We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, friendly, delightful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb, friendly, delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

6 of us travel to Italy every year and we stayed for 8 days here (4rooms) at the end of June this year. The rooms were beautiful, food superb, staff always extremely helpful and friendly. One particular young waiter went to great lengths to sort out a problem for us in the pool restaurant on our first evening. Breakfast was the best I've ever had anywhere in the world. I'm a dairy-free veggie and usually take my own milk etc but it certainly wasn't a problem here! There is every type of milk imaginable, plus an amazing selection of fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juices, breads (including gluten free etc, delicious hot dishes, a Japanese breakfast selection - I could go on!!! and all enjoyed at tables overlooking the 25m pool. It was wonderful coming back here every day after sightseeing to relax by the pool.

Positives:
Breakfast - amazing!!
Staff- equally so!! Nothing was too much trouble, the concierge sorted lots of things out for us.
Pool restaurant in the evenings - magical and fabulous food.
Pool - gorgeous - deep and great for lengths.
Just about everything really

A few negatives:
- There is an exorbitant daily charge for wifi in the room - ridiculous nowadays, maybe a small weekly charge would be more acceptable if not inclusive in the room tariff.
- We were also disappointed to find out that we would be charged approximately 24euros per person per day to sit in a lounger by the pool! We asked if we could just sit by the pool without using the loungers but this is not permitted (there wouldn't be room anyway). We eventually found out from reception that we would not be charged to go and have a quick dip in the pool but this is not explained anywhere. I have to say though, that we spent a lot of time around the pool (despite the expense) because the pool and surrounding area is gorgeous.
- The biggest negative was how rude the Michelin restaurant staff were, when we inquired about the menu on the top floor and possibly booking a table and going up to have a look. They said no to all our requests!! Not impressed! The hotel reception were very apologetic when we told them and we wondered if the top floor was a separate entity. Don't worry, the food is excellent at the pool restaurant so i'd prefer to eat there anyway!! We did however throw caution to the wind and went up to look at the view on our last evening, it's worth a look.

The negatives did not detract from a most wonderful experience, they just would have made it even better! I wouldn't hestitate to go back.

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms overlooking different areas - they were equally spacious with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

We do however regret reading of your impression of our 3 Star Michelin gourmet restaurant La pergola, but please rest assured that we appreciate all our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,506
    706
    275
    147
    79
See reviews for
734
1,830
103
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for four days to celebrate my birthday and the hotel was gorgeous. I had a lovely view of Rome, the breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff extremely helpful. My only regret is I didn't have a chance to use the spa facilities. I spent most of my time sightseeing or taking tours so I didn't have the time. The hotel is a bit out of the way but the shuttle is free and there are plenty of taxis.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to celebrate your birthday in the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A wonderful, first class hotel. Pool is majestic, the grounds immaculate, the decor impeccable and the service elite. The rooftop for dinner should not be missed. My wife and I had an amazing one night stay here before our trip to Venice. The value for such class was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

All in all the Hotel is ok. Rooms are nice, large and nicely decorated. Lobby and other amenities are also quite nice but in the end everything was as expected. Therefore certainly not a poor experience but the WOW-Factor was somehow missing. To visit the city center and all of Rome's Attractions you can take the free hotel shuttle or a taxi (available very fast at the hotel entrance, approximate cost about 15 Euro each way). We booked this hotel because of the fact that it is has a pool. The pool is situated within a nice garden but at the end we did not use it because of all the attractions in the city center. For a reasonable room price I would probably recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: The better and therefore more expensive room are the ones offering a Rome or Garden View. Rooms offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view over Rome, stunning spa and pool area, true five star amenities in room - e.g. towel warmers, double sound doors, etc. First class staff always available and service crisp and prompt. Breakfast buffet first rate. Wonderful property. Wonderful stay.

Be aware you will not be walking to Rome from this property and certainly not walking back unless you are looking for a real challenge. Not a negative as much as an understanding that this is simply a different experience than that of the finer in town center properties without the spa and pool offerings of The Cavalieri. Easy 8-12 euro cab ride down the hill depending on where you are going on Rome. Cab stand right on property, or take and return by the shuttle bus

3 star Michelin restaurant at this property. Pool level restaurant is very good, though costly. Again be aware - nothing is inexpensive at this hotel other than the rooms which are a good value. Further, there are really no eating options within walking distance, so those on a tighter budget will feel held hostage to the lack of more reasonable dining. Moreover, you will get no reprieve ordering room service. Eat out or expect to get battered on your dining bill.


Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel has beautiful view, friendly staff and nice big rooms.
But...
19 Euro to use the pool???
25 wifi fee???
And what good is a free full shuttle?
Fix these three things and you ate close to 5 stars.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and would like to advise you that we have many room categories that our guests could reserve that include many options to meet their needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is located on a hill on the outskirts of Rome not far from the Olympic Stadium. It is a big hotel and expensive but it is BEAUTIFUL!

They have a shuttle bus running on the hour FOC but it only cost us 10€ to get down to the city centre.

The pool area, gardens, bar and restaurant are all beautifully surrounded by trees and plants, a real oasis in the city. But the views from the balcony of the Rome View rooms are breathtaking - the best we have ever had in a city hotel.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The public areas were very large and plenty of seats. We booked an Imperial room but the concierge lounge was closed for refurb when we were there. They opened up a lounge on the ground floor for the facilities due to us but it wasn't the same.

The room was large and beautifully furnished with a very large bathroom and plenty of storage.

We intend on staying here next time were in Rome and will definately have an Imperial room again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Rome view room - you have to pay extra but it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#43 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.