We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views, take the lift to the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vittorio Emmanuel II Monument

Vittorio Emmanuel II Monument
Piazza Venezia, Rome, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$86*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Rome with Italian Snack or...
Ranked #47 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Architectural Buildings, Monuments/ Statues, Museums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the center of Piazza Venezia, this grandiose monument, also known as the Altar of Patriotism, was erected between 1885 and 1911 to glorify the first king of Italy.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Superb views, take the lift to the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a good place to go; there's an open lift at the back to the top, 7e. Definitely worth the queue, 360 degree panoramas of Rome. Brilliant on a bright day!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    449
    126
    25
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic view but beware the journey back to ground level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I cannot add to the script ions of what is an amazing construction. The complaint I have is with the regulation of the rooftop view. The entry is well controlled and there is an orderly queue for those waiting to be elevated to the rooftop. The average number of persons allowed to enter the lift was 7. Once we got to the top I realised that there was an extraordinary number of people taking advantage of the view. There was no official or staff member visible and I can only assume that the situation on top is self regulated the second lift was not operating and I can only assume that on busier days this would deal with descents. Both fire exits, presumable stairs to the ground floor were taped off and out of use. No matter, we enjoyed the view and then entered a very uncertain queue to get back to the single lift. I say uncertain because you could approach this from both directions and to be quite frank a bit of queue marshalling wonks have gone a long way to resolve what occurred. We were approaching the head of the queue, which by this time was four deep, when a 'delegation' appeared and forced their way to the front. There was no explanation or apology, just an arrogant position that this group had some form of self appointed priority. As a non-italian speaker and visitor to the city I remained silent but the locals amongst the crowd and those of a more spirited disposition made their feelings known. My wife was visibly shaken by what was taking place and there was considerable jostling and hostility evident. All of this could have been avoided by the presence of an official and a sensible queuing system. What would have happened if an evacuation was required? The lift attendant personified a chocolate fireguard and displayed Al the confidence of Bambi's first venture on ice. If you wear a uniform, and there are enough of them in Rome, you should accept the responsibility that goes with it. Shame on you for making what should have been a pleasant and exhilarating experience a nightmare!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“What a building!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is one of the most stunning buildings I have ever seen. It is huge.
The closer you get to the building, the more impressive it becomes.
You can go inside and there is no charge. There is a 7euro charge for going up in a glass elevator to the roof for views over Rome. The building sits way up, so there are panoramic views over the rooftops and church spires of the entire city.
There is a museum within this magnificent building dedicated to the unification of Italy and a war museum. I think it was well worth the visit.
Don't miss a visit to the building if you go to Rome. Also, go back at night and see it all lit up. It really is stunning.
Don't just pass it or stand outside and admire it. Go in and have a walk about inside.
Not to be missed!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“One of the best views of Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The best part of this building is the view from the top - accessed via the glass lift at the rear of the building. In fact you can get to the lift by climbing the steps behind the building. It costs 7 euros - and is definitely worth it. The view all around from the top is spectacular.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning building & views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

One of the most impressive monuments in Rome, it's a magnificent building that took my breath away. I didn't go inside except to climb the vast staircase to get to the lift, definitely recommend paying the €7 to get to the top, the views were the best I'd seen over my whole trip, could've spent hours up there! Also like the binoculars they have on both sides. Would definitely go back here

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vittorio Emmanuel II Monument also viewed

 

Been to Vittorio Emmanuel II Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vittorio Emmanuel II Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.