We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History of Rome, Take Your Time, Much to See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musei Capitolini

Musei Capitolini
Piazza del Campidoglio 1, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 060608
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$88*
and up
Private Tour: Ancient Roman Art History Walking...
Ranked #57 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The creation of the Capitoline Museums has been traced back to 1471, when Pope Sixtus IV donated a group of bronze statues of great symbolic value to the People of Rome. The collections are closely linked to the city of Rome, and most of the exhibits come from the city itself.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“History of Rome, Take Your Time, Much to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A rainy day activity. My favorite was the hall of sculptures, the Dying Gaul and the bust of the Caesars, Emporers, etc., and the center piece equestrian statue of Marcus Aurelius..but so much more than I can describe here. Plan enough time, much to see.. An absolute must do in Rome. Cost: 13.00 euro (without headphone). Note: There was a protest outside on the Piazza Campidoglio just behind the Conservatori the day I went and a lot of Carabinieri around. (I thought the museum had been closed but they were letting people in.) This did not ruin my day, in fact it was sort of interesting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    235
    63
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Some great artefacts here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is definitely worth a visit whilst you are in Rome. When you go in, you have to leave your bags in a locker, and then you can go freely around the museum. It is split across two buildings, one on each side of the Piazza, which are connected by an underground tunnel, so you don't have to exit the buildings.
The best bit for me was the Dying Gaul and the Capitoline Wolf, but there are so many statues and amazing ancient artefacts here. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Ancient Rome sculptures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We came here when it started raining on an afternoon, and spent about 2.5 hours to explore this big museum with Ancient Rome sculptures and art at its two buildings, the Palazzo del Conservatori and the Palazzo Nuovo. Excellent collections and much less crowded than the Vatican Museums. I was fascinated by the many works such as the colossal head of Constantine, the bronze equestrian statue of Marcus Aurelius, the Capitoline She-wolf that is symbolic of Rome, busts of the Emperors, and paintings such as Caravaggio's 'John the Baptist' and 'The Fortune Teller' in the picture gallery.

The downsides were it would have been better if signage was more helpful, and they were more clear on which art can and cannot be captured on camera, we saw guards kept telling visitors not to take pictures of some. We didn't know either that the only way to the other museum is through the attached underground passageway, and not by crossing the Piazza. It may help to get information prior from their detailed website, or bring a guidebook of some sort to help you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Some world famous art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I'm not sure how you could come to Rome and not see this museum - time permitting of course. It has some amazing works of art. I thought about mentioning my favorite sculpture, but couldn't get the list below five. The museum was not crowded. It's spread over three buildings that are attached underground (so one main entrance). One of the buildings is now just to get incredible views of the Forum. Great photo op. We spent about 3 hours here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A real jewel in Rome especially for the Ancient Rome sculptures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This museum is not as crowded as the Vatican Museum - which is a real big plus. You can wander unfettered along the corridors, taking your own sweet time to admire and contemplate the historic masterpieces of Ancient Rome. And if you are a shutterbug, it means you can take really nice uninterrupted pictures too. Those who been to VM will appreciate the lightness of not being crushed and pushed along by hordes and hordes of people!. Its is so much more pleasant here. And this museum is by no means inferior to its more famous cousin - Vatican Museum. It has some really great masterpieces from Ancient Rome that are not available in VM. Most notable are the Colossal Constantine, the Capitoline She-Wolf (the most iconic symbol of Ancient Rome) and the very elegant equestrian Marcus Aurelius. And it is HUGE, so many things to see. There is also a nice café at the 2nd floor - from its terrace, you can get a picturesque view of Rome with its many church domes adorning its charming skyline.

On a few practical matters -
1. The museum is spread over 2 buildings connected by an underground tunnel. It is rather confusing to navigate your way around and signages are not good.
2. While there are many really great masterpieces unique to only this museum, they are not very well explained or documented. So you need to get your audioguide or like in my case - I went to the official website - found out all the most important masterpieces and read up on the information at the website (yes much more useful then the information on site).
3. Be focused on zero in on all the most important pieces first. And even that would take you 2-3 hours at the very least. Still in comparison to Vatican, you can see more here in view of the lower volume of visitors.

If it is not for shortcoming 1 and 2 - I would have gladly given this a 5star rating. While you are here, don't forget to spend some time strolling in the Piazza del Campidoglio and from there find the best spot for a commanding view over the Roman Forum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Musei Capitolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musei Capitolini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.