We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

An excellent hotel with attentive staff in a perfect location. The dinning at the roof top restaurant was the highlight. with some of the best meals we have eaten in Europe. The views are outstanding as the sun goes down over Rome. Rooms are small and those facing into the courtyard are dark. Room electrics are a concern, while using the hairdryer the lights flickered and the phones went down one evening resulting in trips to reception for service. Queen beds are singles joined together so there is the normal problem of a gap in the mattraces where they are zipped together.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    178
    50
    25
    20
See reviews for
146
358
30
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Eden Hotel, is perfect to enjoy a Rome stay whether for business or pleasure. The service is outstanding, the location perfect (close to the Spanish Steps and the Borghese Gardens), clean, the rooms are a bit small which is to be expected for a true European hotel.
The bar and roof top restaurant are a perfect spot to relax after a long working day in Rome or sightseeing. Beautiful Rome sites from this spot. A lovely, lovely hotel. Also, Fabrizio,a Conceirge during he day was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Eden is in a great location with an amazing view over Rome.

The Staff have also retained that courteously and special attention to detail which is the hallmark of all great hotels.

I send you my warmest congratulations to its dedicated staff and management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early April for three nights.. This hotel is in a great location. Steps from the Spanish Steps. We walked all over Rome from this hotel.
This is a very elegant hotel. Huge lobby area. Small gym but functional.
The bar on the top floor is an open air area with a great views. The first day we were there the weather was perfect and we had lunch overlooking Rome.
Our room was great with a separate bath. This hotel was very quiet and peaceful.
The front desk recommended great authentic Italien restaurants and we had some great meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in late March 2013 on SPG points. We were welcomed warmly by a very gracious staff, who were consistently fantastic throughout our three-day initial stay and our last night before leaving for the US. I am SPG Platinum, and on our first stay we were upgraded to a fantastic full suite. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was fantastic and the living room was recently renovated and quite stylish and welcoming. We were upgraded on our second stay to a junior suite, which was spacious and quite comfortable, with a spectacular bathroom.

The concierge staff was wonderful. All were extremely helpful, warm and charming. They made quite an effort to try to retrieve my lost bag from Lufthansa (which was delivered contents intact four days after my return to the US!). The doormen are great, too.

The much-mentioned buffet rooftop breakfast was included as my Platinum amenity. It was quite good - we particularly enjoyed the tray of fresh pastries (which were excellent) and the delicious buffalo milk burrata.

Wifi (also included- thanks, SPG!) was great in the first suite, but did not work in the second one. The location was central and perfect. We adored this hotel. One of the best I have experienced anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with my father for 3 nights whilst touring around Rome. The hotel is a little smaller than I am used to but an overall great experience. The entire staff was so pleasant and helpful. The hotel is also in a great location (short walk to the Spanish Steps). The lounge/restaurant upstairs has a breakfast + view not to be missed and from what I saw and heard a lot of well-to-do and diplomats go there to eat. As you can imagine though, its not cheap. I went up for a nightcap one night and they had a great piano player and singer but my $27.00 Jack Daniels and Ginger ale wasn't worth the price. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Booked through AMEX for free upgrade and third night free
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so glad to hear you and your best friend had such an enjoyable stay with us at Eden Hotel! We always aim to have our guests feel as though the hotel is their "home away from home" while traveling, and it sounds as though with you we have truly succeeded.
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and me visited Rome for 3 days. Having spent days of searching over the Internet to find the most suitable hotel, Eden was indeed above our expectations!
All of the staff (reception desk, concierge, lobby, breakfast room) is warm, discrete, polite, very helpful and professional up to the last moment.
The lounge is luxurious and the breakfast room has a breathtaking view over Rome. We really appreciated the smoking lounge next to the roof bar!
Our room (we were free of charge upgraded to a double deluxe room, thank you for that!) was really luxurious, quite, with exquisite furnitures and details.
The location of the hotel is excellent: 5 min walking from piazza di Spagna and 5 min to Via Veneto.
If you are looking for a real luxury hotel, close to the main historical attractions, at an affordable price with a professional service, we then fully recommend this great hotel!

When next time in Rome we will definetely come back.
Makis, Sofia

Room Tip: We would recommend a room at a higher floor with external view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay at the Eden Hotel!

We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you the staff at the Eden very helpful.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Eden Hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection

Address: Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Rome
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#50 Business Hotel in Rome
#89 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More that 120 years old but the Eden does not "look its age". The Eden true soul resides in its rooms and suites, planned so as to create just the right balance between interior architecture and decor. Individual, elegant and refined, our rooms offer the ultimate in comfort and luxury, and provide breathtaking views of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rome
Eden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.