We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Nazionale Romano

Museo Nazionale Romano
Largo di Villa Peretti 67, Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)
06 39967700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum features a significant collection of ancient Roman mosaics, coins, artifacts and statues.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Just don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We visited the Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme in October 2013.

Pros: Excellent displayed museum, maybe the best in Rome in my opinion. The sculpture collection is really breathtaking, especially the Greek Boxer at Rest, the Discobulus and, of course, my favourite, the Sarcophagus of Portonaccio - an awesome piece of art that is worth the whole visit to the museum (seriously, don't miss it. If you don't believe me, just google it).

The mosaics and frescos in the upper floor were impressive too, and they even have a painted room that changes its lights (morning, afternoon, evening) for the visitor to imagine the different moments of the day.

There's a wonderful numismatic collection in the basement that covers much of Roman history, and also a bonus point: they have a magnificently preserved mummy of a Roman girl (the Grottarossa mummy), displayed with great respect and lots of interesting information regarding the conservation and the studies they've done on her.

The museum was almost empty, so we had it practically to ourselves. It was a nice change, having visited the crowed Musei Capitolini the day before, but we didn't understand why it isn't much popular. It was one of the finest museums I've ever been to.

Everything is accessible for wheelchairs and they have two big lifts. There are lots of chairs strategically situated to seat, rest and enjoy the pieces of art, as well as a huge amount of informative panels and videos.

Cons: None. Really.

Practical information and tips: Tickets last for three days, so you can return if you want. Moreover, they're valid for the other Museo Nazionalle sites (Palazzo Altemps, Crypta Balbi and Terme di Diocleziano).

Overall: We just loved it. I would almost say that if you can only visit one museum in Rome, skip the Capitolini and go there. It is well, well worth the visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    38
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Best branch of National Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There are actually four branches of the National Museum. The best thing is that if you buy a ticket for one branch, your ticket is good for the other three over a three day period (4 if one of those days is a Monday). I went to three of the branches and thought this was the best one. There are lots of sculptures and busts. I especially like the exhibit with busts of the Julio-Claudian family. Another amazing room contains the frescoes from the Villa of Livia (wife of Augustus). This museum is definitely worth seeing especially for history buffs.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This museum, the National Museum of Rome, is close to Termini metro/bus/train station and should not be missed by those with even a casual interest in Roman antiquities. Make sure you get up to the far end of the first floor to rooms 8, 9 and 10 to see the incredible bronze ornaments from the Nemi ships built by Emperor Caligula as floating palaces, plus the ivory statues from Cesano. There is a video on the many attempts to raise the ships from the bottom of Lake Nemi, 30 kms south of Rome, in the room. And next door a great story on how the Carabinieri tracked down and recovered the ivory items from art thieves.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An Absolute "Must See"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was the most amazing museum we visited on our recent trip to Rome. Packed with sculptures of emperors, even one reputedly being the head of Brutus, it housed the wonderful bronze statue of the boxer, an exquisite work which captured the pathos and agony of the subject. The anatomical detail, the cuts to the face, the bound hands, the look of exhaustion all made this one of the most impressive and realistic works I have ever seen.

The top floor housed the amazing frescos recovered from the house of Livia, during the early years of the Christian era. Livia was the sister of Emperor Augustus. The quality, and beauty of these works is breathtaking. That they have survived in such good condition is nothing short of a miracle.

In the basement there is an extensive coin collection dating from Roman to more recent times, next to which is also a display of the most beautiful and exquisite jewellery which some Roman ladies were clearly privileged to wear.

Unlike the Villa Borghese, there was a lot of information (much in English) about the various pieces on display. Our youngest member of the group, aged 9, really enjoyed herself here and was fascinated by the statues and coins, all explained well in the adjoining information panels.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All that Rome has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Top marks to both the collection and the excellent environment. Photography (no flash!) is allowed and many of the exhibits benefit from excellent lighting. There are so many highlights in this collection from sculpture, wall paintings, ceramics, mosaics and much more. The staff are friendly (on the whole) and the shop is well stocked with relevant books (many in English) and other items of interest. I would recommend buying the official guide.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museo Nazionale Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Nazionale Romano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.