We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza del Popolo

Piazza del Popolo
Piazza del Popolo, 48121 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$98*
and up
Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with...
Ranked #96 of 686 Attractions in Rome
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Planned by Valadier at the beginning of the 19th century, this is considered one of the best urban works in Rome.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
692 reviews 692 reviews
487 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“beautiful!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful plaza, great to walk, sighseeing, take lot of pictures, plaza has a obelisk in the center which very exquisite. beautiful area no matter where you go.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    466
    165
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When we travelled here there was an event going on in the square and we could see senturians teaching young children how to sword fights.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YONKERS
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Huge Piazza in Rome- walking distance to Spanish steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Giant Piazza in Rome. Many churches to see and Obelisks and statues. Nice to walk around. Great architecture.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Serendipity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found this place by accident. We were navigating their railway system (which is very easy, by the way) and couldn't remember what stop to get off. We got off here only to find someone to give us better directions, and were so mesmerized by what we saw that we never left! Of all the places we went in Rome, which were all beautiful, this was the "hidden gem" that was so beautiful but nobody had ever told us about. We had a fantastic lunch while sitting outside taking in the view, unfortunately I can't remember the name of the restaurant. While standing in the center of the piazza, there is a split road to the left and the right - the restaurant is the first one on the corner to the left :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianópolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sunset at Piazza del Popolo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Go to Piazza del Popolo, upstairs have a great garden with sculptures and a wonderfull view to San Pietro and piazza Veneza with the sunset.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Popolo also viewed

 

Been to Piazza del Popolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza del Popolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.