We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Introduction to the Eternal City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #91 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Perfect Introduction to the Eternal City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We arrived just before noon and were graciously checked in hours before the hotel's standard time. Exhausted from 24 hours of travel, we were still awed when we saw our room: antique furnishings, a canopied 4-poster, generous storage, flat screen TV, desk, sitting area and large, marble-tiled bathroom with towel heater, tub/shower combo, Hermes toiletries, a bidet and two sinks. Two sets of French windows opened onto a flower-filled courtyard. There was no hint of the hustle and bustle of the city outside, even during a transportation strike that clogged Rome's streets with honking cars and scooters. The bed was a cloud of crisp, smooth, linens, down comforter and four heavenly pillows. It was worlds away from American luxury hotels, even though it's part of the Starwood group, and the perfect introduction to a European holiday. The rooftop bar was elegant with views to die for, and staff made us feel welcome and relaxed when we visited early afternoon in our casual sightseeing clothes. For a special getaway, when cost is irrelevant, the Eden cannot be matched.

  • Liked — Charming furnishings, quiet, staff's warmth and attentiveness, location
  • Disliked — Nothing; it was perfect in every way
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    187
    53
    26
    21
See reviews for
153
382
32
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st albans, herts, uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

my wife and i have just some back from a 5 night break over new year to the eden hotel in rome. overall, we had a lovely experience in rome and the eden is a classically luxurious hotel, boasting a grand history of hosting celebrities such as Tom Cruise, politicians etc. Overall here are a list of positives and negatives

POSITIVES
great location- 5 min walk to spanish steps and via veneto
Nice rooms- very warm given the january cold and nicely furnished
lovely breakfast in top floor restaurant- great views over rome
good concierge- esp guy with brown hair, others a bit mixed
New yr's eve in the bar- views of fireworks all over rome for 20 miles- amazing!


NEGATIVES
very expensive for drinks and restaurant obscenely expensive, even for a 2star rest 850 euros per person for new years eve- indeed all of rome a rip off
charge of internet use- already paying top dollar for staying there
not much there apart from rooms, no sauna etc
some concierge recommendations a bit dodgy
Bar very expensive

Overall visited other 5 stars for drinks- westin did not seem that great- felt too big, more expensive and not worth it, prefered eden. Hassler bar was very old and needed facelift but even better location than eden. The eden is the grand dame of hotels iin rome so great to stay there- just dont expect it to be the best ever hotel you have stayed in although it has been voted best hotel in europe 2007!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights early November 07 and it was better than expected. The staff were very attentive from the doorman on the street to the check in and the resturant wait staff-they made a point of rembering your name-no mean feat in a large hotel. The bedroom was like a small suit with lounge and table and a fantastic bathroom. I had phoned a couple of days before arrival to modify our booking - no problem, nothing was a problem for our stay. The roof top bar and resturant are wonderful, the food and the view. The location is great except the walk up hill at the end of a day of wandering around Roma- we caught a taxi once or twice. The only negative for some people may the price, the stay was expensive by Aussie standards but extensive breakfast included (we ate at the resturant at least twice in the evening which wasnot cheap) but only slighty above average for Rome and Italian hotels of similar standard.
Regards Bob & Jill

  • Liked — The staff, the rooms, the view, the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

Recently stayed here during the Christmas holidays. Location is great - within short walking distance of the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese Gardens, Fountain of Trevi and much more! Closest subway stop is on the A Line at the Barberini stop (which is the foot of the Via Veneto). Hotel recently underwent some renovations to the rooms from what I can tell. I am a platinum with Starwood and since this is a Starwood property (part of the Meridien Hotel group) I am entitled to a room upgrade if available. Beware - i was given an "upgrade" to a shabby room, not much larger, had not been one of the renovated rooms... and the hotel acted like it was a nicer room. I called and had us moved to a room with more light, two windows, and a renovated room. Although it was in my original room class (deluxe) it was FAR better than the "upgraded" studio room. Pls make sure you get a renovated room if you check in here. The hotel is a bit "old" feeling for my taste and I would probably not stay there again. The doormen and bell staff didnt seem very attentive or helpful - they were rarely there to even open the heavy doors... Also beware that wi-fi service here costs 23 Euros for 24 hours - that is way higher than most hotels. One other note - the hot water pipe broke on one morning and there was no hot water for showers for many hours... not good on a cold winter morning. No letter or announcement was sent around to guest rooms until late in the day after it had been resolved - seems backwards in my book in terms of being proactive on service quality -- as soon as there is a problem like this, the hotel should have notified all guests by short note under the door immediately. On a bright note, the rooftop terrace bar was amazing in terms of views and service. the public lobby areas were also nice, including the fireplace sitting room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — style of rooms and furnishings
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Booked this hotel directly. Great hotel and excellent service.
The rooftop bar and restaurant offers an impressive view over Rome.
Highly recommend this very well managed hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

The service here was excellent. We were upgraded to a junior suite because we were Starwood Hotel Group members.

The suite had a impressive marble foyer, a decent sized bedroom, a marble bath with awsome water pressure and a separate sitting room.
We were on the forth floor facing the front. We had three large windows with nice views of the city.

The only flaw I noticed was some wear (scratches) on the woodwork od the cabinet hold the flat panel TV and minibar. For 2060 euros a night you'd think that kind of thing would be taken care of promptly. But otherwise a flawless 4 night stay there.

  • Liked — Elegant decor.
  • Disliked — small elevators
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

I traveled to Rome for business with some time for sightseeing, and stayed at the Hotel Eden. I found the location to be incredible. It is literally a short walk away from the spanish steps, the trevi foundation and multiple metro stops. I found the concierge to be incredibly helpful and friendly. They really went out of their way to be honest about meals, transportation and tours. The room was plush and a decent size. The bathroom was very clean with lots of extra towels. The only drawbacks to this hotel...very noisy. I heard every door banging, every person in the hallway and our neighbors. Also, I was able to get a government rate, but if I had to pay the full rate, I would not have thought it was worth it. If you're willing to pay a little more for location and helpful staff, this is the right hotel for you.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection

Address: Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Old City of Rome, Hotel Eden is just a short stroll from the legendary Spanish Steps and picturesque Villa Borghese. This elegant city oasis dates back to 1889 and throughout its illustrious history has welcomed royalty, dignitaries and numerous celebrities. The Eden true soul resides in its rooms and suites, planned so as to create just the right balance between interior architecture and decor. Individual, elegant and refined, our rooms offer the ultimate in comfort and luxury, and provide breathtaking views of Rome.Famed for its exquisite rooftop restaurant, diners enjoy spectacular views of the majestic St Peter's Dome and across the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rome
Eden Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.