing, amazing views and great food. The rooms can vary in size but all are superbly furnished and spotless. All the main sights are within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Eternal City!

I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for your lovely note of appreciation.

Since my aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, your note about the food, the rooms, our service and the location, gave me great satisfaction and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just seconds away from the Spanish Steps, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome. It is tranquil at all times and, even though the hotel is adjacent to the Spanish Steps, almost no noise gets through the walls. At night, the Hassler's redesigned outdoor lounge allows for a nice drink before dinner, while listening to a great piano player. The Hassler is also minutes away from a nice park that not many tourists go to (about a 10 minute walk). The service was great and the Hassler has not disappointed us in any of our four stays there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you again for having stayed at the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is indeed our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to render their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible, so you can imagine how glad I am each time a client takes a moment to let me know how much they enjoyed their stay with us.

I look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to return.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hassler for a week between christmas and new year's 2012. For a 5-star hotel in the heart of the city, we cannot recommend this hotel enough.
The hotel is in a perfect location at the top of the Spanish Steps. The views are fantastic and many historical sites, lots of shopping and other places of interest are only a short walk away.
We found the staff at the hotel to be excellent. They are very attentive, well-trained and exceedingly capable. They seek to ensure every guest is happy and they succeed.
We stayed in a street-facing grand deluxe room which was very comfortable and gave us a nice view of the city. The rooms housing the classic or more elaborate suites likely had the better views, but we were happy nonetheless. Rooms have great robes and slippers which are welcome after exploring the streets and sites for hours at a time.
The staff working the breakfast buffet in the Salon Medici were outstanding. By our second day, they knew our preferences, etc. My wife and I didn't have to ask for our coffee drinks to have soy instead of cows milk after our first breakfast. Nice!
Overall, we had a great stay and would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that wants great service in a perfect location, particularly anyone who is visiting Rome for the first time.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms have great views, but will be noisier than garden rooms. Rooms are furnished dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to share with us your satisfaction.

I am happy that you had a great time with us. My aim, in the hotel business, is to allow my guests to experience a unique and enjoyable break and make them feel “home away from home” – and with your lovely comments, I pride myself in being able to say that sometimes I manage to accomplish the goals that I fixed for myself. Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to the staff.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is one of the best I've every stayed ! While visiting Rome we decided to stay at Hotel Hassler and we did not regret it ! Yes, it is expensive. But if you want the very best, this is the Hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome and also for your lovely note of appreciation.

Since my aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, I really appreciated you sharing your satisfaction with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from Dec. 12th to the 15th. Driving to the Hotel is an adventure as is any driving in Rome. However, once at the hotel, the staff and in particular Alexandra was extremely helpful about the hotel and the area.

Up front, most things are extra. Parking was 45€/day and internet was 15€/day. That is just the way that it is. While I would have loved to have had it rolled into the room price (especially the internet), leaving it out allows one to opt in or out. I liked having the choice. Oh, I had no trouble with the internet.

Our room 222 was in the back and was beautiful and quiet. The bathroom was spacious. My only small complaint is that the king size bed was actually 2 twins together. While they did a great job to minimize the seam, I was still able to find it. The cotton sheets were of a high thread count and with the down comforter was luxurious. The complimentary water was nice. We ordered up ice each night.

We did have the breakfast which cost ~40€. It was wonderful to have each day. A great selection of sweets and juices. I especially enjoyed the fresh carrot and orange juices. There was a selection of prosciuttos and smoked fish (salmon, tuna, & swordfish). The eggs were a little runny for my taste and the bacon was a bit greasy. I did enjoy the sausage, pancakes, and french toast. Service was impeccable. We sat down and almost instantly got perfect cappuccinos. This was a fantastic way to start off the day. It allowed us to forge past lunch and beat the crowds.

The location at the top of the Spanish Steps allowed us to walk to great restaurants and the sites from the Colosseum and Palatine Hill to Vatican City. Best of all, we were right above the main shopping area.

Lastly, the doorman helped me pay for my car the night before and allowed us to leave with plenty of time to get to the airport in the morning. Their directions were flawless. Service was all around fantastic.

We didn't get to try the spa, but they have a sauna and steam room connected to a pretty good workout facility.

This hotel does cost, but you get every pennies worth.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Eternal City!

First of all I would like to thank you again for having stayed at the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

It was very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciated you sharing you impressions with a description of all the aspects you noted. In our constant aim to improve, your comments concerning the service, have been passed on to the relevant departments for consideration.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at the Hassler Dec 6-9th and it is by far one of the most amazing hotels in Italy, if not the world. We were upgraded from a deluxe to grand deluxe with the most amazing views of the Spanish Steps and city of Rome. Alessandra and Carolina in reception went above and beyond to make sure our stay was the best. Danieli, the concierge was very helpful and friendly.

Thank you Hassler staff for your hospitality and the next time I am in Rome, I will without question, book a stay with you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to give us your lovely comments, which were much appreciated.

Since my aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, your note gave me great satisfaction and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments.

We look forward to a new opportunity to welcome you again to the Hassler and in the meantime, I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Address: Piazza Trinita dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#64 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city’s historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter’s Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 95 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hassler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.