We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in historic center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portoghesi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Portoghesi
Save
You added Hotel Portoghesi to your Saves list
Via dei Portoghesi 1, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in historic center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stay in the Hotel Portoghesi every time we go to Rome. The location is terrific, on the narrow medieval streets in the historic center of Rome near the Piazza Navona. Rooms are small, as expected in this part of the city, but pleasant. The staff is very congenial and helpful. The rooftop breakfast room is delightful, looking at the fantastic roofscape of Rome, especially if the weather's good and you sit outside. This is the place to stay to really appreciate this ancient city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    121
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
115
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Portoghesi at the beginning and end of our recent trip to Italy. It's a nice hotel, with reasonable prices, and the location couldn't be better. Five minutes to PIazza Navona, 5 minutes to the Pantheon, 7 or 8 to the Spanish Steps.

We found the staff to be helpful - providing directions, calling taxis, etc. Breakfast on the terrace is typical of Italy, with an assortment of items and the usual, fantastic coffee. I would be more than happy to stay at Hotel Portoghesi again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel couldn't be in a better location. It is a short wallk from the Piazza Navona and about 15 minutes from the Spanish Steps or the Vatican. The immediate surroundings are typically Roman with many good small restaurants nearby.
The hotel itself is charming with a very friendly staff and a rooftop breakfast room. The bedrooms are small but attractively and comfortably furnished. It is reasonably priced when compared with other hotels of the same quality.
i have no complaints and I will surely say there if I go to Rome again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely hotel, ideally located to visit the sights of Rome.
Rooms very clean, decent size though the shower maybe a bit tight for some.
Good continental breakfast to set you up for sightseeing,
All staff very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends who had stayed here on a previous visit and it was a perfect base for our long weekend in Rome. It is tucked away in a side street close to Piazza Navona and The Pantheon and many fantastic restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. Each morning of our stay we enjoyed a relaxing breakfast on the roof terrace and enjoyed the continental selection on offer.The only very slight negative comments are that there is no kettle or drink facility in the room and no lounge area to enjoy a glass of something in the hotel. Other than that, the hotel is great base for exploring the delights of this wonderful city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel location is excellent. The rooms are clean and in good working order. Breakfast and the rooftop terrace where breakfast is served is a real bonus. The front desk staff speaks excellent English, is prompt and courteous. The first morning we were woken early by construction crews starting work at dawn on the street in front of the hotel. I was disappointed that they were unwilling to arrange for an early breakfast or picnic style option, e.g., melba toast or croissant, butter, jam, when we had to leave the hotel before 7AM to catch a train. This was the only place during our 9-day trip across Italy where we found the Italians (2 different front desk managers) to be unhelpful. For our next trip to Rome we will look for a different hotel; however, I wouldn't rule out staying here again--especially if they drop the price.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room in the back of the hotel where it is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is centrally located to enjoy all of Rome. Wine shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean but small however when in rome hopefully you wont be spending much time in your room anyway. Would highly recommend it if traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portoghesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portoghesi

Address: Via dei Portoghesi 1, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#186 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the alleys of Rome that you always dreamed of, Hotel Portoghesi showcases elegant and comfortable 3-star interiors, including modern amenities in an area close to splendid Piazza Navona and the historical city center.The ancient building that hosts Hotel Portoghesi has retained its ancient architectural characteristics; its interiors feel like the romantic spirit of fascinating Rome lives on, an ideal venue for an evocative and unforgettable vacation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Portoghesi Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portoghesi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.