We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hassler to your Saves list
Hotel Hassler
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Trinita dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
washington dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The magic began at check in. Gracious, welcoming staff. Room 608 with a terrace and 360 degree of Rome. Room beautifully decorated with every convenience imaginable. Comfort and class with all the right attitude. We will definitely return. Thank you all. We were treated like royalty.

Room Tip: 608 is top floor. Quiet. View cannot be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beetsWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Eternal City!

I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for your lovely note of appreciation.

Since my aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, your note about the room and the service gave me great satisfaction and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week. we were sure that this hotel is the BEST in rome. BUT - we were wrong. Although the hotel is nice, the breakfast is good and the rooftop restaurant is impressive - the room and the hotel itself is old, tired and glooming.

We don't recommend this hotel because if you want a really great hotel in rome you should look else where. this hotel is too expensive and too old.

i strongly recommend you to check the jumeirah hotel at via Veneto. this hotel in my opinion is THE BEST in rome for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoavberenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Thank you for having stayed at the Hassler while in Rome, and also for having taken time to share your impressions, which I always find extremely important – whether they be positive, or negative – as in this case.

Obviously, I was sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations, but would like to reassure you, that while maintaining our historic texture, we are presently implementing various novelties which I hope that, despite your immediate reaction, you might decide that during some future occasion you would like to experience in person.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
216 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are many hotels in Rome, so you're guaranteed many lodging experiences -- but if you want that white glove continental service, stay here. The plant is gorgeous, and advantageously located near the radial center of the city. The staff is courteous, friendly, and solicitous, and they forgive your poor Italian should you choose to parlo in the native tongue. We had a room overlooking the garden, and felt comfortable from the start. The best part of the Hassler's set up is the bathroom, not surprisingly: Double sinks, marble all the way, separate shower and toilet. You have to have a serious bathroom to contend for the top slot, and this place scores in that regard. Also, the proprietor personally responded to my guest review card -- what do you think of that?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillScurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro ga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this grand hotel 9/29 after our cruise. Best hotel I have ever stayed in from the location, service, room, staff, food and drinks. This trip was for my birthday and the Hassler went out of their way to make our stay special. After a day of touring we came back to a chilled bottle of sparkling wine along with a beautiful fruit tray. They even let us take the wine to the roof top bar to see the sun set. They also gave up an upgrade to a large room with a balcony. Can't wait to go back to the Hassler when back in Roma.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for your lovely words of appreciation.

It is our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to render each stay as comfortable as possible. So as you can imagine, I was delighted to learn that we succeeded in doing so, while you were here celebrating the special occasion of your birthday.

We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you to the Hassler sometime in the future.

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
642 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pros: Check-in was well-organized and timely, I was led up to the room and given a tour of the premises by a staff member. Room was clean with all of the basic amenities. House cleaning was perfect. The location is almost impossible to beat: at the top of the Spanish Steps with a Metro station (and an elevator!) minutes away. Dining was excellent; the breakfast buffet was lavish, Salone Eva had a great menu, and Imago was magnificent (see separate review). Service from the concierge, porters, doormen, etc. was overall prompt and courteous: in short what I would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

Cons: Tough to come up with many…. I had some minor problems with the TV menu in my room (I’m usually used to a printed dossier that describes the hotel’s services) but that’s about it.

Summary: A traditional luxury hotel in the mold of The National in Moscow or the Grand Bretagne in Athens. I would definitely stay here again and am looking forward to a future visit in the years to come. Those looking for a modern ultra-luxe (spa, pool, faux golden lions, etc.) experience may be disappointed but should stay at the Hilton Cavalieri anyways! If The Hassler is good enough for Audrey Hepburn it’s good enough for me. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having spent your time at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having taken time to share your comments concerning the stay.

It was a pleasure to extend your words of appreciation to the entire team. I always expect staff to do their best to make each stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible, so I am pleased to read that with you, we succeeded!

We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

From the moment we arrived, our two night stay at the Hassler could not have been better! We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary in the Imago Restaurant on the top floor and the service, food and ambience could not have been better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelaurasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Eternal City!

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for having decided to celebrate your 15th wedding anniversary at Imàgo.



My goal is to always offer perfection in service and ambience so I appreciated you sharing your satisfaction.

I hope the future reserves you many other special moments to celebrate with us.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Walk out the hotel door, down the steps to one of the many shopping areas. It is a perfect location. This hotel has an old world charm. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The room was clean which is one of the things that is most important to me. The bathroom and closet were quite large, nice if there is more than one person in the room. The room service was ok. I arrived in Rome on my first night of my European vacation so needless to say I was exhausted and just wanted someone to bring me dinner. I thought that since I was in Italy the pasta would be amazing. Not so much for the room service pasta that I ordered. It wasn't bad, but just ok. I did however enjoy the breakfast buffet. I would recommend this hotel is nothing else to get a great workout in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lor13149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome and also for your beautiful comments of praise.

Since my aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, your note about the staff, the room, and the breakfast gave me great satisfaction and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments. Likewise, I have alerted room service concerning your opinion and asked for improvement.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#65 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#59 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,055 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Address: Piazza Trinita dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#117 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city’s historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter’s Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 95 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Low Cost Holidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing