We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on the mountain top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An oasis on the mountain top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Wonderful Retreat a busy day of exploring all the wonderful sights in Rome. We had the Grand Suite and it is fabulous. Having stayed in many hotels around the Globe I have to say this is without a doubt in the Top 10. I particularly enjoyed the tasteful ambiance and the combining colors of the wallpaper. The Hotel Amenities are plenty to choose from, but not overwhelming. Very charming. Also the pool deserves an extra mentioning, truly relaxing after a day full of exploring this exciting city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,777
    785
    305
    163
    86
See reviews for
829
2,012
110
507
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

As background, have been (formerly) a Hilton Diamond member back when I traveled more, so I've been to many Hiltons worldwide.

Wifi seems to be $30 Euro per day. For the short duration we were there, we just used cell service. Common areas have free wifi according to hotel, and Gold/Diamond Members get it for free. Not being part of that clique now, we just used our cell phones. I would think that paying $600 euro a night should qualify for free wifi, but we didn't need, use, or check on that. Some former posters discussed the nickel and dime approach, and it looks like you can run into small charges here and there for some things. We were fine with the services we used, no complaints.

This hotel was the best by far in terms of luxury, location, and rooms.

We rented a suite, so we had access to their 7th floor club that serves snacks and food throughout the day.

We were there for 2 days, really, so we were out and about visiting Rome for the first time, using an outside private car service. The hotel does offer free shuttle to/from the city center throughout the day, so that would be an option too, but less nice than being picked up and shuttled all around.

We did not have time to partake in the pool(s), or the spa other than popping in and looking at them. Very lovely areas.

View from the 7th floor lounge, you can just see part of the Vatican City through the trees. Heard church bells throughout the day, not sure whether that was from St. Peters/Vatican or not. Very nice though.

The room was the most comfortable we have stayed in. The Mattress pad was soft and extremely comfortable, the room temperature easily changed, pillows customizable and soft. Frankly the best we have had anywhere.

Room service prompt and excellent - we did a night dinner/snack, the rest of the time we did the Club for small portions.

No complaints or suggestions for improvements, we would have loved to stay longer, and indeed would stay here again when next in Rome. Probably 5-10 minutes to Rome Center from here in August, when traffic is light.

Rome was exceptionally NOT crowded in August, likely to it being vacation month. The weather was a bit warm and humid, so walking around was not as pleasant as it would be in September, or June, which we were told was prime touring months.

Room Tip: Suites are divine, and the views awesome. Club service makes the stay more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 8 years ago before it was part of the Waldorf Astoria collection, and it felt very much the same with a few exceptions. It's a beautiful hotel with incredible rooms - if you're searching for rest and an oasis from the bustling streets of Rome, it's a great place to stay. That said, when I have stayed here before for several days of sight-seeing, its remote location means it takes awhile to get to and from the hotel. That longer trip gets tiresome after awhile.

Still, the big rooms and bathrooms, sound-proof doors, pool, spa, and balconys overlooking the grounds and St. Peters dome make it a wonderful experience. One thing to note if you stay on points, you will get a free pool pass and you might assume that you can sit down out there, but you can't. You have to pay for lounges and it's not cheap. Yes, seriously.

We got free drink passes to the lobby lounge and that was really nice. The bartenders were charming and educated us on our Italian language and wines. We also ordered room service and it was delicious and luxurious.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I chose the Rome Cavalieri because I wanted a hotel with a pool to relax in after sight-seeing. Since we were travelling with children, we needed connecting rooms. Unfortunately, there were no available rooms with a view of Rome on summer sale. The reservationist informed me that there were rooms on the Imperial Club Level with a regular view which were cheaper and had the advantage of access to the Imperial Club, as well as the pool and spa. I was so glad she gave us this advice because there was free food available from 7 AM - 11 PM (breakfast, lunch, snack, tea, dinner, desserts, drinks, champagne, coffee, etc) and all delicious. The Club also has fantastic views of Rome and St. Peter's Basilica, and there are balconies where you can sit while you eat. The view from our room balcony was not bad, however, we were not located in front of the radio antenna as are some of the rooms at the hotel.
The connecting rooms were connected by a shared entrance and the doors to both rooms could be left open if one wished to. The rooms were spacious with a nice balcony and the best sliding doors I have encountered! The rooms were also quiet. Best of all, there was a lot of light (maybe too many light switches) not like many dark hotels rooms we have stayed at in the past.
There was free wi-fi in the Imperial Club, lobby, and pool area, so that we didn't have to pay the high price of in room wi-fi.
There were not many shops at the hotel but one would probably go shopping in the centre anyway.
The bathrooms were lovely with Salvatore Ferragamo amenities and a heater for the bath towels. Bathrobes, slippers, water were available in the rooms. There was nightly turn-down service. A menu outlined different types of pillows that could be obtained from the hotel (there were plenty of regular pillows of all sizes in the room). However, there was no iron nor ironing board, but I was told by the concierge at the Imperial Club that there was a room she could give me access to if I wanted to iron.
There is a complementary bus that will shuttle you to the center but it has limited hours of operation. It holds about 28 passengers so we never had a problem getting on. However, we did spend a fair amount on taxis since the bus stops running at 9 PM. Caveat: we found that some taxis would not want to drive us back to the hotel. Also, if you want a taxi in town, you have to find a taxi stand because you usually can't flag one down on the street.
We enjoyed the spa but have someone give you a tour before your massage. I had to find my way around to the Turkish baths.
The water in the pool was warm! The pool is large and the adult pool is 5.5 - 11.5 feet deep. There is a shallower pool for children and they were able to enjoy an inflatable slide that was installed for a few hours. You can get towels but there is a fee if you want a cushion on a lounge chair (we only needed a chair to place our belongings). True to the attention to detail the hotel exhibits, there was cleaning solution available to clean your goggles or sunglasses. Be aware that by 5 PM in August, the pool is shaded by the hotel.
We truly enjoyed returning to the hotel after a busy day of sight-seeing. It was located away from the noise, smoke, and congestion of the city centre. We also relaxed in the hotel during the day, enjoyed the pool or the spa, then visited the center in the evening when it was much cooler.
Bottom line, the Rome Cavalieri is a fabulous hotel away from the hustle and bustle, with a terrific pool. Take advantage of the Imperial Club level.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Imperial Club Floor give you access to the Club. If you don't get a room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This could possibly be the greatest hotel we've ever had the privilege of visiting! Very elegant, well decorated and views to die for! When we stepped onto our balcony on the 7th floor, the view of Rome was breathtaking! Not kidding, I cried a little! You can see the entire city! The Vatican is just off to the right, and all the beautiful sites you've seen all day are displayed right before you. It is unbelievable! The hotel staff is the greatest, and we were treated like royalty. The hotel is actually located on the highest spot in all of Rome. It's about a 10-15-minute ride into the city's center. But there is a very nice hotel shuttle bus that will take you back and forth. During our visit, Rome was crowded and hot! It was so nice, after each busy day, to go back to the beautiful, peaceful Cavalieri! We enjoyed having drinks, dinners, room service on our balcony, live evening music around the pools and looking at the beautiful art collection. (The hotel owns one of the greatest private art collections in the world!) Our room itself was fabulous! It's the kind of room that has you daydreaming about going home to redecorate just like it! The bed was so comfy, the bathroom was great and the electronic room-darkening blind is awesome! The hotel staff kept our room so clean and orderly. There are several awesome restaurants on the premises. We really liked L'Uliveto, and I highly recommend the linguine and clams. This hotel is so precious... a gem, really! We will never stay at another Rome hotel!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view of the city. And upgrading to a room with access to the Imperial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Any one reviewer that criticizes minor/insignificant charges here and there from this hotel should not, in my opinion, be residing at this beautiful location. After a busy, hot and in most cases, dusty daily trip through this magnificent city, the hotel is akin to an oasis. The serenity of upwards of seventh floor rooms, and the Imperial Suite, not to mention the spa, is a wonderful experience. Indeed, on several occasions, I had to fight the urge to hurry my wife back so we/I could recharge without fear of traffic/children/etc - destroying my personal relaxation. Sure, its a little out of the way, but that's the point! A taxi, in which there is a fleet on hand for you, can be used, and you are in in the heart of the city within minutes. Remember, you can save pennies by taking advantage to the free shuttle!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Cavaleri last week and had a lovely experience. I have just one child, a 15 year old girl and as you might imagine, staying together in one room can be a challenge sometimes - not so here - the room was spacious and had a comfortable sofa bed so we were all happy there!

The hotel is beautiful and well maintained and the pool was a terrific treat after a long hot day of touring the city.

The breakfast buffet was perfect, it had something for everyone and was definitely worth the slight up charge in the room rate - don't skip that.

The location from the heart of the city is a little challenging since you can't just wander about on your own, but the hotel provides a lovely shuttle bus which runs regularly and is hosted by a wonderful driver, very professional and service oriented fellow who added interesting information along the ride to the city he is terrific!

The maid service was very good as well with a very kind woman caring for us and checking to see that we had all we needed.

I would definitely return!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R0bertaR0ssi, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal City and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#7 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 4,520 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#65 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
#80 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.