We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great hotel, outstanding staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo del Senato to your Saves list
Albergo del Senato
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great hotel, outstanding staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Got back last night from a 3 day trip to Rome - our first visit- and felt compelled to praise the Albergo del Senato. Room was well equipped, and ideal for us. Location was convenient. We could hardly be closer to The Pantheon - the photos don't lie. Yet the hotel was peaceful and relaxed. I can't praise the staff enough, they were all excellent, and made our stay particularly pleasant.

We travelled from the airport into town in a shuttle bus with two other couples for 20 Euros per person, and thought this was ok value. The hotel organised a Mercedes Limo to take us back to the airport for 55 Euros. This was much better value , in my opinion, and unlike the shuttle bus driver, the limo driver did not feel as though he was auditioning for some car chase movie!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,058
    377
    58
    28
    8
See reviews for
618
1,332
64
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed in the Albergo Del Senato Hotel at the beginning of January 2014. This hotel was amazing.

It started with our arranged transfer from the airport (I learned my lesson last time I came to Rome when I was packed into a taxi van with 6 other people). Our flight was delayed an hour and the driver waited on us with my name card still in his hand. We shuffled off to the new black Mercedes that waited for us. The ride was enjoyable with complimentary water and candy.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted very warmly by the front desk staff. We gave them our names and ID, signed a couple of papers, and were given the room keys. Check-in took maybe 5 minutes at the most and left us with all questions answered.

Mauro Orlandi at the front desk was the most helpful, courteous, and just plain nice guy that you could ever meet. He was knowledgable about the city and surrounding areas being from Rome himself. He had good recommendations on restaurants, and was top notch on wine. Can't say enough about this guy.

Upon entering the room we found a clean, welcoming environment. We relaxed a few minutes and then the bellhop was promptly there with our luggage. The room had an electronic boiling pot so making tea or coffee was very easy. They had a nice selection of Twinings tea in the room as well. Our window opened to a small outside "area" between the buildings with a few different plants. It was nice to get fresh air, but next stay will request a room overlooking the pantheon.

Room had all the usual toiletries such as shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower cap, and even had a blow dryer.

The maid cleaned the room every morning and even came in during the afternoon to turn down the bed and close the curtains! (The chocolates she left on the bed each night were very good ;-)).

The breakfast was delicious every morning with hot scrambled eggs and bacon. There was also a very big selection of pastries, fruit, and juices.

Service, service, service. Those are the three words that sum up this wonderful hotel. I will be back many more times in the future and will recommend to anyone going to Rome.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent three nights here in early December, and I will certainly return. The location is wonderfully central -- within walking distance of nearly everything -- and the room was well-appointed. Breakfast was varied and quite good. My room faced the lovely Piazza, but the room itself was quiet. Most important, the staff was welcoming and very helpful from beginning to end. This is a lovely gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from January 1st for our honeymoon. The hotel arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and dropped at the front door ( in a nice black Mercedes ) for only a few euros more than what a taxi would have cost us. We booked the same, for our return journey to the airport.

The location of this hotel is amazing and central for all the great sites. Everything is walkable ... Vatican City, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum etc.

Upon check in, we found a complimentary bottle of prosecco chilling in our room .. what a great start. Every night when we returned to our room, we found the curtains closed, the bed turned down and chocolates left on the bed for us. Mini bar was well stocked and well priced compared with local shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful ... in fact ALL the staff were extremely friendly.

We cannot fault this hotel in any way whatsoever, and "when" we return to Rome ( we threw coins into the Trevi Fountain !! ), we will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Thank you for making our honeymoon trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We got room 205 .... it overlooks the Pantheon at just the right height we think. When the window wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. The location (literally next door to the pantheon) couldn't be better. You are so close to everything you want to see in Rome and you can walk everywhere; the Pantheon next door, the Vatican (20 mins away) Trevi fountain (10 mins) the Coliseum (20 - 25 mins away) and there are some fantastic restaurants just around the corner. On our arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was huge, with a 4 poster bed and frescoes on the ceiling. The bed wasn't the worlds comfiest and the wifi very sporadic but I was in Rome to see Rome, not to search the internet. The included buffet breakfast was tasty and varied. The reception staff Alessandra and Luca couldn't have been more helpful and their restaurant recommendations (and reservations for us) were superb. Al Duello around the corner was absolutely fantastic, and the pizzeria on the next street served incredible pizza and pasta. This is my third time in Rome and if we get the opportunity to come back, we will definitely stay at this hotel. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Of course, it is right next to the Pantheon, but it is also within walking distance of most of the tourist sites in Rome which is exactly what we wanted. 20 minutes walk to the Vatican, ten minutes to the Spanish Steps, five to the Trevi Fountain. We also had our choice of dozens of great restaurants within only a few blocks from the hotel. The triple room that we had did not face the piazza (we were told that they had no triple rooms that faced the piazza and the Pantheon), but it was serviceable for what we needed. The breakfast buffet was good: there was one chaffing dish with scrambled eggs and bacon, and then there was a good mix of fruit, cereals, breads and cold cuts. The barman Michele was outstanding in every way! He was very knowledgeable of the wines and liquors of Italy and gave absolutely top notch service. He even made my 8 year old son a chair out of two champagne bottle cages! The bar on the first floor was a cosy place to have a drink before going out to dinner. Although we were there in December, we definitely appreciated how amazing the roof top bar must be during good weather. Michele told us that he ran the bar up on the roof during the summer. We could only imagine having his excellent service up there while enjoying the incredible view from the roof!! There were two negatives that resulted in me taking a star away: the wifi provided was terrible, and the recommendations of the hotel concierge for restaurants weren't much better. The wifi kept cutting out and was never very strong in our room or elsewhere in the hotel. What was worse was that we had to re-enter the username and password every time we reestablished connection to the internet, something that I have never encountered with other hotel wifi systems and was something really annoying and time consuming. It’s the 21st century people! Most of us would now rather have strong wifi than television cable. Especially on vacation! The concierge recommendations were suspect, as each restaurant recommended had relatively low ratings on TripAdvisor.com and the one restaurant that we actually went to that they recommended was one of our least favorite of our stay in Rome. We tested them several times on this with several different employees working the desk and the results were largely the same. In my opinion, the desk staff was either out of touch with what their customers wanted or they were deliberately steering people to tourist traps. Either way we were disappointed and ended up eating at other restaurants that we found by searching tripadvisor. Overall, however, I do recommend this hotel and would stay there again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed At the Albergo del Senato for our 15th anniversary. We arranged in advance for airport pickup and Octavio picked us up right on schedule and gave us a great tour of Rome on the way from the airport to the hotel. Check-in was easy and the staff was great. Our room was on the fourth floor with a great view of the square and the Pantheon. We had a minor issue with the sink which was promptly fixed. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace several times during our 5 night stay. The breakfast buffet was always excellent with plenty of choices and good service. Wi-Fi was weak in our room and we tended to check e-mail in the lounge area where we were closer to the router. The front desk personnel were always able to answer our questions. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo del Senato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.