We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed there for 5 days, celebrating my parents wedding anniversary and we have a really amazing time! the staff was very attentive and once we have mentioned what was the purpose of our stay - nice adds on appeared in my parents' room (but also in ours, which was a really nice touch).
Breakfast buffet is lavish with excellent choice and outstanding quality.
Unfortunately we did not manage to get the Rome-view rooms, nevertheless the rooms were superb.
Should we were to visit Rome again, that would definitely be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,506
    706
    275
    147
    79
See reviews for
734
1,830
103
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Århus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights because we had booked a table in their 3 Michelin stars restaurant la pergola.
The restaurant is an total ripoff, so dont Waste your Money there, but the hotel is ok, yust totally overpriced... We staed in an king Imperial room with free imperial Club access which was nice.
the room dog was an bit old, many of the Things in the bathroom were broken. f.x. the hairdryer did not work. we asked the roommaid of fixing it but she never did.
We altså enjoyed their Spa, which was a very nice experience the 1 day. there we got robes and slippers and good service. the NeXT day when we got back we got a key, and was told that they did not have any robes left???

The internet costs 25 euro/day and is poorly working!!!
The spa is 31 euro a day

Så stay here if you have to much of your Money....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that your experience in our award winning Cavalieri Grand Spa was a memorable one. We regret reading of your impression of our three star Michelin gourmet restaurant La Pergola, that many guests mention it was the highlight of their stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wanted somewhere great for our family of five's first night in Italy. Just sensational views, in beautiful gardens, biggest swimming pool ever and watching full moon rising over Rome in the evening from balconies of our two connecting rooms while a duet played down by the main pool. We moved into an apartment in central Rome for rest of week to see the city but glad we had our first night in the country at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. It is a beautiful resort with every amenity you could imagine. The breakfast buffet was incredible and huge, the pools were big and beautiful, and the room was magnificent. We used Hilton points to stay here or else it would have been very expensive. The only downside is that it is outside of the center of Rome, so it is inconvenient to go back and forth during the day. There is a free shuttle to and from the hotel, but it only runs every hour in each direction, and can be full. We highly recommend staying here, and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was mine and hubby’s second stay at the Cavalieri so it is safe to assume that there is a lot we like about this hotel although it does come with some caveats.

This stay took place in June and the weather was very hot. The advantage of the Cavalieri over other Rome hotels is that it has truly beautiful grounds and swimming pools and that is exactly what you want in the summer heat. It is located on a steep hill above the Vatican. The disadvantage being that the grounds come at the price of location – the city centre is not really walking distance. However, there is a complimentary shuttle bus and taxis are not outrageously expensive.

The big caveat for me about staying at this hotel is that everything is VERY expensive and they charge for EVERYTHING. Therefore, do yourself a favour and book an Imperial Club Room, which is something we have done on both occasions. Yes, it looks like a big supplement, but if you plan on spending any amount of time at the hotel it is worth it. An Imperial Club Room gives you complimentary access to the spa and pools plus access to the lounge itself that features drinks and snacks throughout the day and a small breakfast buffet. If you do not book a club room, you will have to pay even for pool access let alone the truly outrageous prices for food and drink.

The management will write on tripadvisor that guests don’t pay for the pool access, they pay for use of the sun loungers, but you will soon realise that using the pool without a sun lounger etc. is near impossible.

Talking of management, I have a quick note for them: It is really fantastic that you keep track of the reviews on here, but it does you no favours to only acknowledge the positives as it looks like you are ignoring the negatives. For example, people are telling you that you are charging too much for coffee – you should probably listen. You might sell more coffee and make more money!

Anyway, back to the positives: Standard rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. The grounds and public areas are beautiful. Service is largely great although it really annoys me that they start packing up the Imperial Lounge well before closing time and then seem annoyed when you order a drink.

So overall my advice is that this is a beautiful luxury hotel and you stay here as long as you book an Imperial Club room or have money to burn. Book during the annual Hilton sale – big discounts can be found. Oh, and I wouldn’t advise staying here if you are a first time visitor that wants to take in a big number of sites in a short space of time – stay centrally instead.

Room Tip: Book an Imperial Club Room to get the full benefits of this hotel without paying for a lot of extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are glad to read that our Imperial floors and facilities meet your expectations and as mentioned many times, our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties. Indeed some of our guests just use the outdoor pool for swimming and do not wish to spend their day, so we do not charge them for the daily service fee.

We also appreciate all our guests' comments, but we do take notes of any short comings to make sure that such incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Short and to the point,
The pool is not free-$20E per chair
Internet is not free-$25E per day(my connection was poor iPad, iPhone, Kindle got 2 bars of signal strength, dropped every 2mins)
Beer-$11E
Gym is not free- $20E per day
Wine-$15E
Hamburger-$30E(what the F)
The free shuttle is too small so we were forced to take a cab, after waiting in line for 20min

Bottom line, hotel is some [--]
We were lucky to stay here on our honeymoon

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to celebrate your honeymoon in the Eternal city.

We would like to inform you that we have many room packages like the Imperial rooms that inlcude access to the Cavalieri Grand Spa & pools and that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights with Hilton Honors rewards, and booked a Rome city view, it was booked as a treat for myself and my husband. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and the view is incredible. The first night we ordered room service and enjoyed a lovely meal on the balcony overlooking Rome, enjoying the music playing fromt the poolside below, it was wonderful and the meal was delicious.
Of course the hotel is very comfortable, clean and luxurious, but I would never pay the rack rate for this hotel-it just isnt worth it. Internet, parking are additional charges, if you wish to use the pool and fitness centre it is additional charge (although they let me use it for free because I am Hilton Gold). The hotel is located a long ways from the centre of Rome but there is a shuttle during the day. Although, we had a vehicle we used cabs at night, so we could enjoy our wine, which were reasonablly priced.
Overall-lovely hotel but incredibly overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and you HHonors Gold benefits.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#43 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.