We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Museums in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musei Capitolini

Musei Capitolini
Piazza del Campidoglio 1, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 060608
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$87*
and up
Private Tour: Ancient Roman Art History Walking...
Ranked #57 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The creation of the Capitoline Museums has been traced back to 1471, when Pope Sixtus IV donated a group of bronze statues of great symbolic value to the People of Rome. The collections are closely linked to the city of Rome, and most of the exhibits come from the city itself.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,435 reviews 2,435 reviews
2,181 attraction reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
2,207 helpful votes 2,207 helpful votes
“One of the Best Museums in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The very beautiful Piazza del Campidoglio was designed by Michelangelo. The plaza has an equestrian statue of Marcus Aurelius, which is a copy of what is in the Capitoline Museums to conserve it. The Palazzo Nuevo and the Palazzo dei Conservatori on this plaza are part of the Capitoline Museums. These museums contain some of the greatest pieces of classical sculpture in the world. The courtyard has the statue of Marforio in the courtyard and it was found in the 16th century and may represent the Tiber. The museum was built in the 17th century. The museum has the original bronze equestrian statue of Marcus Aurelius, which was the only bronze equestrian statue to survive from ancient Rome.

Among the famous sculptures is the Dying Gaul. This is a beautiful but very sad image of a warrior from Gaul who is dying. The other famous sculptures are the Capitoline Venus, the She-Wolf that represents Rome (with Romulus and Remus suckling from her), and Spinario (which shows a young boy pulling a thorn from his foot) and Bernini’s Medusa. The Room of the emperors has 65 busts of the Roman emperors. There is a Picture Gallery which contains very good paintings that include Caravaggio’s Fortune Teller and John the Baptist. The museum has an excellent view of the Roman forum. The cafeteria allows one to have a bird’s eye view of the city.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    235
    63
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a fantastic museum of mostly Roman art. There are ancient Roman sculptures and mosaics. They also have painting galley with two by Caravaggio. There is a pleasant rooftop cafe with great views of Rome. They let you photograph some things, which is fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little sparse and poorly signed, but some highlights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There seemed to be some re-organisation going on when we went, with lots of moving boxes in some of the rooms. Not all signs had English versions so we felt a bit lost. The she-wolf and the tiger mosaics are great - but my favourite thing was the view over the Forum from the balcony you can access from the basement. At around 7 pm the light was beautiful and there was barely anyone else around - very romantic!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Space to appreciate the works and the views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to this museum on a Sunday just before lunch, the line to get in was pretty massive but luckily we used this on our Roma pass and were able to walk straight in though the bookshop. You cannot bring pack backs into the museum but you have free lockers available to put these in ( saves you from having to lug bags around). The place is pretty big and very diverse. Loads and loads of roman sculptures,I have to say I got a bit board of them after being intunisia for a month. But none the less there are some beautiful ones worth seeing. My favourite parts were definitely the paintings and the area filled with ancient coins, jewels and jewellery. If its a nice day I definitely suggest going around the corner past the cafeteria to the roof top courtyard and check out the view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Less busy than the Vatican, also very beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

On Natale di Roma we went to the Capitoline Museum. Our guide wrote that the entry would be free on this day. When we arrived our guide seemed out-dated but there was still a discount. The entree was 3.50 euro, which I think is very cheap.

The museum is very diverse and less busy than for example the Vatican Museum. We liked the art and most of all the surrounding of the museum. When you walk from the right to the left side of the museum (under de ground) at your right hand there are stairs. Upstairs you have a great view over the Forum. It was beautiful.

We would recommend this museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Musei Capitolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musei Capitolini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.