We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is quite close to Vatican, even some of the Cardinals stay here, so it was an option for me and my wife. The rooms are spacious and clean and whichever option with the Rome view is a must, since the view is simply great. Rooms are spacious and clean and the decoration of the hotel explains what style means in Italy. The less positive part of the stay were the prices of the hotel services in general and internet access in particular. I mean, 25 Euros for 24 hours access is kind of way off the mark in my view and I do stay in hotels quite often. I should have been here when I had my Diamond HHonors status...

Room Tip: always pick the Rome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,506
    706
    275
    147
    79
See reviews for
734
1,830
103
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a Vista suite last week and had the most enjoyable stay. This was our first trip to Rome with kids, but me and my husband had visited Rome earlier and we were a bit worried that locationwise this time we would feel a bit lost being at the outskirts of Rome.
That proved not to be correct.

Staying with small kids, the Cavalieri was perfect. We spent every day from around one o'clock to seven o'clock downtown, having lunch, sightseeing a bit and then finishing off with an early dinner.That left plenty of time to enjoy the swimming pools at the hotel and also time to relax in the lounge or in the suite. Having holday means no need to hurry, so we relaxed and made this a very enjoyable trip in evey way.

We had originally booked an Alcove suite, but my husband being an Hhonors gold member, we were upgraded to the Vista suite which provided an excellent view over the city. The only bad part about the suite, was that it wa s situated directly underneath the Executive lounge. We were informed about this when checking in, but it never bothered us except in the early mornings when people went to fetch their breakfasts upstairs.

The Vista suite was very spacious and we had a big double bed and also two extra beds for the kids. That still left plenty of ample space for kids to read or for us to relax. I was very impressed by all the amenities in the bathroom. Every kind of body milk, face milk, nail care, soaps etc that you could imagine. It was also very spacious. Upon entering the bathrom you first had the seperate shower, then the sinks and the powder table and then came the wc and bath tub. More than enough room and plenty of space to store our own things...

The lounge on the seventh floor was a haven. Plenty of seats available, many servings and one of the best Cosmos I've ever had. The staff were super service minded and helped us with every enquery we had. If I could only have asked for one more thing there, it would be to have small water bottles in the fridge, since it often ran empty when having only two bottles of still water in the champagne cooler.

The best parts about the hotel, were still the spa and the gigantic outdoor pool. 3,5 metres deep and I guess at least twenty meters long. We spent hours there every morning and evening since a big part of the Jenta-family's holdiay, is bathing. Lots of comfy towels, very nice staff and lots of old Italian ladies having training lessons in the indoor pool. They were so cute!

We had breakfast in the poolside restaurant and the staff were very accomodating. Sure, I missed the omelette station, but instead the superfriendly staff provided our kids with crayons and toys and pancakes so that the kids were kept busy and we could enjoy a breakfast that lasted longer than it takes to say "cereal mum" :) I prefer that over an omelette in a hurry.

We will definately recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with kids, but rememeber to stay in a room that has access to the Imperial Lounge. Then you'll be able to fully relax and also have the most wonderful view of the Eternal city. Don't forget to ask them to make you a superb Cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first stop on our Italian holiday. We booked with Hilton miles, and it was worth every mile. The location is not within walking distance from the main attractions, but not to worry they have a free shuttle that works out perfect. The gym/spa is one of the best I have ever visited in a hotel. The steam room will take all of the stresses right out of your body. The hotel restaurant was very good. We ate there two night and fully enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. This was not some small continental breakfast, but a full breakfast buffet. I was very impressed and understand now why they get such great reviews. You will love it.....

Room Tip: Ask about a room that overlooks the city, versus one that overlooks the apartment building next stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Simply one of the best hotels in which I have ever visited. A complementary shuttle to a downtown Metro makes transportation easy, or taxis are immediately available. The staff and concierge were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Love staying at the Waldorf Astoria Rome! Got a chance to take in the pool, the Diamond Member Lounge and all it has to offer. The spa and pool are really fantastic and relaxing. Rooms are comfortable and staff are accomodating!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city, not the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hartford ct.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is unbelievable.! It has to be the best hotel in Rome! There's a 50 million dollar art collection, paintings, bronzes, clocks. It has one of the top spa in the world. My room was an regular room, really nice, it was priced at 600 euro's a night, do the math.It's definitely a 5 star hotel, no doubt..Their restaurant is also one of the best in the world.This place is great, and very expensive. They are a little greedy in their pricing. If you like cruises, and all you can eat buffets, this place is not for you. If you want the best and don't mind paying for it, this is for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long international flight from the U.S. We got an upgrade to Imperial King room with Rome View. The room was just awesome. We did not spend a whole lot of time in the room as we were scheduled for several tours of the sites there as we were only there for 3 days while preparing for a Mediterranean Cruise.
The Imperial Lounge was very cozy and plenty to eat with great view. The Breakfast that was included with the room was just awesome but expensive if you have to pay for it. I found the hotel friendly and receptive to all my needs. I am a Diamond member so that might account for some of it. We had a Car service for the trip from the airport so the Cabs did not factor into it. The free shuttle to the Center of town really is nice too.
By far, the highlight of our visit here, was dinner at La Pergola. It was first class all the way. Not cheap by any means, but the food was absolutely outstanding and so was the service. Worth every penny of it. Had a table by the window overlooking all of Rome. It was just one of the most pleasant experiences we have ever had. Celebrated my wife's 50th birthday in style and they really took care of us. Don't miss it if you get a chance to eat there.

All in all, we had no issues at all with this property. Hated to go. Found all food to be great and service as well. I recommend it highly for the view alone.

Room Tip: It is expensive, but the Imperial rooms with Rome View really add to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled K, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#43 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.