We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #86 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Eden Hotel, is perfect to enjoy a Rome stay whether for business or pleasure. The service is outstanding, the location perfect (close to the Spanish Steps and the Borghese Gardens), clean, the rooms are a bit small which is to be expected for a true European hotel.
The bar and roof top restaurant are a perfect spot to relax after a long working day in Rome or sightseeing. Beautiful Rome sites from this spot. A lovely, lovely hotel. Also, Fabrizio,a Conceirge during he day was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    208
    56
    30
    24
See reviews for
179
443
34
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early April for three nights.. This hotel is in a great location. Steps from the Spanish Steps. We walked all over Rome from this hotel.
This is a very elegant hotel. Huge lobby area. Small gym but functional.
The bar on the top floor is an open air area with a great views. The first day we were there the weather was perfect and we had lunch overlooking Rome.
Our room was great with a separate bath. This hotel was very quiet and peaceful.
The front desk recommended great authentic Italien restaurants and we had some great meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in late March 2013 on SPG points. We were welcomed warmly by a very gracious staff, who were consistently fantastic throughout our three-day initial stay and our last night before leaving for the US. I am SPG Platinum, and on our first stay we were upgraded to a fantastic full suite. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was fantastic and the living room was recently renovated and quite stylish and welcoming. We were upgraded on our second stay to a junior suite, which was spacious and quite comfortable, with a spectacular bathroom.

The concierge staff was wonderful. All were extremely helpful, warm and charming. They made quite an effort to try to retrieve my lost bag from Lufthansa (which was delivered contents intact four days after my return to the US!). The doormen are great, too.

The much-mentioned buffet rooftop breakfast was included as my Platinum amenity. It was quite good - we particularly enjoyed the tray of fresh pastries (which were excellent) and the delicious buffalo milk burrata.

Wifi (also included- thanks, SPG!) was great in the first suite, but did not work in the second one. The location was central and perfect. We adored this hotel. One of the best I have experienced anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with my father for 3 nights whilst touring around Rome. The hotel is a little smaller than I am used to but an overall great experience. The entire staff was so pleasant and helpful. The hotel is also in a great location (short walk to the Spanish Steps). The lounge/restaurant upstairs has a breakfast + view not to be missed and from what I saw and heard a lot of well-to-do and diplomats go there to eat. As you can imagine though, its not cheap. I went up for a nightcap one night and they had a great piano player and singer but my $27.00 Jack Daniels and Ginger ale wasn't worth the price. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Booked through AMEX for free upgrade and third night free
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so glad to hear you and your best friend had such an enjoyable stay with us at Eden Hotel! We always aim to have our guests feel as though the hotel is their "home away from home" while traveling, and it sounds as though with you we have truly succeeded.
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and me visited Rome for 3 days. Having spent days of searching over the Internet to find the most suitable hotel, Eden was indeed above our expectations!
All of the staff (reception desk, concierge, lobby, breakfast room) is warm, discrete, polite, very helpful and professional up to the last moment.
The lounge is luxurious and the breakfast room has a breathtaking view over Rome. We really appreciated the smoking lounge next to the roof bar!
Our room (we were free of charge upgraded to a double deluxe room, thank you for that!) was really luxurious, quite, with exquisite furnitures and details.
The location of the hotel is excellent: 5 min walking from piazza di Spagna and 5 min to Via Veneto.
If you are looking for a real luxury hotel, close to the main historical attractions, at an affordable price with a professional service, we then fully recommend this great hotel!

When next time in Rome we will definetely come back.
Makis, Sofia

Room Tip: We would recommend a room at a higher floor with external view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay at the Eden Hotel!

We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that for you the staff at the Eden very helpful.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Eden Hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This Hotel is very elegant and at first seems a little cold, till you meet the staff. The staff is warm and welcoming and will do their best to make you feel like this is your home. The views from the restaurants are the best in town. If you don't want to eat in, you are close to restaurants and shops. If you get a little home sick for the states the Hard Rock Cafe is three blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

No, it is not a grand bargain. But you more than get what you pay for. The Hotel Eden is beautiful, well located (near everything but just far enough away that you don't feel crushed by the other tourists), and extremely well equipped. The concierge and reception are extremely helpful, and the rooms are great. I miss the beds already. The rooftop restaurant provides a great breakfast buffet (look for a deal where it is included) and a great view of Rome.


The only negative would be that the outlet situation is definitely very 1926. We ended up unplugging some lights so we could charge our phones, etc. But I am sure that, had we asked, they would have given us a charge strip. For that special stay in Rome I strongly recommend the Eden.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks out to the street and not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#85 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#69 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Regina Hotel Baglioni
Regina Hotel Baglioni
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection

Address: Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
#91 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Old City of Rome, Hotel Eden is just a short stroll from the legendary Spanish Steps and picturesque Villa Borghese. This elegant city oasis dates back to 1889 and throughout its illustrious history has welcomed royalty, dignitaries and numerous celebrities. The Eden true soul resides in its rooms and suites, planned so as to create just the right balance between interior architecture and decor. Individual, elegant and refined, our rooms offer the ultimate in comfort and luxury, and provide breathtaking views of Rome.Famed for its exquisite rooftop restaurant, diners enjoy spectacular views of the majestic St Peter's Dome and across the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rome
Eden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.